NEED HELP/ADVICE SEG 101 Braking System

huszua

Jun 1, 2006
Dear Sifu's
I need some advice an ecomendation
My Toyota SEG 101 NA Fully Standard.
Im having problem with the braking system.
Recently i went to Genting, on my way back from Genting,
I keep my leg on the brake pedal, to make sure it wont slip.
When i reach the bumper, i presss the brake fully but it doesnt stop
Then i have to release and press again, then only it stop.
Im soo worry about this..
Few days back, my wife drve my car and same thing happen, she bannged Citra but
Luckily im using kangaroo bar, or else, i dont know what will happen.

Why this thing happen?
What should i do?
Any recomended workshop or foremen?

I've ask my fried but some advice me to change the Disc cause its burn
Some advice me to check or change the servo or brake pump
Some advice to change the brake pad ( I did before i go to genting )

BLANk

Dec 28, 2007
Sardine
huszua:
ur brake pad fade alrdy...better change new brake pads

u should use low gear or known as engine braking during downhill...u should press the brake pedal when reach the bump...not all the way frm hill to ground...:biggrin:

the rest let other toyota sifu to explain...:biggrin:

et_box

Aug 27, 2006

Thank God u are okay!

I've experienced brake failure before.

Do check your:

1) servo - previously, i had the same problem as u where i stepped on the brakes but no response. Later when i tested the brakes again, it worked.
2) brake hoses - see if there's a leak anywhere, usually red fluid.
3) make sure u have sufficient brake fluid too.

Brake pads should be fine but if it doesn't grip, then must be hydraulic problem as there could be a leak which leads to pressure loss.

Just my 2cents...

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
Dear Sifu's
I need some advice an ecomendation
My Toyota SEG 101 NA Fully Standard.
Im having problem with the braking system.
Recently i went to Genting, on my way back from Genting,
I keep my leg on the brake pedal, to make sure it wont slip.
When i reach the bumper, i presss the brake fully but it doesnt stop
Then i have to release and press again, then only it stop.
Im soo worry about this..
Few days back, my wife drve my car and same thing happen, she bannged Citra but
Luckily im using kangaroo bar, or else, i dont know what will happen.

Why this thing happen?
What should i do?
Any recomended workshop or foremen?

I've ask my fried but some advice me to change the Disc cause its burn
Some advice me to check or change the servo or brake pump
Some advice to change the brake pad ( I did before i go to genting )
It is term of A.B.S le... Your car is equipped with ABS? If yes, that is normal la.... Because you too much depend on braking and servo brake is small... So when no pressure, that why like that...

If you are not using ABS, try to check the caliper condition and if possible change it to double layer brake pump...

Anyway, another problem might be the brake pad overheated, but seem you second time you press down again. it still stop, which mean it is not brake pad issue.

Anyway, BLANK said is correct... Don't too depend on braking when downhill, try to use gear (low) to reduce speed and it much safer...

huszua

Jun 1, 2006
Thanks bro's.

but BLANK : I just change the brake pad 2 weeks before i go genting... Any other possibility?

TRD.AE92 and et_box : thanks for your opinion..

Sifu's:
Any recomended foremen to check my car before it gets fixed?
Location area KL will be great
I dont want to go to those shop that just simply conclude my problem but its not resolved.
If got any recomendation, im sending my car tomorrow.

Thanks bro's

dreamboy

Sep 18, 2005
penang
Hi huszua try to check the vacuum pipe from manifold to your brake pump there got something blocking or pipe leak or pipe bend or squeeze sign (rubber pipe old already may cause this problem) may cause choking, also will effect your brake function properly.

How could you feel when you apply brake the pedal feel stiff or soft? You said that you change brake pad before go to genting did the workshop help you breath out completely the trap air inside you brake fluid line after new brake pad changing? If got air mixed inside you brake fluid line brake will not function well also.

kennix

Jan 29, 2004
Hi there,

Pls check your brake fluid too. I've been there and been spending a lot just to find it is the problem of the fluid.

Stock AE101 using DOT3 fluid. DOT 3 fluid won't be able to withstand the heat or probably the boiling point is lower. I'm not good at this mechanical terms. Why I said the fluid is heated up. Imagine your brake pads having so frequent friction with your rotor. That will create heat. So the heat pass up to the brake hose and within brake hose, your brake fluid.

Anyway, simple way to check. When you encounter this again, pop up the hood and check the brake fluid. I've gone thru expensive ways only to find out it's the fluid issue. Hope you don't have to go that way. I've even put in very good brake pad, can;t remember Project Miu or Endless and the same thing still happen like yours.

Then bleed the old fluid, changed to DOT4. Done.

Another issue also could be the rotor size or even thickness? I can't explain very well how this affect. Any sifu care to help???

Just my 2 cents. correct me if i'm wrong. Cheers.

BLANk

Dec 28, 2007
Sardine
huszua:
oic...but since you alrdy facing brake fade during on your way back from Genting...that means the brake pads already burnt...the resin that hold the friction compound hangus already & it won't bite well as before...its advise to replace a new set of brake pads...for safety...:biggrin:

btw,did you bed-in the brake pads properly after installed it?

huszua

Jun 1, 2006
Dear all Sifu's.

Thanks for all the opinion and for your concern.
Already found teh root cause.
It was the Master Pump.

I go and changed it already
Now it was OK..

OnConnect,
Thanks for your opinion.

Hi ppl..

I m running on a 4g93t stock.. wanna get a piggyback system on.. but kinda confuse between safc neo or e manage???:stupid:
and wat the hell is the diff between the both?? some say e manage some go with safc neo..
so all beautiful ppl.. pls pls give me yr opinion??

Thank you very much :biggrin: