brake problem ....need help !!!

strontium_bismuth

u guyz , last time i went to genting , n when going down it seems my front disc got smelly (hangit) . Then , brake start not so grip . I stop for a while and found that the brake pad (i guess) "berasap" . Then after cooled down, the brake start function normally. It took me 3 times to stop before reached the main highway .. so, what's the problem actually ? I just changed the brake pad last month . Thanks dude

oh...what brand brake pad u using?original stock disc/caliper or levin?okie,back to topic...maybe u always using ur brake when goin down that why ur brake become hot and hotter...did u know when both in high temperature...brake pad and disc..it really cant stop ur car in high speed..jsut now,u sayin u stop ur car for moment rite..then it become normal back rite.coz it cooler a bit.okie,anyway if u wan good brake preforamance..u should change bigger disc and good brake pad for racing or high temperature..am sure u will enjoy ur jounery when goin to genting again.like my seg,upgradin it to all wheel disc and good brake pad endless for front and rear is oem pad!good brake preforamance!:regular_smile:

oh thanks dude . brake pad around RM 17-20 (ayam brand i guess) anda stock disc.no wonder there's smoke come out from brake pad. bro, one more , is skimming will help a bit ?

change to some decent pads b4 u end up somewhere u dont wanna be .. hehehe

ur safety also wan kedekut about $..lolz..using ayam brand brake pad?better change it b4 any bad thing happen to u man!about skiiming disc?upahnya around rm40 tak bantu pun!waste $! just change new original brake pad lor...tryin metal king or any pad u think u can pay off...above rm50 lor...

i don think skimming got inprove the braking force .
Better change the brake pad first .

wooo.. brake fading..

i thought you have to use engine braking to go down hill? instead of just using the brakes. here in borneo highland they ask you to use 1st gear to go downhill, but their modified truck different lar... damn touge downhill use airbrake one..

just get brake pads with higher working temperature range, but dun get those with too high temp range later you can't stop when its cold..

rollakid said:
just get brake pads with higher working temperature range, but dun get those with too high temp range later you can't stop when its cold..

uik .. what u mean by that ? is it , if i get the high temp range (too high) , then when it's cold , u mean the brake not function ? like that ? :confused_smile:

strontium_bismuth said:
uik .. what u mean by that ? is it , if i get the high temp range (too high) , then when it's cold , u mean the brake not function ? like that ? :confused_smile:
lets think of brake pads like tires, they also have their "operating temperature", they only work when your brake pads are at that temperature range.

normal cheaper pads work on lower temperature, since we don't race our vehicle on the road thus less heavy braking, so our brakes are not that hot, so manufacturer will try to cut cost buy making pads that is just enough for normal use (cheaper) and good for those who don't want to race their car cuz they can get pads replacement cheaper too.

but that doesnt mean you can just go and buy expensive racing pads either, since they are tailor made for racing application, that doesn't run on normal road. this also mean the pads will only work on higher temperature. so when they are cold, they won't stop your car at all.

your best bet for normal use is those "sport pads", they can be used like normal pads, but they can work at highter temperature too, although not as high as racing pads.

wow .. thanks bro. that's really make me clear .. thanks !! then , how should i know it is the medium temperature one ? is there stated on the box of that brake pads? or just ask for medium temp braking pads ? thanks bro !!

Write your reply...