B18C non type r~

aranny2001

hi to all sifu,

wanna ask how is the fuel consumption of the B18C which fit into EG9? full tank can go how far? and how many km/l ?any EG running with B18C? cause recently looking for B16A halfcut, but then most of them suggest me to go for B18C the halfcut from the DC2 with 2 big round head light, reason, they said B16A is way too expensive already...the price of B16A is even expensive than the B18C????:confused: what is the comment problem of this engine? would like to hear from you guys soon~

• 46792fbd_7a19_452e_a1db_dd72b71c19d7_0d7cff3ad547a21b033b0b600e918b3885c9f64b.jpeg
    46792fbd_7a19_452e_a1db_dd72b71c19d7_0d7cff3ad547a21b033b0b600e918b3885c9f64b.jpeg
    554.4 KB · Views: 397

i driven the engine before....fuel consumption ok, power very smooth and linear...not much kick but its fast..., if u put it in an EG, power to weight ratio...u r getting a monster response with good FC....i cant remember actual fc but its like driving a normal wira 1.6mt fc i guess...not drinking fuel i can confirm for sure....

it is auto or manual tranny?

b18c gsr is powerful. u have good torque given that its a 1.8 litre... make sure u get manual cuz auto tranny... fail la.. hahaa.

it'll fit into your eg perfectly.

FC really depends on ur right foot, and once u have a vtec inside, your right foot automatically becomes real heavy. so i'd say probably full tank with ron 95 (rm70-75) can get u around 350-400km for mixed driving (town + highway).

pretty standard consumption for vtec engines.

b18c gsr is powerful. u have good torque given that its a 1.8 litre... make sure u get manual cuz auto tranny... fail la.. hahaa.

it'll fit into your eg perfectly.

FC really depends on ur right foot, and once u have a vtec inside, your right foot automatically becomes real heavy. so i'd say probably full tank with ron 95 (rm70-75) can get u around 350-400km for mixed driving (town + highway).

pretty standard consumption for vtec engines.

haha... im not really a heavy footer.. if fuel consumption like that, consider not bad.... almost like b16...reason this gsr come across my mind cause yhe halfcut shop told me b16 us very expensive, b18c is worth money. manual almost 7500, but with auto only 5000... thinking to go for manual, but bit pricey compare to auto. thinking of getting auto may be.... depends on budget. wanna know how much is the torque for auto b18:smokin:

i strongly advise against the auto. vtec's should be driven manually. dont save small money initially and end up spending even more converting to manual later.

also - once u drive a dohc vtec, i can guarantee ur foot will become heavy. 100%.

dont be like a friend i have. bought dc2 (round lights) when i advised him to go for a dc2r. he said no, i like the round lights. fine. found an auto dc2 with round lights and with b18c gsr auto, again i advise and said, get manual, u will regret with the auto. his answer was "i daily drive ma, auto is best". fine. after buying the car, test run with my b16a, got raped badly. then only realise how pathetic auto is. converted to manual, spent close to 5k (i dont really know what else he added during that conversion). after that, spent another 1.5k-2k converting the front to the JDM type R (the one with the long headlamps). i am damn speechless but oh well, he got money so who am i to pass comments?

just dont do what he did la. trust us, we all went thru it before.

mine gsr in ek bodyshell.....auto tranny for my wife daily use.....only on saturday night i'll drive it to refuel....no regret...manage to be in front of b16a in ef 2 doors bodyshell...all standard....ask urself 1st the reason to change the engine.....

auto and manual same torque and power?

---------- Post added at 01:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:12 PM ----------

i strongly advise against the auto. vtec's should be driven manually. dont save small money initially and end up spending even more converting to manual later.

also - once u drive a dohc vtec, i can guarantee ur foot will become heavy. 100%.

dont be like a friend i have. bought dc2 (round lights) when i advised him to go for a dc2r. he said no, i like the round lights. fine. found an auto dc2 with round lights and with b18c gsr auto, again i advise and said, get manual, u will regret with the auto. his answer was "i daily drive ma, auto is best". fine. after buying the car, test run with my b16a, got raped badly. then only realise how pathetic auto is. converted to manual, spent close to 5k (i dont really know what else he added during that conversion). after that, spent another 1.5k-2k converting the front to the JDM type R (the one with the long headlamps). i am damn speechless but oh well, he got money so who am i to pass comments?

just dont do what he did la. trust us, we all went thru it before.

b18 halfcut should be cheaper than b16?

