Camry duo vvti

richardtan

Mar 23, 2009
Hello,

i looked at an animation video of camry engine and it says duo vvti. There are 4 pistons. So, this is a V4 engine only?

Is v4 able to produce v6 power? are all camries or altis v4 only?

regards
Richard

cRazYee

Oct 7, 2005
what's the problem for inline 4 engine generate more power and more torque than inline 6 or v6?

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
its an inline 4, with vvti pulley for both intake and exhaust cams, like the nissan neo vvl

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
You think there is difference in output between 4-cylinder and 6-cylinder engine with identical cubic capacity?

shouldn't be. difference would come down to technology e.g. vvti, campro etc.
a 2L 4 cylinder engine today would produce more output than a 2L 4 cylinder engine from 30 years ago.

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Hello,

i looked at an animation video of camry engine and it says duo vvti. There are 4 pistons. So, this is a V4 engine only?

Is v4 able to produce v6 power? are all camries or altis v4 only?

regards
Richard
Dual vvt-i on camry in used on an inline 4 engine. Means it has vvti on intake and exhaust side instead of the conventional intake only.

Dual vvt-i can be tuned to produced more power and torque such as that used in the 3S-GE BEAMS or maybe just a slight increase in power like the one in the Dual vvt-i altis. The output of the dual vvt-i altis is nothing groundbreaking for modern 2.0L engines. But even slight increase in power, you may feel that it has a lot more because of the "usable powerband". Besides increase power, it can shift the torque to whenever you need it. So using the engine is much more flexible and relaxing.

what's the problem for inline 4 engine generate more power and more torque than inline 6 or v6?
I would say a V6 can generate more power. Why? Although the cubic capacity is the same. So torque would be more or less similar. But V6 are known for their rev hapiness and hungryness. They are more willing to rev to high revs and they can do it more easily than I4 engines. As we know, engines that can rev higher make more power although the torque may remain similar. That's why V6 generally have higher redline. One example to note is the comparison between a 4G92 (redline around 6k rpm) and a 6A10 (redline at 7k rpm)

But because of this high revving nature, there is a drawback as well. Generally, V6 have their peak torque occuring later in the rpm range. SO you need to rev it a bit to get the GO. Very nice for highways though... Ever heard people say perdana very syiok for highway drive?

V6 also make more power due to the smoothness... When an engine is more smooth and stable and has less vibration, it revs up more easily...

richardtan

Mar 23, 2009
Thank you very much to all the Sifus for spending time to reply and advise.
I very much appreciated your efforts.

Can I say V6 consumes more fuel than a V4 both of the same capacity? The extra power of V6 comes from more fuel consumption right?

regards
Richard

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Thank you very much to all the Sifus for spending time to reply and advise.
I very much appreciated your efforts.

Can I say V6 consumes more fuel than a V4 both of the same capacity? The extra power of V6 comes from more fuel consumption right?

regards
Richard
Bro,

Once again, I believe you are referring to Inline-4 or straight-4 or I4 in short. Not V4. V4 engines are super rare in cars and more commonly found in bikes. If we consume the capacity, V6 consumes slightly more. But not because of more power. More power doesn't necessarily means consumes more fuel. But V6 consumes more fuel due to:

i. Generally, they make torque at a higher rev. Thus there is the need to work it harder.

ii. More mechanical/rotating parts. camshafts, valves, valve springs, pulleys. Thus there are more frictional losses.

iii. Heavier.

However, as the engine capacity increases, the fuel economy differences between I4 and V6 diminishes due to the "optimum capacity" of I4 engines being exceeded. I4 engines have a treshold max capacity where if it is exceeded, the efficiency decreases due to it being unstable. Most engineers agree that this treshold is 2.0 L. But thanks to modern engineering and engine balancing, nowadays the limit can be stretched to 2.4L and beyond.

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Yeah those ugly looking wedding dresses are definitely v4 engines...

Moderator help lol...

The increasing numbers of hybrid vehicles on public roads is a blessing but that also increases the chances of one being involved in an accident and if mishandled during rescue efforts, the high voltage electrical system could bring about further peril instead.

With that in mind, Honda Malaysia recently brought together selected government agencies for a safety talk on the subject of handling and...