BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

Hahah I borrowed a car for this. My engine overhauling + changing of pistons will be taking around 3 weeks since my mech is a busy man. Crazy...
The problem with changing pistons with new piston rings is it will require running in, that one sien lah. I sent the car in during my sem break also, will be running it in during exam times soon. :D

Actually if you dont change the pistons, I still think running at 0.5 bars is pretty safe with 1.5mm gaskets... a lot of people are against it though.

For medium to higher boost applications, my mechanic said that the original clutch will surely slip at 1st-3rd gears when the torque comes in. He recommended an upgrade. :)

Hmmm.... i see. i heard this b4 but not sure real or not. since i'm hearing this for the 2nd time i guess it is true then. pls correct me if i'm wrong but i heard the original clutch thickness is like 8 1/2" while the gsr are 9". sigh... duit lagi! T_T so just change the clutch is enough while gearbox and etc no need right? how much ar?

stock gsr gaskets are not metal and i think its only 1mm right?

btw, where you studying ? I'm in taylors college. my exams are mid november just after raya. we go TT la.

Oh the original clutch plate's width is 8.5" for 93Ps... The GSRs are indeed 9" ones. Wont have to change gearbox la, just fitting in a stronger 8.5" clutch will do. You can change to the GSR clutch if you find its 9" flywheel as well, but Im not sure if the gearbox housing will accomodate the bigger flywheel. I got my Exedy competition 3puck clutch for RM450 2nd hand, with a lot of pad thickness left... do a search around loh, ill tell you if I see any good deals.

The stock paper (asbestos?) gaskets are 0.8mm I think. I will have higher compression, but since I only plan to boost 0.8 - 1 bars it should be okay la. Safer also incase of any detonation, as the paper gaskets will go first before some thing else blows...

I was studying in Taylors last year wei. Now Im in Monash U. Yeah we should go TT sometime after the exams man, so close to each other. :D

Right now Im driving a bright red old school Mini... if you see one around the area chances are thats me. :D

Hey zero.. from ur setup you changed the fuel pump as well.
which better? change fuel pump or fuel pressure regulator? My mech suggested regulator. But most suggested fuel pump. Hmmm.... any ideas?

get fuel pump... but preferably have both fuel pump and the fuel regulator... very important tuning tool.

GSR is 9" clutch plate, 4G93P is 8.5"... if u wanna use GSR flywheel+clutch, u're going to have to bore the inside of your gearbox housing coz' it won't be able to fit... anyway, I know of someone who's using 8.5" on a GSR who seems to have no problems with clutch slip except for 1 bar boost onwards... it slips right after hitting 190+hp on the dyno.

Stock gasket if not mistaken, for n/a or turbo also both are the same... correct me if i'm wrong. =Þ And its 0.8mm, after putting the head on, and screwing it in... it should be compressed to about 0.6-0.7mm like that.

Btw... TD04HL is not 16G...

Ahh... Alvin sifu has arrived! Thanks for the info man!

Oops.. sorry. Its TD04L 13G right? Errm... i hope this time it is correct.
Btw... Alvin bro, when u BOT u changed the fuel pump and added in an a fuel regulator as well? I don't remember la..

yeah... i was running on a GSR fuel pump and I had an adjustable fuel regulator... fuel regulator is basics for modding/tuning. =)

Ahah yeah better upgrade your fuel pump for forced induction. The original fuel pump if weakened over wear and tear may supply too little fuel leading to detonation... detonation for forced induction is *scary*.

Using a fuel regulator to roughly control your fuel supply is ok, but its best to do a ECU rechip. I will be consulting Drax once my engine runs in, before that using a fuel regulator will have to do. :)

zeroed... why not just go for a GSR ECU straight? Should have more or less the correct settings...

Anywayz.. fuel regulator got more use than just that... wanna rechip ECU also is advisable to get a fuel regulator first to make sure the fuel pressure u're getting is strong enuff. =Þ

Zeroed said:
My car is still in the workshop rebuilding the engine... yours also in progress? Hahah. Should be ready in 2 weeks time, then running it in and doing the ECU rechip will take another 1-2 months... before it will be fully whack-able. ;)

Im using all 4G93P parts, except for these:
93T Turbo+manifold
93T intake manifold
93T injectors
93T original head gasket (protection for engine incase of detonation)
4AGZE pistons (better material, ceramic coated... supposedly a very good piston for its price)
RB25 fuel pump
1G Intercooler
3 puck Exedy clutch
2.5" exhaust

According to my mechanic these except for the intake manifold are the essential upgrades if I am to boost at 0.8-1 bar...

Do tell me about your setup.

hi to all sifu's Zeroed, alvin24, waja4646......

i'm also a newcomer in this TURBO world, need to learn a lot and get massive input from u guys. Allow me to join. want to ask some questions, hope u guys sifu could hand me some helps...

I heard b4, toyota's 4AGZE can fit into the 4G93P....but i'm wondering, is it same size/diameter with ori 4G93P/93T piston? can fit straightaway with ori 4G93P/T conrod hole ka?
Got 1 zth'ians also, BOT his GTI with this kind of setup but more strange laa...4AGZE + B8 conrod..! B8 conrod = 4G93 conrod same meh?

i've tested his machine, not me driving la, he drive .....my goodness, superb! 2 thumbs up, no kidding...

