Are Malaysian Ready ?

turbocharging is not so new to malaysia when it comes to pick up trucks like FOrd Ranger, Mitsu Storm and the kind. maybe more than 5 yrs already.

Volvo and Saab cars have them as OEM.
Ford malaysia also had equipped their Lynx with a turbocharger, despite being a 0.3 booster only.

proton as always, still not knowing whether to turbocharged their cars or not. but the GTI in UK is available with a supercharger as dealer's option. i am not sure about warranty though.

even though the move is quite slow IMO, but its heading the right direction.

what i am not sure is - our driver's attitude towards having more power under their right feet and whether with great power comes great responsibilties on the road. even Wira 1.3 also wanna cucuk wira 1.6...where got road like that? :D

p/s myself also kenot tahann..:D - play with 1.3 wira (maluuu)

sum-dum-fuk said:
one of the other problem could be consumer mentality..i'd safely say..many enthusiasts find it hard to accept locally fabricated / locally installed / locally tuned / local experts / local engine builders....most ppl wud prefer 'foreign' talent.. juz like wat u said..some of them local guys are pretty good..but i guess they find it frustrating tryin to explain their talent locally...

sdf,

To be frank, I do believe that there's a reason behind such mentality due to past experiences. Ermm, perhaps I should relate my experience with you guys.

Recently, i've just done some material testing...to be more precise, a tensile test. To those who are unfamiliar, a 'Tensile Test' or in lame mans' term is to stretch a material till it elongates and breaks apart. This test requires a very sophisticated and expensive precision machine, which costs about half a million.

We had two materials of supposingly the same kind, same composition, same processing method but the only difference is MIM - Made in Malaysia and MIS - Made in Sweden. Instructions were given to both manufacturers to produce the same thing.

The results:

MIM - Elongated 2 mm, fractures after 1000N of load applied to it.
MIS - Elongated 9.5 mm, fractures only after 9800N of load applied to it.

From the above, the MIS have a much much higher tensile strength than the MIM. Please do not doubt the credibility of the machine cos it is ISO certified and used in most factories in Germany, involved in processing.

So the question here is why the big difference in the experimental results, when both are processed in the same manner, same composition?!

I can only come up with a possible conclusion that the MIM is not manufactured accordingly; save time (short-cut) to save cost (electricity, water) and save materials ---> more profit.

Let's imagine a local manufacturer with such attitude producing turbine for our domestic market. The outcome? Pretty obvious rite.

I'm not making a general conclusion that all MIM is like that, but it appears to be a fact somehow. I dunno whether any of you watch 'NGC's Mega builders: Petronas Twin Towers', but the exact scenario took place during the construction of the Twin Towers, causing a delay in the completion, which I do believe had bring Malaysia shame worldwide.

Well, don't get me wrong by saying that I do not support or give any chance to our local industry but time will tell a whole new story.

RC..

good feedback mate !

well somehow things wud need to 'save costs' somewhere to be competitive and always the usual cut corners process wud be involved..

probably the right word i should have used was, how come local guys cannot accept locally fabricated items..for example, exhaust manifolds, intake manifolds, intercoolers and so on... when the garage tells them it's locally made..these guys wud go "wooo...errr..emmm...don wan la..." but on the other hand, they'd want to take some Thai made which cud end up rougher and even lousier than the local made.. geez..it really confuses me.. ;)

For me, Malaysian mostly ready for Turbocharging as long as they know what they are doing and not blindly accept all suggestion from the mech (either 'under the tree' or renowed tuner with a proper tools)

Turbo charging can be just as reliable as stock. The main thing you need is a good tune. There are rare cases where a good tune can result in blowing something up but it is a rare case. There are quite many Malaysian people on this site that have had their motors hammered on daily for years and no problems. It is all in the tune! and ofcoz with a PROPER gauge and 'understand' how to read them...

For me, the conclusion that i would say.. What is the right setup for my car?
Daily driven? Drag race? Autocross car? Each has their own needs and wants.

SDF... i think the rite title for this threat should be... Are Malaysian ready for 9sec car? or The Quest for 9sec Car.....heh heh heh

Turbo charging is the Art of Engineering....

my 2 cents :

the crowd in the malaysian motorsports scene is as what you can see and know around you. We have the minor hardcores who are all the way in making monsters and we have the major "I want my car to look fast and sound fast" without even knowing the mechanics of their ride. The comes in the middle between those two, the mid-core enthusiasts who mod their cars 50%-70% of what the hardcores did, because moneywise factor.

