CAI

i read it in a mag.... every 10degC lower of the air intake... the eng will gain 7% HP.....

we put in the bumper bcoz it is easier to mount.... :P

the CAI for the Protons are installed there because of several reasons

1) high-pressure zone, for more ram air effect :P
2) cold air area
3) convinient

my finalise super duper BELLMOUTH!!! aka BIG MOUTH.. now got like open pod air suckin in sound.. when idling la.. rev high of course no sound..

Hi Ninja,

It seems that everybody is not worried about suckin in the rain water?

Is it ok? What theory u use? Just want to know before diy.

i worried also ma... but er.. if u wana see stanleys "action" go meet him personally n ask.. eheheh

when raining.. drive slow lo.. n when see those big lorry or any car splash water.. avoid lo.. ehehehe now we see water like see ghost edi.. eehhee

for me .. scared la.. cuz.. erm..my CAI got suction 1..when rev high den de sucktion is more power...so drive slow during rain

How about doing a system which can be shut off when rain and open when no rain?

One way is to not seal the airbox completely.. just leave a hole where the tube connect into the air box.. so that there is no vacum effect.

there is actually a valve for this purpose.. http://www.eautoworks.com/html/ord-auto~performance-AEM~Bypass~Valve-1-3616.htm.

where to find de Er valve? den i already damage ahahaha..a little bit of de paint la.. so like dat lo.. dun care ... n now raining rite.. n i see de bell mouth got water n de pipe also got.. but i nvr check de air box la.. now i oni scared suddenly got flood until my cAI there.. i die !!..

wut is there is little bit of water enter my engine? how ah?

i never had a problem previously with my CAI. Facing front behind the bumper also.. Even though i drove in heavy rain at 100km/h also not problem...

After that, checked the K&N drop-in, still dry. I think the water won't reach the engine in huge amount in once - hydroclogging. Once it reaches the filter element, it'll then dispersed and evaporated by the air going through. Same effect like water vapour injection lor..

I have removed my CAI since the fog light i installed is blocking the way (of the hose). Now i have the intake pointing downwards.. sounds garang at >4k rpm...

drexchan.. i wana ask.. ur CAI is directing air to de air filter or suckin air like mine?

if i duno wut i talkin bout .. do check on few pages back on my cai design..

i removed the front part of the U-snockle and connect a 2.5" PCV flexi hose (air-cond hose) to the back of the bumper. Made a bell-mouth using a 2.5" to 3" PVC adapter, then secure the mouth at the honey comb grill. So, basically same like your's. So it's supposed to havea vacuum effect at the mouth, it's sucking... not directing. ;)

my mom drove my car justnow.. de bellmouth got water.. n de pipe like 15 cm long got water ... dots la..den i open my air filter box.. inside dry.. so hahaha.. should be fine la i think..but i scared de water at the pipe.. inside de pipe la.. will evaporate.. den turn into gas n enter air filter box.. can happen ah?

make sure that the pipe goes downward all the way and no curve back upward. Then you should be able to get rid of the problem.

yes, it will evaporate and your intake will be colder...

colder? evaporate...i scared wut u noe.. evaporate den trap inside cuz my pipe is sealed to de air box ma.. so evaporate edi den travel upwards den bcum water back... den walaaa.. water in de air box..

My previous CAI intake duct..
http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/drexchan@1/3293/128F45600490.jpg

no problem one... i'll be suck into the engine in vapour form and then come out in the exhaust stream... just like water injection lor... no harm.. won't cause hydro-clogging..

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Dec 29 2004, 20:06
the CAI for the Protons are installed there because of several reasons

1) high-pressure zone, for more ram air effect :P
2) cold air area
3) convinient
now bad stuff.. hahhaa

air filter is more dirtier .. mine kinda black edi..den i found leaF at my airfilter.. n below de aif box.. got sand!