Air Filter Installation

But after those months or years of filtration, the dirt should be deep down inside the elements edi
So i dont know if hair dryer will be strong enough
Anyone sure that we cant use water?
Someone can try some experiments but it will surely be costly
If it is maintenance free but have life span, den really costly lor
So i guess till now, nobody knows the right way to clean it

The Power Intake is the premier air filter designed to create pure horsepower. The intake funnels used in racing machines take advantage of a characteristic where air travels along the side of the side of surfaces. However, the center portion of the funnel is virtually unused. It is this concept that gave birth to the Dual Funnel design. A primary funnel on the top portion of the air cleaner was inserted to channel the air flow directly into the lower funnels at the base of the cleaner. This design was a huge success on the former Super Intake model. The Power Intake took this design and improved the flow characteristics. New funnel design, element material and air flow channeling characteristics make the Power Intake one of the most efficient air cleaners on the market today. By constructing the upper and lower funnel from a highly durable injected resin, engineers were able to construct the ideal shaped funnel previously not possible with the stainless steel material. Funnel shapes focused on increasing air speed without changing the flow direction of the intake air. The result is a high speed and smooth flow of air into the intake. The lower funnel has been engineered at a 14 degree curve for maximum efficiency. Also, the lower funnel position has been made even closer to the base of the cleaner to reduce drag and eliminate any “dead spots” within the cleaner.

The Power Intake incorporates a newly developed material (layer filter of dry density fibers) which improves the element density. This allows maximum protection from foreign materials entering the engine. Compared with past model, the Power Intake has also succeeded in decreasing its ventilation resistance by about 10% (pressure loss) for maximum performance and protection. The Power Intake is dry-type filter and is trouble free. Some of the problems associated with wet type cleaners, such as oil sticking to the air flow meter, are a thing of the past. The Power Intake is basically maintenance free. Filter replacement, when necessary, can be done at a very low cost.

lol we just need "The Power Intake is basically maintenance free. Filter replacement, when necessary, can be done at a very low cost." this sentence only hahahahaha tykoh

ok how to replace the RED COLOR FILTER thing? is there such thing to sell?

or u meant buy another FILTER replace without need to buy again carb intake pipe + adapter + rubber connector? lol.......this is very low cost that mentioned?

gohkokeng said:
lol we just need "The Power Intake is basically maintenance free. Filter replacement, when necessary, can be done at a very low cost." this sentence only hahahahaha tykoh

ok how to replace the RED COLOR FILTER thing? is there such thing to sell?

or u meant buy another FILTER replace without need to buy again carb intake pipe + adapter + rubber connector? lol.......this is very low cost that mentioned?

Got replacement filter wo... its selling wo... check apexi website....

http://www.apexi-usa.com/product_suction_detail.asp?id=166&pageNum=1

tykoh u meant this 1 "500-A021 Power Intake Replacement Filter (Filter Only) 80mm - May require use of Apex Apapter"

if so......lol that's called replacing liao

hahahahaaa... what a smart way of marketing their product online ..... at first sound like no need replace, or only "replace with a small fee" ... then later only realize u still have to replace the whole thing.. LOL ! smart smart..

i think that's why K&N is much more expensive than apex'i loh...cause K&N can wash & reoil, so it's almost really can use for your lifetime loh...

yeah yeah... but apexi also can wash mar... but not vr clean lor... K&N can wash till like brand new... thats why i go for 2nd hand K&N filter... after rewash and reoil, like brand new, for half the price... muahahahaha....

goh, i visit redline motorsport last saturday to find air ram(or inlet piping) and the apex'i filter for my car, but too bad the shop don't have suitable air ram for my car...finally decided to continue my diy plan use PVC pipe haha....other the filter and air breather from the guy at marketplace liao...i think the good will arrive on wednesday haha...then have to wait my friend to do the piping for me...hopefully within this month can finish my setup lah...

Erichhl how u feel that place? hahaha u really go looking for that shop?

btw i asked the shop again for K&N drop in for 12V Carburetor Saga/Iswara ......this time is RM255 already.......hahahaha i told him last time u charge me only about RM160+

he reply......."oh no no that price no more already......if other places still offer u this price u better faster buy it".....he said "we follow the market price one"

hahahaha........hai seh.......i was thinking to buy another K&N Drop in to try if it still RM160+

Erichhl any interesting things else that shop has?

that place ah....soooo far away from kepong lucky that day no traffic jam...yaloh since the price is cheap haha.. i saw a lot of air filter and arospeed product there.
why still wanna try drop in ah? i thought open pod is better lah...

Erichhl, wat car r u driving?
Why hard to find for the air ram?
You planning to use APEXi dual funnel open pod filter?
Maybe u can state den we might know where to find the air ram

Yes i'm sure i'll use Apex'i liao cause order with somebody from "engine & performance" thread price rm180 for the air filter only. I'm Driving Toyota Collora SE(AE92) engine code 4A-F (carburator) i try seach many accesories shop they only have air ram for proton car... my carb inlet in round type around 2.5". I'm thinking of custom made the adapter for the inlet then use those 3" air ram for EFI car. But don't know where can do this. The redline motorsport's boss told me maybe can try proton 8valve carb air ram but not sure can fit or not and it's out of stock at the moment.

aiyo....
like det itz quite difficult
proton easy to find ler
i guess if that's the case. have to custom make also

haha that redline motorsport boss quite good......i bought the Apexi filter set there......then next time visit him.....ask for sticker.....haha cause i said last time bought Apexi forgot to ask along......then he give me.......hahahaha

go there buy nothing but take sticker....and windows shopping

today go to my friend's exhaust shop near damansara damai, he help me to custom made the air ram for my apex'i air filter... haha now install already tomorrow will clean the carb and test the new setup...

Happy testing
Coz i was quite happy with it
Good investment