I'd say the benchmark for Malaysians to be actually ready for forced induction and real performance tuning is when they are properly equipped with automotive mechanical knowledge and least did lotsa hours of DIY fixing and tooling around with their ride. It's really a waste for people to convert their rides to have more powerful motor but not knowing nuts and bolts about it. At least self-able to do problem diagnosis when something on the car is not working right and not just walk up into a workshop saying "My car stalled when I stop at the traffic light. Please check on it."

How well would they know what is the correct optimum diameter for port-polish cylinder head? What's the proper weight to achieve for crankshaft/conrods/piston in engine balancing process and which cylinder to start balancing first? What's the optimum air fuel ratio the engine needs after replacing the air filter and extractor? How much boost can my cylinder at piston take at this certain compression rate with this turbine? Does this piggyback unit function well with my engine? (talking about seeing a stock carburetor, single cam car using VAFC?) All these kind of question needs to be properly worked at.

Knowledge has always been the key. We all know performance parts in Malaysia (new) costs a bomb and so does other stock parts. But with knowledge, we can make every worth of our spending live up to its value for dollar. Ask any real tuner, how they go on getting the most whp from an engine. As far as I know in Malaysia, only a few spend time calculating figures while others still uses the paleolithic try-and-error method, or simply copying others. Mentally-wise : not really ready for most, especially for end-user.

RM money power is small
aftermarket things is quite expensive
performance cars is quite expensive also
malaysia have to get from europe, jap for parts
more expensive

JAP can easily get their hands on anything
Cars is cheap no harm making the car fast n less reliable..
aftermarket performance stuffs is cheap also
they are the ones that produce so many good performance cars n parts

so i think jap got 100% we get only 50%

if u guys understand wat i am saying
dont know how to put into words

blackie....u dunno what tubro is arr...aijoooo..
lai lai, we go bintangcium..there got many tubra 1.....

woi unker sdef....long time MIA arr....

SPEEDSPiRiT said:
RM money power is small
aftermarket things is quite expensive
performance cars is quite expensive also
malaysia have to get from europe, jap for parts
more expensive

JAP can easily get their hands on anything
Cars is cheap no harm making the car fast n less reliable..
aftermarket performance stuffs is cheap also
they are the ones that produce so many good performance cars n parts

so i think jap got 100% we get only 50%

if u guys understand wat i am saying
dont know how to put into words

I understand what u try to say...We too small...

I have talked with some mechs who have done lots engine transplants and turbo conversions, and it's obvious that many of these people do it by "feel".. relying entirely on their experience. They hardly know any proper automotive engineering stuff, much less read books on AE and forced induction.

You tell them that you wanna try a 0.3 bar light pressure turbo setup just for a more snappy throttle response, and they tell you that even for 0.3 bar, you need to change the pistons to low compression pistons, need to increase the fueling with uprated injectors, need to use external wastegate and BOV, etc. basically you're doing all the stuff that a high boost setup needs, only that you run on a low boost.

These people have tried many setups through trial by error and have written off many setups as being "tak boleh jalan", when the simpler answer is that they haven't really analyzed it in detail from an engineering point of view.

Someone who has done over 50 GSR-T or Evo transplants can be hailed as a 'sifu', and most of these sifus are so cocksure of themselves that they won't entertain any suggestions from the users. I know this guy who has worked for Aerotech (HKS tuner). He has many stories to tell about those so-called 'sifus' who claim to know a lot based on 'experience', but can't get a decent reliable setup that doesn't give you 200 km on a full tank.

If you ask any turbo mech nowadays about light pressure setups, they'll tell you that your fuel consumption will be terrible. Ask them about high-boost setups, they'll tell you the same thing. But, if you go to a really knowledgeable tuner, that person may even tune your ride to give you better fuel consumption at cruising speeds.

The thing lacking in our FI scene is not resources or equipment - these two are only limited by money. The main thing lacking is education and REAL knowledge.. not that 'agak-agak' knowledge with tons of guessworks from hundreds of trials by error.

If JPJ allows Puspakom to validate turbocharged vehicles (especially bolt-on ones) as roadworthy, perhaps the scene will pick up further.