---------- Post added at 01:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:24 PM ----------

mine gsr in ek bodyshell.....auto tranny for my wife daily use.....only on saturday night i'll drive it to refuel....no regret...manage to be in front of b16a in ef 2 doors bodyshell...all standard....ask urself 1st the reason to change the engine.....

how is the fuel consumption of auto gsr? can pump 95 right?

---------- Post added at 01:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:55 PM ----------

how is the fuel consumption of auto gsr? can pump 95 right?

pilah: yours in front of a b16a? i'm impressed really. i tested with my friends auto gsr, he could only smell my smoke and no, my b16 is stock standard.

gsr auto ron 95 can la. i know ppl running on b18cr + ron 95 also.. hahahaha

b4 my 1st gb kong....i manage to get 16km/liter-18km/l...nowday around 14km/l.....need to retune...i'm using e-manage.....

vtec without management like eat nasi lemak without sambal......

after buying the car, test run with my b16a, got raped badly. then only realise how pathetic auto is.

So true, auto is pathetic.

I have an auto EG9 for my daily drive, full tank FC easily can go beyond 500km, but otherwise, it's pathetic.

For auto, better to drive Jazz iDSi where transmission is continuously variable (CVT) rather than B16A where transmission is traditional auto.

b4 my 1st gb kong....i manage to get 16km/liter-18km/l...nowday around 14km/l.....need to retune...i'm using e-manage.....

vtec without management like eat nasi lemak without sambal......

to tune and make it fuel efficient increase,will it affect the power or torque drop?

hw much is the diff between b16a and b18c in ur place bro?like the others advise,better take manual bro coz u'll never regret....the feeling once vtec kick in surely will make ur right foot become heavier...and u'll forgot the pain of driving in traffic jammed once u feel the power of dreams:rofl:

b18c about 7500, b16 almost 8+++.one question, in order to put 1.8 into my eg1.6,the procedure of endorsement seems very trouble some it is? haiz...... need letter this and that.... but if b16 no need letter it is?

1.6 to 1.8 no problem. it would be the same hassle if u get the b16a as well. same procedure. only thing is u will have to top up money for the car insurance/road tax. 1.6 = rm90, 1.8 = rm179.

as long as the engine code change from original, u will need custom form and approval letter from JPJ. use runner, all can be done in a week. ownself do, 1-3 months.. hahaha.

get yer workshop to quote the whole package la.. inclusive install AND endorsement.

most workshops if ur car 1.3 oso they can get approval if u go 1.8. so u no need to worry liao.

i previously used b18c GSR..i had great fun with this engine its powerful. good FC.. this engine is lower in compression, hence ron 95 should be able to adapt.

the intake manifold is dual stage, which helps alot for city driving.

when i play with this engine, i change to b16a pistons, to bump comp, used s90 tb with skunk2 intake, port n polish the head, and b16b cams, vafc,and some other basic mods on a eg9. i was very happy with the performance on the road, drag or track. till now the new owner also is whacking the same engine, with more mods applied.

so if you are going this way, PLEASE GET THE MANUAL! auto means, dont bother asking whether got power, whether good fc, whether worth $$ whther can eat that car, eat this car. etc etc.

1.6 to 1.8 no problem. it would be the same hassle if u get the b16a as well. same procedure. only thing is u will have to top up money for the car insurance/road tax. 1.6 = rm90, 1.8 = rm179.

as long as the engine code change from original, u will need custom form and approval letter from JPJ. use runner, all can be done in a week. ownself do, 1-3 months.. hahaha.

in that one week still can drive around?