american supercar

I don't think a RHD conversion makes the car lose its appeal. You might as well say RHD BMWs lose their continentalness, or RHD Ferraris lose their Italianess.

Hassle? Depends. Like I said. There are companies selling converted cars, so you don't have to go do it yourself. The high cost is a given. Taking everything into consideration, a new Vette with RHD conversion would probably still cost under 50k Pounds.

About Lambos, some multi storey carparks aren't tall enough for the doors to open fully and because it is so low, you couldn't clear a bump bigger that a pebble. So it isn't all sunshine either.

Life is full of compromises, it is.

Gallardos don't have scissors doors, now do they.

si|verfish said:
I don't think a RHD conversion makes the car lose its appeal. You might as well say RHD BMWs lose their continentalness, or RHD Ferraris lose their Italianess.

Hassle? Depends. Like I said. There are companies selling converted cars, so you don't have to go do it yourself. The high cost is a given. Taking everything into consideration, a new Vette with RHD conversion would probably still cost under 50k Pounds.

About Lambos, some multi storey carparks aren't tall enough for the doors to open fully and because it is so low, you couldn't clear a bump bigger that a pebble. So it isn't all sunshine either.

That is true. Lambos aren't built for daily drive, bread and butter car. They are supercar that ppl drive to impress, to show others how deep they pocket can be.

Speaking of supercars, Lambo Cauntach (right spelling?) have the worst rear view for its driver. The driver can't see nothing with that post-box sized slit as rear windscreen....Talk abt practicality

si|verfish said:

well u could say RHD maynot loose its appeal.. well yes if its manufacturer convertion.. custom convertion to me isnt original hence it loose some of its appeal

n u cant really use uk price to see if its worth it becoz when it comes to msia the duty for it is calculated differently.. so it might cost completely diff..

err not really.. i drove the murcielargo up a multi storey car park in mid valley before n i dint see any prob.. n the door doesnt open that tall.. the max height is the height of a normal person.. to suggest a car park does not hav the height is kinda ridiculous.. bump yes its a trouble.. but nowadays lambo has a switch where u can raise the suspention n if u drive slowly it wont be a prob

i knew u would say gallardo.. but if u seen a gallardo real life n compare it to a murcielargo.. its tiny.. its like a normal saloon (3 series).. its not that wide..

ken yeang said:
That is true. Lambos aren't built for daily drive, bread and butter car. They are supercar that ppl drive to impress, to show others how deep they pocket can be.

haha don say ppl buy lambo to impress others la.. give one to u but the condition is that u can nvr show to others would u wan one? i know i would.. haha.. its the driving experiance that makes it special..

GT3 said:
haha don say ppl buy lambo to impress others la.. give one to u but the condition is that u can nvr show to others would u wan one? i know i would.. haha.. its the driving experiance that makes it special..

Hey, i would definately want one if it is given to me!

:)

GT3 said:
err not really.. i drove the murcielargo up a multi storey car park in mid valley before n i dint see any prob.. n the door doesnt open that tall.. the max height is the height of a normal person.. to suggest a car park does not hav the height is kinda ridiculous.. bump yes its a trouble.. but nowadays lambo has a switch where u can raise the suspention n if u drive slowly it wont be a prob

i knew u would say gallardo.. but if u seen a gallardo real life n compare it to a murcielargo.. its tiny.. its like a normal saloon (3 series).. its not that wide..
Strangely, I remember that being highlighted as a problem for Lambos. Might not be the ones after the German revolution though, I'm not sure.

Have a look at this.
http://www.atspeedimages.com/paconcours_2002/lamborghini_murcielago/lamborghini_murcielago_door_open_from_front.jpg
http://www.atspeedimages.com/paconcours_2002/lamborghini_murcielago/lamborghini_murcielago_door_open_from_rear.jpg
I dunno bout you but my eyes tell me it opens at least a foot taller than a person, at the tallest point. Mid Valley parking might be swell, but some others won't. (Couldn't find one with someone actually standing right next to it)

Of course, I've never actually drove one anywhere at all, so I might have to take your word for it. I am curious how you got it up the multi storey carpark. Does it even have enough ground clearance?

And, yeah...the Gallardo is just about the size of a 360 Modena, which isn't nearly as wide as big brother but still wide for Malaysian parking bays. To be precise the new 3 series is about 71.5 inches wide and the Gallardo is 74.8 inches wide. Of course, people could live with that like they could live with an E90, wouldn't they? Maybe apart from the fact that it isn't as easy to get in and out of a Gallardo compared to the BMW, the seating position and all.

GT3 said:
I'd sell it and get something else. Unless that's a condition as well.

si|verfish said:
Strangely, I remember that being highlighted as a problem for Lambos. Might not be the ones after the German revolution though, I'm not sure.

I dunno bout you but my eyes tell me it opens at least a foot taller than a person, at the tallest point. Mid Valley parking might be swell, but some others won't. (Couldn't find one with someone actually standing right next to it)

Of course, I've never actually drove one anywhere at all, so I might have to take your word for it. I am curious how you got it up the multi storey carpark. Does it even have enough ground clearance?