If those Insurance Company bastards don't simply find excuses not to pay us (for instance, bolt-on turbos or superchargers will void the insurance policy instantly), more people will take up turbocharging and perhaps then, when it's mainstream, will every mechanic try and be competent at the science behind it. Nowadays, it's considered to be a fringe discipline, and REAL turbo 'sifus' are like practitioners of some black art.

And another thing... I don't know if there's some government policy against high performance cars. Official dealers don't import the high performance variants for the most part, although i know mitsubishi now imports the Evo direct. The authorities also make life very difficult for performance enthusiasts and there are no proper guidelines in place, hence they make up the rules as they go along.

That keeps hi-po/turbo cars out of the mainstream, which would also mean most mechanics have little or no exposure to the proper science of turbocharging.

js wong..

you're right on dude.. what u said is very sad and true of the majority of local 'sifus'. Just because someone has transplanted an engine and 'claim' they can 'boost up' doesn't mean they can bolt on a turbo to an NA engine and it also doesn't mean they know about 'HOW THINGS WORK IN AN ENGINE'...as u correctly pointed out..they all are still using the 'butt' feeling that it works.

The formula u mentioned by some mechanics of using low comp piston + injector + regulator = formula of the 80's...dinosaur theories...hahahahaha... ;)

it is real funny when u try and go and talk to som of em...they tend to tell us the oldest story around the block...sometimes even 'mythical' stories ! wow...

bros...peace..

to me it all bring us back to one major thing..our govt policy.. tax here and there..in the end..the products that reached us has a doubled or sometimes tripled price!

if we go thru overseas magazines...their parts are available at a price almost anyone can afford, thus provide the opportunity for anyone who is interested to try...and not causing a big hole in their pockets.

one sick attitude that i notice frm malaysians manufacturers is they will stuff all the good parts and do cantik2 those to be exported, but for local market...buat cincai lebih kurang...where as other countries, they produce the best for their people first...then only others. just look at how proud the americans are wif their harleys...mustangs..etc..kita?? not to kutuk proton or what, but compare the products UK specs and local specs...obvious difference...

so this will bring us back to the main thing...EXPOSURE..how can we get good experience and proper exposure if we are not used to high performance parts, machines, softwares etc?

with policies like this...all we can do is pandai pandai sendiri, invest hugh amount of RM personally and in the end...appreciation oso not as expected...

wonder why aa? compared to other sports, which we will surely be beaten physically - like bola, rugby, swimming etc - all those, no matter how good we are, we have to face the fact that we can never beat those mat saleh - which is physically bigger than us...so why not, government think logically, invest kaw kaw in motorsports, at least we can get compatible machines,and technology and focus on developing our skills...

huh? off topic aaa???

soli aaa...just my 2 cents..

so in the end we lack of creative and innovative mech? that only know what and how to implement what they have been taught by their sifu...

"all those, no matter how good we are, we have to face the fact that we can never beat those mat saleh"
dude,
mat saleh is also human. they aint god.

narx, according to them, we lack of engineers who can do turbo based on science, calculation, fact, precise measurement and theory.

peace....

"they aint god......"
ya ...true enuff...i wonder when a malaysian sprinter can beat the US sprinter...in a 100metres sprint.............???

or just put our man sprinter against their woman....

ya , they aint no god...but physically, they are bigger,stronger...financially, they are capable, technologically, they are far ahead, spiritually...they are always prepared...
morally....u tell me. malaysians will get the people's support when winning only...if they loose, then the whole nation will turn their backs away...

get wat i mean?

used to see my unker tune his twin weber..using only a piece of small hose - on end at the air intake of the carb and the other to his ear...he will listen to whether both intakes are getting the same amount of air and will have to do again and again, till the sound he gets from both intakes are the same....in other words..agak agak laa..

where as, wat if he has an electronic, computerised tuner? i bet those guys overseas, even small small privateer can afford this kind of small device...or probably have the exposure to this kind of things...

i really salute our malaysians, that most of the time rely on experience and instinst only...but still can manage to stay competitive. but then, till when we wanna be just "competitive".....cucuk angin only?bau asap diorang only?

its about time la...to let others follow us pulak

but then how to achieve this, whilst the policy is restricting evrything from our reach?

just my karat 2 cents.........peace