Air Intake!!! Comparison over at Honda Tech forum.

ace79

Was just looking around Honda Tech's forum on air intakes, here's the link : http://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1194241&page=1 the AEM intake ( not sure whether they're talking about the V2 or Hybrid versions ) makes better power compared to the J's Racing air intake. I am interested to fit Racecraft's CF intake ( which is the same as J's Racing ), as it is locally available and not very hard to fit. AEM's intake, however, seems to make more power, but it is quite a hassle to fit, the link : http://www.hondaswap.com/features/2004/12/aem-hybrid-intake-install.php and the fear of having hydrolock ( tau la Malaysia, rains and then hot, dry days and then tau2 aje, mlm2 ujan laie!! ) is a negating factor here. BTW, AEM is sold in Singapore over at McWell Ventures at Paya Ubi, also another place I forgot, prolly can check AEM's website. I have thought out something, fit the Racecraft whale penis intake, make your own heatshield, or maybe a box of somekind, and then go buy some ducts to let the air flow from the bumper to the filter, via a hole at the heatshield. How's that? And maybe change the filter to Apexi's dual funnel too...

sure can la...nice ducts can be bought anywhere.
own heatshield also can make.....haha....u got the money,u can make anything happen...

oit, when wanna belanja me minum?

AEM is the BEST C.A.I I've ever used ...PERIOD !!!!!! I regretted selling it off in return for Racecraft CF Intake. Now back to OEM.

Dun worry about rain when it comes to AEM. The Version 2 models and onwards comes with a "water catch tank" that'll prevent hydrolock. It's not a hassle to fix, just takes a bit longer to fix than the CF intake.

TADA!!!

AEM air intake solution can now be found in AVANTGARDE, drop by if you guys interested in knowing more or purchasing!!

xxxx said:
sure can la...nice ducts can be bought anywhere.
own heatshield also can make.....haha....u got the money,u can make anything happen...

oit, when wanna belanja me minum?

chibet lu, come to my place la, the we go yamcha nearby!!! don't worry, i'll even belanja lu maggi goreng also can!

crower75 said:
AEM is the BEST C.A.I I've ever used ...PERIOD !!!!!! I regretted selling it off in return for Racecraft CF Intake. Now back to OEM.

Dun worry about rain when it comes to AEM. The Version 2 models and onwards comes with a "water catch tank" that'll prevent hydrolock. It's not a hassle to fix, just takes a bit longer to fix than the CF intake.

They come with a water catch tank or is it a release valve? version two? there's a few units AEM produces, dunno which one is for our application. maybe the Hybrid version perhaps?

crower75 said:
The nearest distributor is in Singapore ....... Sing Dollah summore iisskk
i forgot how much they sell it. i did went to their shop at Paya Ubi last time, also got throttle bodies ( forgot la the brand ) but certainly cheaper from Toda's version, and plenty of other AEM stuffs.

zero4 said:
TADA!!!

AEM air intake solution can now be found in AVANTGARDE, drop by if you guys interested in knowing more or purchasing!!
how muchie $$$ are we talking about here? what type / version of AEM intake is sold there?

crower75 : which type of AEM intake did u use bfr? Comments ( especially when driving thru flooded roads? u knowlah, KayEll... )

I used the Ver2..blue kaler one with ceramic coating inside (that's AEM's trademark, no need for heatwrap).

At first ofcourse la a bit takut when going through muddles, water filled potholes and such but then I found it to be no problem at all. Then the real test came. The road infront of the National Liblary in Jln Tun Razak always gets flooded..i mean REALLY flooded. Dropped to 1st gear before going through the flood and whizzed through just fine without any sluggish response.

The thing that I like most about AEM is that it's CAI. We all know how different it feels when driving at nite when the air is colder (more dense). You could get almost the same effect by using AEM's CAI during daytime.

Besides CAI, AEM oso has adjustable cam pulleys, fuel rail and like u said, TBody, but their most reliable part so far is the CAI. For the rest, try SkUnK2 hehehe

zero4 said:
TADA!!!

...wher's Avantgarde actually?...one of these days i might jalan2 ther....

its very nice la how u put it mr crower..aem paid u????hahah..i oso will go to avantgarde..tomolo if not so bz..

crazy4honda said:
its very nice la how u put it mr crower..aem paid u????hahah..i oso will go to avantgarde..tomolo if not so bz..

dun forget to order your SkUnK2 parts from me kay heheheheh

AEM's Air Bypass Valve Test link : http://www.sportcompactcarweb.com/tech/0104scc_tested/index.html quite interesting I would say. Prolly a AEM Hybrid Intake system would cost about RM 700.00 and above, eh? And this air bypass valve thingy would cost at least RM 100.00. Installation ( which required removing the front bumper and changing some bolts near the engine area, link : http://www.hondaswap.com/features/2004/12/aem-hybrid-intake-install.php ) will costs about, let's say about RM 70 - 100.00. One would easily spend at least RM1k for this alone. But the advantages that you get from it ( well, especially for those who have changed cams and ported heads, which I presume, many VTEC owners here would have done! hehehe.. ) is well worth it!

crower75 said:
dun forget to order your SkUnK2 parts from me kay heheheheh

wah..skunk2 dealer ke??u wait la till i convert to manual or change my car..then i do some shopping with u...as long as my car is 71 bhp is enough..so that i can potong itu eg9..

Installation can DIY la bro....the tricky part is removing the OEM funnel from the bumper which requires to front bumper to be removed and also the mudguard. But the response u get out of it is really something else....summore great if you couple AEM with SkUnK2 Stage 1 Cam and Pulley....

If u're serious about buying AEM CAI, dun forget to buy it's cleaning agent as well...cost about RM200+ but u enuff to use it for a year

crower75 said:
Installation can DIY la bro....the tricky part is removing the OEM funnel from the bumper which requires to front bumper to be removed and also the mudguard. But the response u get out of it is really something else....summore great if you couple AEM with SkUnK2 Stage 1 Cam and Pulley....

If u're serious about buying AEM CAI, dun forget to buy it's cleaning agent as well...cost about RM200+ but u enuff to use it for a year

thats is what im so lazy about..putting the funnel..remove the bumper la,tebuk sana sini..wanna go to avantgarde to survey oni..got 300 oni can buy the aem????hahaha..survey than start collecting money...heheh....Skunk2 stage 1 cam & pulley<---long way to gooo..must be ribu ribu nih

crazy4honda said:
thats is what im so lazy about..putting the funnel..remove the bumper la,tebuk sana sini..wanna go to avantgarde to survey oni..got 300 oni can buy the aem????hahaha..survey than start collecting money...heheh....Skunk2 stage 1 cam & pulleyQUOTE]

ofcos la friend....want cheap cheap stuff can go and ask Wai Heng exhaust to fabricate it heheheheh gerenti takde tipu punya.....1 sen pun tak tambah.....hahahah