Buying speakers guide

simplythebest

Hi All,

I need some guides, please guide me on which brand of speakers to choose, planning to add two sets of front (door panel) and rear speakers. I saw the print advertisement, they have all kinds of brands like kenwood, pioneer selling at RM 200+ per set. But, do they come with tweeter as well? How to choose between 2 way speakers and 4 way speakers, the difference?

At the moment, i just want to add 2 sets of speakers, that's all. My budget is RM 500 for both.

Thanks. :smile:

Most sifu will suggest you to forget about the rear and get a better 6.5 component and place it in front.
For 500, I would say is hard to find good speaker. You can consider joining the TT and listen to other.. but..thats going to change your preception on ice and tripple your initial allocated budget for speaker. haha!
Try source around for 2nd speaker if you wish to look for good speaker. Cheers!

jux put front comp set... infront back save it la... no point putting speaker at ur back?? in ur satria... 500 u can get a ok ok comp la... c how high ur requirement on ICE... if u putting a comp set without an amp... the sound will not b so out.. & nice...

500... I think I saw some Sound Stream at a shop some where... don't know how they sound though :rolleyes:

Like what the hamsup devil said, listen to the speakers 1st. Don't jump the gun :wink:

i'm new at the ICE forum, so excuse my ignorance if this topic has been discussed before.

I've seen a car use computer speakers (altec since it's small) to subsititute for expensive ice speakers. I must say the level is pretty acceptable (you can't compare with those high-end ice ones) but it's pretty sharp and impressive especially when you hide the speakers properly into the normal wire mesh holder. the cost is

Can it be done? any comments?

re_fc3s said:
i'm new at the ICE forum, so excuse my ignorance if this topic has been discussed before.

I've seen a car use computer speakers (altec since it's small) to subsititute for expensive ice speakers. I must say the level is pretty acceptable (you can't compare with those high-end ice ones) but it's pretty sharp and impressive especially when you hide the speakers properly into the normal wire mesh holder. the cost is

Can it be done? any comments?

you've seen it means it has already been done :tongue:

anyway, if you like em go for em but be reminded home stuffs are made differently from outdoors so they won't last in the wheather :wink:

RM500 ar... how abotu some entry level MBQuart... not spectacular but good for the price.

simplythebest said:
Hi All,

I need some guides, please guide me on which brand of speakers to choose, planning to add two sets of front (door panel) and rear speakers. I saw the print advertisement, they have all kinds of brands like kenwood, pioneer selling at RM 200+ per set. But, do they come with tweeter as well? How to choose between 2 way speakers and 4 way speakers, the difference?

At the moment, i just want to add 2 sets of speakers, that's all. My budget is RM 500 for both.

Thanks. :smile:

Before I give my opinion, 1st How long U can keep use ur car...2yr, 4yr, 5yr or after 1yr trade-in by another car..? 2nd thing do U want to upgrade it in the future..? 3rd What kind of stuff will U buy in future..? 4th How many stuff U need it..? 4th How much money U can spend on it..? Plan it first...like U plan to tackle amoi laaa...Draft it...in the first step what u need to buy..let say component set (including speaker cable)...2nd step buy a amp (including power cable & RCA cable)...here U will know ...stuff U buy in the first step is valueble or not...can 2nd stuff match with 1st stuff...if not U wasted U money...Normaly people only know after 3rd step..cause 1st & 2nd stuff need to replace with new stuff...at this point how much U will loss ur money & also time... Based on Your budget RM500, U not people like seat & wait money coming but Your type same as me...need time & has to find money...is it true...U need to plan....Dont go to cap ayam laaa...go to high end one laa kawan...Normally high end had level...entry level, refference level or top of the line (ultimate) series...forgoten ..which system U need SQ (sound quality) or SPL (sound presure level)..We dont have money...but with time plan we also can manage to get top of the line series...just a plan..Good Luck..

DJThoRmented said:
500... I think I saw some Sound Stream at a shop some where... don't know how they sound though :rolleyes:

Like what the hamsup devil said, listen to the speakers 1st. Don't jump the gun :wink:

Ui~! Hamsup pula ... compare to you, I am nothing . wahaha .. check up my random posting . .in a short while ... uploading .. hehe!

For 500, and if you like good quality, then I guess the only 2nd hand speaker. For new one.. with that price, I guess you can get OK component.

just bought a pair of sony explode speaker...
cost me RM200 (many ++, cannot recall the exact amount)

so i guess RM500 can give u two pairs of speakers already..

appleyard said:
no offence.

xplod = waste of money
cant agree more....
if u wan 2 blast...SPL...go 4 mohawk...cheap n not bad...
if u wan more 2 SQ...get the MB quartz entry level like Bert said...

but i dun like the tweeter tho...very bright...but 4 its price...u cant complain much