Bridgestone Turanza GR-80

Jeff86ks

Hi everyone... got a few questions here...
my Pajaro IO is going to change new tyres.. I'm really looking for some quiet tyres and the new Turanza GR-80 just get into my eyes..
So I call up the tyre shop and ask for the prize...400 bucks each...quite expensive I think.. is it? but price aside.. the mechanic tells me that this tyre is not so good... He tells me in cantonese... mainly meaning as follow: " this tyre is directional...that means only run on 1 side, if later the alignment and balancing gone wrong,then this tyre can't be adjust again.." :confused_smile:
well... not too sure what is he talking about.. can anyone explain to me please?
Then...any mini 4x4/mini SUV owners here could suggest any silent type tyres for my little Pajero??

Unidirection tyres are tyres with single direction thread. Like V pattern. They look nice visually but many offer less 'options' when doing tyre rotation over time.

For me, I basically start off looking for higher profile tyres. They have higher side wall, thus be able to absorb road harshness, thus creating lesser noise. In addition, tyre's pattern (esp. the stubby type) cause most noise when driven. That's why u see some hardcore 4x4 owners change to normal/smaller tyres when not off roading becoz they cannot tahan the harshness...

Cabin noise may not be attributed to solely on the tyres. I suspect the pajero's spring/damper setup is on the hardside. This setup transmit harshness from tyre, frame and lastly to the cabin. Cabin noise may oso due to the large air gap between tyre and wheel arch/well. Example? Just hear army trucks moving in highway...

So I've changed the Yokohama ASPEC A348 215/65/R16 95V, pretty quiet I must say, even gone up to 110km/h also barely can hear the tyres roar....my next step is do the sound proof to reduce the engine sound and wind sound that can be heard in the cabin... any recommendation from u guys? or anyone know the price? I read about it in a Taiwan magazine, which is about RM1300...

yes unidirectional tyre offer less option in the rotation, however, normal rotation like flipping, front wheel to real wheel, cross tyre.....still can....but when crossing need to do flipping.

While, the GR80 do u know that this is one of the tyre that got to HES?? Hydro evacuate System. Which is a features that normally only appeal on the sports tyre like Bridgestone SO3. This features helps to increase the speed of water to be channel out....in other words decrease the hydro planning.

I do agree this tyre quite expensive, try to ask for few more shop and compare the price....sure u can get a better price