Alex Yoong detail...

Originally posted by BoatOwner+Jan 15 2005, 15:56 -->
QUOTE (BoatOwner @ Jan 15 2005, 15:56 )
--QuoteBegin-extrememech
@Jan 15 2005, 01:35
spend the money to karamjit better...

what exactly has karamjit done to merit more support than alex? I don't see anything very remarkable. [/b][/quote]
He is one of leading contenders of APRC.

spend the money building small - medium racetrack in every city in malaysia better :P first can let ppl who like racing but dun wan illegaly race on street to have a proper place to race, secondly malaysia so many driver, who know there is someone better than alex yoong but never got the chance to realize his potential?

By looking at his historical races, i think he deserves a respect from everyone. He started at his early age, not many people are able to do that.

Originally posted by Joeker+Jan 15 2005, 19:34 -->
QUOTE (Joeker @ Jan 15 2005, 19:34 )
Originally posted by BoatOwner@Jan 15 2005, 15:56
--QuoteBegin-extrememech
@Jan 15 2005, 01:35
spend the money to karamjit better...

what exactly has karamjit done to merit more support than alex? I don't see anything very remarkable.

He is one of leading contenders of APRC. [/b][/quote]
he WON the PWRC and the APRC at once with an outdated car!

:P i dun wan insult alex yoong afta all he drove an F1 car be4 ma...not every 1 can ma...

BUT i wan make NOise...
y when Karajamit NO money Go to him for sponsor wan....
yoong lose but so much $$$ go in.... <_<

prev. pm trying to hard to make m`sia appear in the globe?
but he was still the bomb just trying a little too hard...

i think u guys need to be supporting the msian drivers... they are the best we've got, so u shudnt go complaining about them, unless ofcourse u think u can do better...
Alex is one of the greatest drivers ive ever had the pleasure of meeting, he's a great guy, great driver.. sure, he's probably not in the top 100 best drivers in the world, but there are so many countries in the world today which dont have any good drivers. Malaysia now has alex yoong and fairuz fauzy.. u guys shud really show them ure supports and not critisize them..

and btw, karamjit is one of the greatest rally drivers of all time.. Him and Carlos Sainz are the only two drivers ever to have won two FIA champioships in one year.. Karam won the Production World Rally Championship on his first try in an older car, which is extraudinary, and if it werent for his age, for sure he wud be in the WRC now.. Plus karam is multiple APRC champion, and many time malaysian rally champion...
show some support guys

Well i guess it takes to understand the whole situation only if u're in the motorsport fraternity that to be in the position of Alex is an extraordinary feat.
He might not be the best but still kudous to him.
Bet 99.9% of us in ZTH would not understand what is it like to drive a single seater as basic as the Formula BMW or Formula Malaysia, let alone an F1 car.
It is so demanding that u need to be superman.
U want to know what's it like to drive even the most basic of basic single seater race cars. Ask Boat owner and Ford Rungger.......

It is because of our boleh attitude but no political will to perfrom the talk the talk and walk the walk which is why we will always be in 1st base.
They did it but have u even manage to be in their shoes for even a lap or SS. I highly doubt so.
Peace

Originally posted by Joeker@Jan 15 2005, 19:34
He is one of leading contenders of APRC.
It doesn't really say much though does it.... last year there were I think 4 or 5 drivers that took part in all the rounds... with only 10 starting the final round. Saying "he is one of the competitors in APRC" is just as good. - not a very competitive rally series.

Of course he is no slouch... quite good in fact... he did take the World Production Car Championship although admittedly again he did not have much competition... with Kristian falling out of the championship due to a bit of bad luck(I'm sure karam had his share as well though). Comparing Karamjit to Sainz is quite a stretch - calling him a great just as much. The main reason i wonder why he should be getting any gov't moeny at this point is because of his age and because he is competing in a series with no proper contenders. Drivers from other countries do quite ok without a penny from their gov't.

RacingMad... I agree with you that you guys should support your drivers a lot more than most seem to. Yoong showed Mark Webber his place in a few of his last races (Indianapolis and Suzuka is i recall correctly)... i have no idea why there are comments like "he embarrassed Malaysia" and more of the like. If he was able to occasionally be on pace with the oh so great Webber - then i don't know what everyone is complaining about.

