Air Filter Installation

yeap... there are alot of fake K&N filter out there..
jz make sure their shop is an authorised dealer for K&N filters...

authorized 1

my apexi filter come with box 1....inside got japanese manual few pages

got the code also 500-A021

people got shop le......tipu.....tak takut customers runtukan meh......

ok btw how to see fake and genuine K&N?

any way to define it?

better safe than sorry.....haha

Well i am driving a wira 1.5 auto fuel injection
After long consideration, i have changed to an open pod filter
I was in a very tight budget
So bought it from Brother's
Bought the Taiwan Simota filter for RM38
The metal intake pipe for RM90
And installation was RM15
I can't really feel any increase in power
But i can really hear the loud noise, it makes me "think" the car is powerful
When i step on the pedal, the engine sound is way louder
When i release the pedal, i can feel a sudden decrease in power
But i dont hear any sound of air rushing back out
But the good thing is that i can start my car easily
Saved a lot of money as that day a guy tried to sell me the filter set
He charged me RM250 for a Taiwan filter, metal piping n workmanship
I did it in Brother's for only RM143

So what will be the main difference if i change to K&N, Apexi, Monza.....
Will the sound be nicer?

actually that one is change for nicer look onli .... get a better brand ... recomended K&N ..... got difference in acceleration .....

tuckz said:
So what will be the main difference if i change to K&N, Apexi, Monza.....
Will the sound be nicer?

wah, wat will be the main difference u ask ? hahahahaa.. omg.

fren, u think the price difference between K&N, Apexi, Blitz, HKS, Jackson Racing, etc. air filter and Brother's Taiwan Simota, etc. airfilters is the sound only??

if juz the sound only i would rather juz buy Brother's airfilter already n enjoy the "sound" only. :rofl:

ok la jokes aside, i dunno about the "sound" difference la, but of course the real deal performs better / better airflow than the ones at Brother's or imitations..

but since u were on a tight budget n decide to go wid the cheaper one.. well, what u pay is wat u get. :regular_smile:

erm...there is difference effect for each brand of filter..

let's take my car for example....im used Blitz open port before...so far so good la coz din try other brand filter.....

so after few months found one 6" KNN open port and i installed it to my car n took out the Blitz....the response n performance is better...u can feel it....

so i SOLD my blitz...hehe:X-:

huakenny said:
erm...there is difference effect for each brand of filter..

let's take my car for example....im used Blitz open port before...so far so good la coz din try other brand filter.....

so after few months found one 6" KNN open port and i installed it to my car n took out the Blitz....the response n performance is better...u can feel it....

so i SOLD my blitz...hehe:X-:

maybe coz ur blitz filter dirty ady leh bro.. heheee.. :cyclops:

apexi i dunno but now many ppl using K&N ma ...... most popular ..... my bro using TAKLUM ..... but cannot find in malaysia .... for him he said the best ..... i dunno but most ppl here recomend K&N

SkYwAlKeR said:
jeng jeng jeng...
http://mkiv.com/techarticles/filters_test/2/index.html

lol this site again......haha i also buy according to that site lo......Apexi most clean and most HP gained........but those all is open port right? Apexi only open port while K&N got drop in also.....

other brand such as apexi and hks also got drop-in filter element... but not so popular compare to k&n drop-ins lar... thats why they concentrate more on marketing open-port filters....

haha ya ah sky?

how do Apexi drop in looks like? haha seriously wanna take a look curious....so do HKS beside the mushroom head

1 big mushroom head drop in......lol looks like the CENDAWAN in mario bross?

gohkokeng said:
haha ya ah sky?

how do Apexi drop in looks like? haha seriously wanna take a look curious....so do HKS beside the mushroom head

1 big mushroom head drop in......lol looks like the CENDAWAN in mario bross?

go ENEOUS and see urself with ur eyes how HKS drop-in look like...

I have a wira 1.5 auto fuel injection
Dont want to change engine
So i guess not much ways to mod it
The only things will be air filter and muffler
So if branded filters can really increase performance, then it is worth the shot
But honestly, to all of you who have changed, do you think its worth it?
Can u really feel the significant change in power?
If everyone thinks it is worth it, den i will start saving (Coz im still a student ler)
Den get an Apexi filter
Im staying in SS2, PJ
Where to get the cheapest Apexi filter?

tuckz said:
I have a wira 1.5 auto fuel injection
Dont want to change engine
So i guess not much ways to mod it
The only things will be air filter and muffler
So if branded filters can really increase performance, then it is worth the shot
But honestly, to all of you who have changed, do you think its worth it?
Can u really feel the significant change in power?
If everyone thinks it is worth it, den i will start saving (Coz im still a student ler)
Den get an Apexi filter
Im staying in SS2, PJ
Where to get the cheapest Apexi filter?

mine is carburetor....i get my whole set RM260

yours injection i duno how the set would be.....

gohkokeng said:
mine is carburetor....i get my whole set RM260

yours injection i duno how the set would be.....
i think 4 efi dun hv much diff la in price.
just a 'liittle' expensive.may b.
correct me if i'm wrong.:_:

If my current filter setup is like det
Must i add adapter for the Apexi filter?
Wira 1.5 EFI auto
Thanks sifus
Finally decided to go for Apexi
Shoiuld not have wasted money on those Simota immitations