Anyone driven Mazda Astina?

• Thread starter prolog
  • Start date
  • Replies 32
  • Views 5K
Pick up chics yeah maybe.
Unfortunately reaching the age of 25, alot of females start to see differently. They want a little bit of class. Astina is sporty yes, but it doesn't carry the corporate executive / professional look too well.
In my gfs own words asking me to buy a new car
"Any other car would be better than this car".
:(

:) hehehe!!! can't compare it with rx8, mazda3 or mazda6. Chics this day they juz want somethin new la but i still can't affort to buy this new car wawawa!!! juz maintance my ride n make it work to get chic. rite now no need chic coz already have gf hehehe!!! bump! sudah kena ikat kaki ooo :P

hehehe.. me, from bujang until now with a 2 year old son.. menten with astinaaa..

Pick up chics yeah maybe.
Unfortunately reaching the age of 25, alot of females start to see differently. They want a little bit of class. Astina is sporty yes, but it doesn't carry the corporate executive / professional look too well.
In my gfs own words asking me to buy a new car
"Any other car would be better than this car".
:(

LOL, but there are still girls like this car because of its "open eyes" headlight, it's unique nowadays, nice look:regular_smile:

Hi guys, i own a 1994 Astina. Just replaced a lot of worn out parts these few months. Now car driving reliable and confidently again hehe ... hopefully could last another 5 years hehe. the car has not really broken down or needed major repairs. Just wear and tear replacement here and there. hopefully this forum is kept alive so we can continue to talk about and monitor the surviving astinas on the road after 5 years ! Coz i won't be selling it ... rather keep and drive coz juz love it. Attached to it already .... :P also no value to sell la .. rite?

Ok what i really want to talk about and discuss with all Astina drivers out there today is ....

Fuel Consumption: RM1.92 Shell Green full tank ~ RM 78 (still got fuel in tank)
using 14" rims normal goodyear tyres
about 310km (until light come out) = KL/PJ driving incl. jams
about 400km (until light come out) = highway KL-JB

Total Engine Mileage: ~225,000+km

I drive quite spirited, always change gear at 3300rpm-3800rpm. Rarely/very rare below 2500rpm.

What i am really interested to discuss is how about all your Astinas out there?

Fuel Consumption:
Tyre Rims: (coz can affect fuelconsumption)
Driving Style: (change gear at wat rpm)
Total Engine Mileage:

Also, for me i rarely pull above 4500rpm because torque is usually flat/no power after 4300rpm ... what about you guys ? That's normal for our SOHC right? Or is it because engine is aging? Keep in mind we are discussing the NOW astina performance hehehehe , don't compare with 10 years ago.

Fuel Consumption: rm10 can get 40km+- (town driving) and 50-55km (hiway)
Tyre Rims: 15" with Bridgestones tyres on all 4..
Driving Style: depends (hehehe!) but normally between 3000 - 4000rpm
Total Engine Mileage: 203k km.. mine is 1994 Astina..

aikkk ?? why la my tank last time can fill-up to rm100++ meh ?? that one fuel really really low oredi.. still using standard 1.6 SOHC fuel tank..

I'm the threadstarter and i ended up buying Astina 4 months ago...

No problem at all so far..
Very stable at high speed
Very confortable

Fuel Consumption: 10km/L city driving, no highways
Tyre Rims: 13 stock
Driving Style: usually shift around 2500, rarely go above 4000
Total Engine Mileage: 170kkm....

The engine is 1.6 SOHC carb..

Do you suggest me to transplant to 1.8 DOHC inj or a turbo? Is it worth it? How much hassle do i have to go through?

Last edited by a moderator:
i used to owned astina. yeah it's a great car, very cun to take conner, good handling and many more. i used to layan a sharp conner at 120 kmh yet there is no problem syok wo. : )

this is one nice car...bought it about a year ago...200k++ mileage but still running good...still can top 160...saving money for a b8 180 tho...price for 91 is around 10 to 12k...go get urself one...=)

if u want an affordable and less fuel consuming, might as well go for the stock engine but injection. I found it in Jinjang half cut. I didnt enquire for the price. But if u are craving for power, BPT or BPD is the answer. Im using 1.8 turbo on my astina, and i build my car from stock standard 1.6 sohc carburetor. I think u can refer to the previous thread on the cost of converting and stuffs. JPJ, is not a hassle. I think, coz i registered mine myself with no problems at all. Just pay RM40 for the puspakom fees only... so far, Astina's body is heavier than Familia. From what i can feel. So whenever it comes to corner, Astina is much more smoother. Correct me if im wrong.
=)

I'm driving stock engine. Fuel consumption still ok ok la... for 1600cc, maybe too old already, 90' car. I heard that 1.6 sohc carb is good enough to speed? By the way, how much bhp does 1.6 shoc carb got?