Braking Techniques

simplythebest

Let's say you are speeding at 160 km/h (Don't have to follow this ,i just simply), and traffic light is just infront ..

Hmm, let's say 150 meter. (Don't have to follow this, i just simply ..)

What is the correct/best braking technique will you use?

Before you guys slam the brake, do you step the pedal couple of times first?

Wanna see my braking style correct or not, heheheh. :cool:

For me... I step the brake couple of times. If not enaugh then drop gear and lastly slam hard the brake.

i'll pull down the gear, step the brakes a bit, rpm down , repeat until safe enuf to slam the brakes. ---> of coz all in high speed motion .

wat will happen if just jam brake immediately without step a few times o rpm down?

btw, hear from my gf's father said which he used to study automobile courses, tap a few times of brake before actually brake...i think it would be function as heating up the brake gua to make it more bite on the brake... (i assume) hehe

if i m not mistaken, if u jam ur brakes at high speed, it will locks the tyres and u will lose control of da car.. hence skid

donkeydoink said:
if i m not mistaken, if u jam ur brakes at high speed, it will locks the tyres and u will lose control of da car.. hence skid
Unless ABS kicks in :p

We gauge our distance by actually seeing how far the traffic light is. Assuming we are 150m away from it and we are doing 160km/h. What I will first do is tap on the brakes as normal. I don't know if it is me, but I feel the brakes reduces the car speed faster when the car is cruising at higher speeds as compared to when it is slower, even when we tap on the brakes using normal pressure. Perhaps it is due to the fast rotation of the tyres? I don't know.

Where after it comes nearer to the traffic light, I will start to apply more pressure on the pedal. Downshift for engine braking if you have to, but we don't normally do that under normal circumstances. When you need engine braking to help, it just means to say we have misjudge the proper distance for braking. hehe.

Also, I don't think there is a need to tap the brakes a few time before actually braking. In fact, when you start driving and using the brakes, it will warm up after several times using it. Assuming you're braking at a traffic light after driving for quite sometime, I don't think there is a need for warming up the brakes. Just my two cents. :)

more importantly, always look at the rear view mirror before slamming the brakes even if you have ABS, you don't want to start a pile up.

impossible lar

if u are doing 160km/h
how fast do u think that u have before reaching 150 meters

ok, a simple calculation
take say 160km turn into meters
which would be 160000 m per hour rite
so one hour has 60 minutes
therefore 160000/60 = how far u travel in a minute
which would be 2666.666 meter
which translate roughly into 2.6km a minute
and how far do u go in a second
2.6km which is 2600 meters divide by 60 (since there is 60 seconds in a minute)
and u will get roughly 44 meters

150meters (in this example)divided by 44 and u will get how many seconds it takes to travel 150 meters if say u are doing 160km/h
150/44 = 3.4 seconds
given the fact that u did slow down and all
u might be taking at most 5 to 6 seconds to travel 150 meters

therefore, people, no matter whatever braking technique u have, try not to speed at that speed before approaching a traffic light

oh, here is how i brake, since my car has no abs or ebs or whatsoever
i just step on the brake
slowly and i always try to feel the brake
making sure i am applying just enough amount of force before it jams up
of course allowance for mistake is given

=P
peace man
correct me if my calculations are wrong
haven't been using my brain for maths for awhile

donkeydoink said:

and u start drifting! :regular_smile:

[quote=' xZ "]and u start drifting! :regular_smile:[/quote]

that's not drifting......
that's "All Hell Break Loose"

:devil_smile:

Why some of ppl will like to shift down the gear then after step the brakes? Can anyone enlightened me y they do so(shifting down gear)?

shifting down will slow down ur car.gear ratio.

tapping the brakes is the best method fr me.

redbluez18 said:
Why some of ppl will like to shift down the gear then after step the brakes? Can anyone enlightened me y they do so(shifting down gear)?

dude....if ur in 4th gear while stepping on the brake, would u have any torque to move ur car if u dun shift down the gear after braking??
Just dun put the gear into nuetral and step on the clucth completely while braking....that's my personal advice, i prefer to have the gear still engaged while braking......just incase!

If u r fast enough, u can actually perform some 'combos' in this situation. Tap ur break a few times, shift down ur gear, fully break while pulling the e-brake. Don't know this technique can earn 100 points or not :P

pulling the e-brake is abit dangerous in high speeds...pull it when u've reached about 50-60 like that.IMO

hmm, i would probably just press the brake as hard as possible without locking up.. and gradually increase the pressure to obtain the shortest distance possible.. i dont think there is time and reflex to shift down for engine braking.. and dont ever press clutch while braking, ur engine will more or less help to reduce the speed further..

while in emergency, ur reflex is ussually what u used to be doing in normal driving.. if u press brake without pressing clutch, than thats what u will do.. if u r used to pressing clutch while braking, than thats just what u will do.. no time to think oledi in that split second..

if u r drifter, probably will start doing some feint move or e brake drift qua.. hahaha