PAIPON said:
Got 1 zth'ians also, BOT his GTI with this kind of setup but more strange laa...4AGZE + B8 conrod..! B8 conrod = 4G93 conrod same meh?

Yes its possible. Already many GSR people doing it long time ago.

4AGZE piston are semi forged. THen can stand very hi boost and compression pressure.

I dunno whether B8 conrod is forged or not but stock B8 internals can stand 300++ hp.

THis method is same to VR4 owners who stuff SR20 or Fairlady pistons into thier blocks.

Joeker said:
Yes its possible. Already many GSR people doing it long time ago.

4AGZE piston are semi forged. THen can stand very hi boost and compression pressure.

I dunno whether B8 conrod is forged or not but stock B8 internals can stand 300++ hp.

THis method is same to VR4 owners who stuff SR20 or Fairlady pistons into thier blocks.

thanks for the info bro Joeker,

.how about pistons?, is 4GZE piston same size/diameter with ori 4G93P/93T piston? or need to rebore a bit...?

Hello Paipon.
Yeah you can fit 4AGZE pistons into the 4G93 block. Both have a bore size of 81mm.
But it wont be a direct fit, you will have to machine a different set of bearings into the conrods to fit the 4AGZE piston pins. This should cost around RM200+...

Is it possible to fit B8 conrods into the 93 block though?
I was thinking of that but my mechanic said no.... either it wont fit or too many modifications to fit. Anyone tried?

thanks for the info, bro zeroed.

Talking about 4G92 SOHC (proton's), i was thinking to BOT directly to the current stock 4G92 SOHC head. Is it possible ?

Advantage...SOHC configuration will use shorter timing belt which is lesser tendency to break-off compared to DOHC config which was more longer timing belt. so then, we can whack the engine without worry.....Just My own thought theory, don't fire me if i'm wrong.....just to have all sifus opinion

How much boost could be applied on original 4G92SOHC BOT setup?

p/s: mmm....can't wait to start the project laa.....

Everybody advised that on stock internals.. don't go high boost. Else your engine will surely suffer the consequences (Most likely piston rings will wear out quickly or in worse cases; blow a hole through your pistons and damaging your cyclinder walls at the same time).

However, the definition of 'high boost' varies from one person to another. I guess you can safely follow Joeker's monster boosting at 0.55 bar. Just remember that not every engine are alike and whats safe for his engine may not be safe for yours despite it being the same engine.

And ermm... proton 4G92 is SOHC? I thought it was DOHC. Haha... learn something new everyday.

Can boost with std spark plugs?

blur_civic said:
hahaha... sure man...

I think bonnet lifting with 1 washer height should be ok kua? not noticable right?

Lifted it already.....hey guys.....i have a crazy ideas.... last time my bosch platinum kong...then i replace all 4's with std waja sprk plugs.......try to boost at 0.6 bar....walla ...still can boost....O o dangerous ka.......dont know......how bout that?

with std NGK-R waja still can boost....but afraid if piston got hole? or is it a myth?

Sifus.....kindly advice.....if can can save MONEY for cold spark plugs.......adviseeeeeessss pls

Hot plugs are more likely to preignite due to hi-cylinder pressure from forced induction application.

Cold plugs not only differ in the material it is constructed, it also is phsyically "colder" whereby it has higher capability to dissipate heat and least likely to heat soak under stress.

Using cold spark plugs is like buying insurance.

Its better to have it and notneed it rather than needing it and not have it.

PS : Don worry, i'm not an insurance rep.

urm guys..... i got no idea wut u guys r talking bout. i have a gen2. i would like to add a turbo, a bolt on one. but i dont know wut kind of turbo is there out there in the market for my gen2. also i want to know if there is any other things i got to change or add if i want to use a turbo..... i need help...someone please come to my rescue. thank u in advance.

Cheap n Reliable turbo mods in KL

CSR said:
How much for all above stuff ???

:rolleyes: If u r in KL, i think u can get cheapest cost of yr turbo mods by using most used parts from Dragger Racing at tel: 03-62754508.

Gen 2 turbo mods 4 everyday uses

BLUEGEN2 said:
urm guys..... i got no idea wut u guys r talking bout. i have a gen2. i would like to add a turbo, a bolt on one. but i dont know wut kind of turbo is there out there in the market for my gen2. also i want to know if there is any other things i got to change or add if i want to use a turbo..... i need help...someone please come to my rescue. thank u in advance.

:rolleyes: Y not check from Dragger Racing of Sri Damansara at tel: 03-62754508 4 d cheapest turbo-charging modification in KL.

They can bolt-on d rebuilt Garrett T02 turbo with their own make exhaust manifold 2 run a max of 0.6kg/cm boost only 4 d Gen 2 internal light weight designed engine components.

A good used blow-off valve n used VR4 intercooler can be utilized 4 low costing.

Must change 2 larger fuel injectors 2 d original very intelligent Siemen ECU n controls by d very friendly tune PS. Air-Fuel Enhancer, Boost-Cut Eliminator n EGO Pulse Trimmer 4 ideal engine operation.