[B]How to Improve staging/Imaging[/B]

ahmisuhairi

How to Improve staging/Imaging

Improving stage and image in car is likely difficult to do.

I am hoping that the Pros and tailoos of ICE could point some tips/guides in order to help the newbies like me to have good staging/imaging in the car?
I read an articles the keys to good stage/image are:
LOCATION, LOCATION, AND LOCATION
Tweeter on A-Pillar directed towards center of listening position...

How about component at door panel? Then can I just install another mids at kick panel to increase the staging?

Your personal thoughts and ideas I would like to tanks in advance...

ahmisuhairi said:
Improving stage and image in car is likely difficult to do.

I am hoping that the Pros and tailoos of ICE could point some tips/guides in order to help the newbies like me to have good staging/imaging in the car?
I read an articles the keys to good stage/image are:

LOCATION, LOCATION, AND LOCATION

Tweeter on A-Pillar directed towards center of listening position...

How about component at door panel? Then can I just install another mids at kick panel to increase the staging?

Your personal thoughts and ideas I would like to tanks in advance...

kickpanel are designed to minimize different path lenght. To have equal path leght in car is almost impossible unless you move the driver seat to center. Other than that its the kick panel. Kick panel are not for staging but for imaging. The sound of your right speaker will arrive first before the let beause you are sitting nearer to the right speaker.

Tweeter are a unique thing. it canmake or break your staging. placing tweeter on A pillar is one of the method. But not all car are the same. Some would place tweets on kickpanel, door panel, A pillar, on the dash.... its all depend on your ar and tweeter.

Bright tweets are better placed furthur away from your ears, kick panel would be the ideal place. Mellow tweets are better placed nearer. For staging its plaing and aiming your tweets.

Btw i dont understand on to focus on tone as you are playing music not tones.

felix u wanna come to penang? To see drift or to send some item:),where u wanna come in penang?

i will be come to penang in next week about thusday stay until saturday or sunday depand on my sweet-"hard", haha, anything anybody want can contact me frist if i go penang u we can have drink there or anybody want me bring anything there? takumi86? ahmishurari? or ther person who want soundstream package don know what nick name..??? lah. erm.. everybody give me rm30 for road fees...hehe kiding.

ahimuhari now i know what u talk about the GTI component, that is new and old model diffrence lah, same but the want u ask is older model lah...aya

i think he means tonality, not playing tones, hehe...

anyway for car its really difficult for speaker placement compared to home audio, especially since we are trying to get our sound as close as possible to how home system sounds, or ultimately a live music performance.

so in your house u can put mids and tweets on top of each other both sets equal distance away from you and they are far away. so in car we have to compensate a lot as they are placed very close to you and with different distance.

so for positioning u try la to get the best out of this situation of limited space, try try try until u run out of money, time or patience.....

thats the fun and evil of car audio...

for your wira mids in the doors u cant do much and wont effect much also. u can try making a custom fibreglass door pod for your mids to aim it upwards accross but u will lose some midbass (mounting not as strong as on metal itself). so i suggest u concentrate on tweeter location, easier to play with and more effect/difference

yes as for me , the tweeter and midbass distence is very important to me..

"fibreglass door pod for your mids to aim it upwards"

i try with wood panel b4, acually also good, but how to say, if using good midbass, and go-low tweeter the diffrence is not much aready..

u very sifu..stronge. bump u,zenn

for imaging the only true solution is Time Alignment .....there is noway that positioning your speaker can truely solve this problem cos as long as the distance between the left and the right speakers are different, the problem of Time Alignment will be there.

as for sound staging the best way is to try out the positioning of the speakers....there is no fix position for speaker as different speaker have different characteristic in different car.....try out different positioning till u get d best soundstage.....the tweeter will play the biggest role to get a good soundstage....concentrate more on tweeter like Zenn mentioned earlier on ...if u can get it rite....just drive your car over to Zenn's place n get it position .....

problem mith my GTi608 tweeters dont have directed position... can put double sided only to focus towards me

Time allignment isthe last resort. After you are tired of positioning and firing and still have large path lenght difference then you use TA for correction.

Tweeter are always used for staging but the furthur you placed your tweeter from that mids the worse imaging you get. Imaging is where all sound come from a single source. Placing then apart means mids will come from your leg and voice anc trebble will be on eye level so you have 2 different source.

I had given up in findingmy staging andjust bear with it for a little longer until i found the time and patience to do it. Grrrr.....!!! @##$% speaker.

Yepp...TA is the last choice to use.try on the tweeter placement first.but need time & energy to find good placement.and of coz need to be patient for doing this thing & cannot be so rush on it...:)

Hi all,

I am new to this staging. When i play the song, it seems like the singer's voice is still below the dashboard...How can i bring it up? Or can any taiko here tell me which parts is crucial on the staging? Thanks.

HU: Pioneer 1650
AMP: Agako 4 channel (2ch for front, 2 ch for sub)
Components: PHD cf 6.1
Sub: JL 12W3v2

sfoong1 said:
Hi all,

I am new to this staging. When i play the song, it seems like the singer's voice is still below the dashboard...How can i bring it up? Or can any taiko here tell me which parts is crucial on the staging? Thanks.

HU: Pioneer 1650
AMP: Agako 4 channel (2ch for front, 2 ch for sub)
Components: PHD cf 6.1
Sub: JL 12W3v2

I think ur amp + HU problem... Where u install ur Agako amp?

Component fine, Sub fine too ... Only HU + Amp

Amp Installation - Golden Auto

If HU and AMP causing the problem...What would be the sequence to upgrade?

I can upgrade item by item but not at the same time :( tight budget..

Better go back to Golden Auto for tuning la..voice up what your need la...
But you can't hope the Agako amp too much..because it cheap mah...

See when I can audit your car..hehe!

No problem..need sifu advice...

since i planned to upgrade either parts (HU or AMP)...i dun think i will continue to tune using the same AMP :(

Looking for cleaner amp.. Any suggestion ar? Budget? -> RM1.3K used amp..but still hunting..

Find one day la... We learn each other mah...
U also can audit my poor ICE too...

BTW, i went to another shop named CT Two near Bayan Lepas...He recommend me a Directed 5 channels amp for my front (bridge) and sub for RM1250. Model is Directed 600/5 (That is what i saw from the AMP). Its a used unit for 11months.
35W RMS per channel (If bridge will be 100W RMS per channel).

Worth the upgrade?

loon1031 said:
Find one day la... We learn each other mah...
U also can audit my poor ICE too...

Hmm.i am not qualify to comment ppl's ICE as poor ICE..I saw your Arc Audio amp already more than 2k, rite..that is called poor ah? :D

Do you have any TT gangs? I am interested to join, meet new frens and being poison kao kao!! Not join any TT ..not even once..:cry_smile: