Big Bore B16

YEN96

May 25, 2011
JB/SGP
Anyone knows wat mean by big bore B16 ?

Its bore bigger pistons , cylinders ?? .."something like B17"???

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
bigger cylinder bores allow bigger pistons to be fitted in, increasing the overall capacity a lil

YEN96

May 25, 2011
JB/SGP
is it the latest trend in B series ??

Big bore B16 gives u prolly equal to B17...abt 1.7L

Y not go B18 or B20 .....

Recently sat in one B engine, claim to be big bore....torque is lesser than B20.

But why big bore a B16 ??

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
to get more capacity, to generate more power. b20 has more torque because of the extra stroker

YEN96

May 25, 2011
JB/SGP
i have a B20 and the torque is much more.

But Why Big bore when u can go B18 ?? i dun understand.

big bore b16 is about 78-80mm piston?

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
81 is std for a b16/18 kan? they dont wanna change the block? so many reasons imo, id go for a longer stroke too

DeaconFrost

Oct 2, 2009
i have a B20 and the torque is much more.

But Why Big bore when u can go B18 ?? i dun understand.

big bore b16 is about 78-80mm piston?
Stock B16 piston is 81mm, similar to B18.

Normally people bore a B16 to gain more displacement while maintaining the short stroke (77.4mm).

Theoretically, the longer the stroke, the lower the redline.

However, a 'big' bore B16 can mean only 1mm bigger (82mm) or 1.5mm bigger only (82.5mm). Still smaller bore than B20 (84mm). If the B16 block is sleeved, probably can bore bigger.

What people want in the B20 block is the bore (84mm). What people don't want in the B20 block are the weak sleeves (different design than VTEC) and the long stroke (89mm).

Some in US use B20 block with B17 crankshaft (81.4mm stroke). I don't think we can find B17 easily here.

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
iam prefer a longer stroke den a bigger bore, this has been the formula in all my rides and it works so far. boring the cylinder to gain more power isnt thing, i can always strengthen the block and increase the boost, safer imo

Shelby Supercars (SSC), manufacturer of the ultra high-performance Ultimate Aero Twin Turbo, set the new "World’s Fastest Production Car" record earlier today with an average top speed of 255.83 mph. Confident of the 1183 hp vehicle’s abilities, SSC set out to validate their top speed claim in accordance with the strict guidelines set by Guinness World Records. Among other requirements, in order to meet Guinness’ approval, a...