And, yeah...the Gallardo is just about the size of a 360 Modena, which isn't nearly as wide as big brother but still wide for Malaysian parking bays. To be precise the new 3 series is about 71.5 inches wide and the Gallardo is 74.8 inches wide. Of course, people could live with that like they could live with an E90, wouldn't they? Maybe apart from the fact that it isn't as easy to get in and out of a Gallardo compared to the BMW, the seating position and all.

hehe well i stand beside the door of the murcielargo n i don think in msia at least there is any parking lot that is so low.. as u know most parking lot in msia at least hav the height of 2m..

well by driving very slow up the parking lots.. ground clearance was never a prob.. the width of it and the bad side visibility are things that got we worked out

hehe.. well u point it outself.. the gallardo is abt the same width like the new 3 series.. which means it wont be bigger say a murano or a 5 series.. so would it be a prob? i doubt so.. seating position.. well put it this way.. sports car are not easy to go in.. if u find urself parking in those places well park it in a way that give u jus enuff space to 'crawl' out.. but normally if u drive such high profile car.. u valet it so it wont really be a prob

GT3 said:
if u find urself parking in those places well park it in a way that give u jus enuff space to 'crawl' out.. but normally if u drive such high profile car.. u valet it so it wont really be a prob

I would never let a valet touch my car. the way they just zoom off after you leave is enough to turn any sane driver off.

(btw, the last time I parked at times square, I paid the valet and park at the reserved spot by myself:X-: )

anyways, have you been to the underground parking at Melia KL? it was horrible as far as I can remember. they had those car lifts that tilt nearly 20degrees so each storey can be used to park 2 cars, and getting both occupants out at the same time was next to impossible in a coupe.

for the ultimate covered parking-lot hump test, try driving lambo at Times Square's parking lots.....I've seen many cars get "caught" over thse humps...

si|verfish said:
Too bad we don't have kit car building culture here in Malaysia,

dare I say it, dare I say it?
jay-pee-jay!!!
and of course, the source of our current automotive policy...potong!!

kit cars...arent caterhams kit cars? I remember seeing a bunch of them.

boggysv said:
I would never let a valet touch my car. the way they just zoom off after you leave is enough to turn any sane driver off.

(btw, the last time I parked at times square, I paid the valet and park at the reserved spot by myself:X-: )

anyways, have you been to the underground parking at Melia KL? it was horrible as far as I can remember. they had those car lifts that tilt nearly 20degrees so each storey can be used to park 2 cars, and getting both occupants out at the same time was next to impossible in a coupe.

haha thats a great piece of advice.. i never been there frankly.. after ur advice i don think i will go there.. haha.. at least not in a supercar..

p/s: the drove up to mid valley was a one off.. for a car show.. i don really drive the supercars often.. in fact if i drive it i make sure there is a valet parking at the destination.. who in the right mind will wanna drive a murcielargo for shopping

ken yeang said:
for the ultimate covered parking-lot hump test, try driving lambo at Times Square's parking lots.....I've seen many cars get "caught" over thse humps...

jus wondering.. i heard alot abt those humps.. the parking lot i normally use in times square is the basement one.. are u talking abt the same one? if so yes its damn bumpy.. n can easily get caught by other cars as well not only a supercar.. but then again if drive really careful it wont be a prob..

GT3 said:
jus wondering.. i heard alot abt those humps.. the parking lot i normally use in times square is the basement one.. are u talking abt the same one? if so yes its damn bumpy.. n can easily get caught by other cars as well not only a supercar.. but then again if drive really careful it wont be a prob..

I hit it once in a stock volvo 850 wagon. was literaly crawling across those humps. that's the reason i always pay the valet/jockey for their spot after that. or just take taxi

boggysv said:
I hit it once in a stock volvo 850 wagon. was literaly crawling across those humps. that's the reason i always pay the valet/jockey for their spot after that. or just take taxi

hehe.. know what u mean.. what i forget to mention the previous post was like u i never let them drive my car (if its a supercar).. i will jus pay for the spot n park it myself.. its cheaper than having to repair the scratch part

Umm...I think we have strayed from the original topic. Let's get back to it shall we?

si|verfish said:
Umm...I think we have strayed from the original topic. Let's get back to it shall we?

glad that we are back.. another main reason is the availability of these cars.. while some of u might say if u hav the money it wont be an issue well ur right but at the sametime ur not.. u cant jus import a car to msia due to all the custom practise.. u hav to go thru channels n it is quite a hastle.. couple with the fact by the time that car gets in who knows what kind of price will it be? my guess is it wont be far off from other supercars from europe.. so given the choices (european supercar) most buyer will prefer european brand (better value n easier to lay off n tons of other benefits)

GT3 said:
glad that we are back.. another main reason is the availability of these cars.. while some of u might say if u hav the money it wont be an issue well ur right but at the sametime ur not.. u cant jus import a car to msia due to all the custom practise.. u hav to go thru channels n it is quite a hastle.. couple with the fact by the time that car gets in who knows what kind of price will it be? my guess is it wont be far off from other supercars from europe.. so given the choices (european supercar) most buyer will prefer european brand (better value n easier to lay off n tons of other benefits)
Wouldn't one be trying to get one through importers? The same people who bring in other exotica like Naza or something? I mean they would be subjected to the same procedures and the same taxes whichever way.

And the Ace up the sleeve, is this is Bolehland, where everything Boleh and everything can kaotim. All you need is money and influence.

si|verfish said:
Wouldn't one be trying to get one through importers? The same people who bring in other exotica like Naza or something? I mean they would be subjected to the same procedures and the same taxes whichever way.

And the Ace up the sleeve, is this is Bolehland, where everything Boleh and everything can kaotim. All you need is money and influence.

yea well i factored that in.. thats why i said need to get thru channels.. its not impossible but most buyers till this stage will rather hav a supercar that is better than american supercars (in terms of almost everything aside from probably the muscle car element) due the hastle n uncertainties.. more importantly the work need to get the car in arent really worth it for the brand they are bringing in.. a FORD GT for instance? (to most i believe will be like huh a ford? not a ferrari? supercars buyer care alot abt the brand as well)