Ah and BabyGodzilla - i gotta come over and show you my new paintjob by Bell Racing Europe.

Originally posted by simplythebest@Jan 15 2005, 20:17
By looking at his historical races, i think he deserves a respect from everyone. He started at his early age, not many people are able to do that.
dude, he has the chance to start earlier because of his father. Not because he is talented.

Yoong showed Mark Webber his place in a few of his last races (Indianapolis and Suzuka is i recall correctly)... i have no idea why there are comments like "he embarrassed Malaysia" and more of the like. If he was able to occasionally be on pace with the oh so great Webber - then i don't know what everyone is complaining about

2002 F1 racing result (between Alex Yoong and Mark Webber), official result from FIA
Last 6 races

German
---------
Alex Yoong, DNQ
Mark Webber, Start at Grid 21, retired at lap 23, Hydraulics problem

Hungarian
-----------
Alex Yoong, DNQ
Mark Webber, Start at Grid 19, finish 16, 2 laps behind race winner

Belgian
---------
(Alex Yoong kena fridge, was replace by Anthony Davidson due to Alex's poor performance, double DNQ in a row, he is not taking part in race, hence no comparison)

Italian
-------
Alex Yoong, Start at Grid 20, Finish 13, 6 laps behind race winner
Mark Webber, Start at Grid 19, Retired at Lap 20, Engine electric problem

United State (Indianapolis)
-------------------------------
Alex Yoong, Start at Grid 20, Retired at Lap 46, Engine problem
Mark Webber, Start at Grif 18, Retired at Lap 38, Steering problem

Japan (Suzuka)
------------------
Alex Yoong,Start at Grid 20, Retired at Lap 14, spun off
Mark Webber, Start at Grid 19, finish 10, 2 laps behind race winner

Please enlight me which race that Alex Yoong's performane better than Mark Webber?

-----------------------------------------------------

Forummer, I'm not here to argue or criticize Alex Yoong.
In my early post, I stated that he is a lauzy driver is simply because most of the F1 drivers are faster than him in all F1 race he involved, even his teammate who is having the same car spec is constantly faster than him.
IMHO, his driving skill is not fast enough for international standard, hence I think that he can't never win in any international racing event.

-----------------------

He is the best Malaysian F1 driver we have simply because we don't have another F1 driver in our history book. Period.

------------------------

He is still fast, if you were to put him in Malaysia Go-Kart, he still can be competitive with local driver. I think now is the global village era, we shoudn't have "champion kampung" mind set anymore.

------------------------

Yes, no doubt, like what most posts stated here, most of us never drive in the open single seat formula 1 race, Yes, I do agree that we don't even know whether we can survive in the first turning and I don't even think I can operate F1 steering, so many buttons and switches on top. But it shouldn't stop us comparing Alex Yoong with other driver.

If you think that we can't criticize Alex Yoong because we don't even drive an F1 car before, then

1. If KL got flood again (after the SMART projecgt completed), don't complain goverment, DBKL and KL mayor that they never do their job properly, because you never been KL major and you know nothing about KL city development and planning. Do you think easy to calculate and predict the rain fall volume and channel water out from KL?

2. If nationwide blackout happen again, don't complain that TNBJ, goverment is not doing their job, because you never run a power plan, and you never the complecity of nationwide the power supply chain and power supply calculation work.

3. If Tsunami hit malaysia again, don't complain goverment never do anything, because you are not Tsunami expect, you are not goverment, you never know how the Tsunami alerting system work.

4. If your mobile phone got no signal, can't receive sms, always enter voice mail system, don't complain that your telcos (like Maxis, Celcom) are not doing their work, because you are not telecommunication expect, and you don't know the complex system of telecommunication system for mobile phone system

so, for those who have that kind of mindset above, you can only complain about yourself. Don't criticize others.

PEACE

Originally posted by rollakid@Jan 15 2005, 19:48
spend the money building small - medium racetrack in every city in malaysia better :P first can let ppl who like racing but dun wan illegaly race on street to have a proper place to race, secondly malaysia so many driver, who know there is someone better than alex yoong but never got the chance to realize his potential?
I agree!!!! Talk is cheap!!! :D let's go do something!! woo ho!!! :lol: hehe... soli.... I mabuk :unsure: liao...

