B20B Conversion Discussion

The 'oil squirter' is something that squirts oil into the back of the piston and the cylinder wall. Its also known as a piston sprayer. It functions to reduce friction and heat in the engine. All the B16 and B18 blocks has it as standard. The B20B doesn't have it as a standard feature, but it's do-able. However, running oil squirts reduces the maximum possible size of a B20B rebore.

85mm still not enuf ahhh? woahh!
neway now i know what is the function of oil squiter !

b20 b .... anyone have changed to this block ? how's the feeling?

i got no money to change la .. but ive try one of my fren b20b hermmm finger clicking good la, the torque is ewesome.

feel good, but pocket feel painful...

very good bottom end torque for an average setup B20B.. so very nice to drive in traffic.

I actually seen quite a few B20B conversion and if "done properly" and "tune properly" should last a long time provided owner don't miss shift or rev over 8000rpm all the time. If daily driven to 7500rpm and occasional 8000rpm is ok with the right ECU tune.

If you wanna rev over 8000rpm consistently and reliabily then alot have to be done on the bottom end internals which include a minimum of forged pistons and lightweight rods with stronger head bolt and main studs. One more thing, alot of ECU tuning to run reliabily.

86mm i think for street use with occasional rev or just drag race only should be able to tahan with a good ecu tune.

But i've heard track car with b20b with 86mm piston, just after two 10 lap race with consistent rev at 8200rpm the engine die just as he coming into pit. Later in workshop, they remove the cylinder head secured with ARP head bolts. As they remove the head, they saw the whole block cracked and split into 2!!

Lesson learned, stock sleeve with 86mm results in unreliable and cracked & spilt block with just one race weekend.