The Malaysian racing scene is developing...Its gonna be all a different ballgame a few years from now...Heck, its even different now...And please, single-seaters are so SO SO competitive that Malaysians competing with drivers from other through-bred and race-rich nations are doing not bad...Sure we don't have a prodigy as yet, but i think Alex Yoong did show that any "Jaguh Kampung" can make it there, and for NOW, i think that matters a lot. For a nation with so little national spirit, there is a lot to prove, that there is even more people out there wanting to prove it.

While Alex's track record isn't anything to shout about, but what the heck, my respects still goes to him since he's been there and done that. I'm not gonna jsut support a Malaysian who win a lot and shun other Malaysians who loses. IMHO, thats pretty much backstabbing if u ask me. But what do i know, I'm a fan, and proud to support any M'sians who are in an international competition. And besides, i think Alex Yoong has nothing to prove to anyone at all except for himself, and his team. He's fine as it is.

Ps. i'm in no way related to friends with Alex Yoong.

Originally posted by BlackSamurai@Jan 16 2005, 04:04
Please enlight me which race that Alex Yoong's performane better than Mark Webber?
You have to watch the races.... not just the results. At both indy and suzuka(if i recall correctly) he was matching or beating Mark on pace during the races.

hmmm

well it's true that Alex Yoong did join Formula One because of our ex-PM's vision.
and to stamp our mark internationally.

he's not the best, but he's not too shabby either.

take it from REAL racing drivers who are actually posting here. (nope not me, me not that perasan :lol: :lol:)
not just plain ol' results. Results count, but not all the time.
racing counts too ;)
you've gotta be a real racer to understand that.

oh of course we have my God, Michael Schumacher as a reference point, which i honestly think not fair to others lo. :P hehehe

even in F1, we had 1-2? paying drivers (not paid to drive) in F1, one of them was a rich-daddy's son, Pedro delaRosa?
mind you, he aint shabby either. Just not the top 10 best drivers in the world.

so yes, he aint the best, but do give him credit. He does have talent and skill.
But honestly methinks he's better in a tin-top (saloon car) than an open-top..

cheers!

Originally posted by BlackSamurai@Jan 16 2005, 04:04

He is still fast, if you were to put him in Malaysia Go-Kart, he still can be competitive with local driver. I think now is the global village era, we shoudn't have "champion kampung" mind set anymore.

Alex Yoong in a kart........heard stories about that. I think he will never get into a kart again for competition. Friendly VIP race yes.......

Still, when he got into a Porsche, those regular Porsche Carrera Cup racers like Marsh and Charles Kwan still couldn't catch him.

I think if he did not have the "short cuts", he could have been a better driver. His days in F3 and F3000 didn't justify an F1 seat. Maybe he should have spent a few more years in F3 or F3000 to attempt to win something there first.

Originally posted by OSFlanker@Jan 16 2005, 23:54
Still, when he got into a Porsche, those regular Porsche Carrera Cup racers like Marsh and Charles Kwan still couldn't catch him.

I think if he did not have the "short cuts", he could have been a better driver. His days in F3 and F3000 didn't justify an F1 seat. Maybe he should have spent a few more years in F3 or F3000 to attempt to win something there first.
OSFlanker

yup! i was in the next pit with Alex, we kept looking at his times for fun la (and to see if he's actually fast or...worst)

he did pretty decent times, damn friggin' fast in the WET and when he just got there for testing. Wasn't even wearing his driving shoes, just his running sneakers.

Craig Albon bettered him (i think) but it was the Carrera Cup Euro Champion/runner up that really set the pace with blistering times in the BSA Porsche GT3......... :blink:

He qualified pretty damn well amongst these Porsche race regulars (and FRONT runners/Champions too..wtf!)

oh well,
yes, some of the shortcuts done werent his wishes, methinks. Politics played a big part..

As a "CAR" racer as in Saloon cars and production racing i feel it is his forte.
But karting and single seater....
I'll leave it to the floor.
But end of the day he has paved the way for future Malaysian drivers to emulate him and to stive to be better than him and to avoid all his pitfalls and flaws.