Air-con problem. Need some cold air..

DJ-LanEvo3

I recently did my air con service... ( I supposed to do it much earlier but..)

refilled the gas as well.. then it seemed ok

Everything is ok but. it seemed quite noisy... I can roughly hear the gas sound..

sounds like it goes through some pipie or something... ke~~~~~ki~su~

then gone... and come again and gone...

well.. it still works ok.. maybe it will be gone soon...

but somehow the noise getting louder and come up continuosely...

and most importantly no cold air..

I went back to work shop.. air con man said.. upper hose leaks..
(there are 2 hoses which from compressor side to near radiator front side)

ok.. I changed it.. and refill the gas again... it seemed ok..

in 2 days... -.-;;; same problem again..

I went back to workshop.. and he said the hose I changed leaks..

He changed the hose and refill the gas again...

And now.. it happened again.. within 2 days...

same symptoms.. the gas sound gettting louder and no cold air...

hahah.. it's really really irritating.. anyone can give me any advice?

DJ-LanEvo3 said:
I recently did my air con service... ( I supposed to do it much earlier but..)

refilled the gas as well.. then it seemed ok

Everything is ok but. it seemed quite noisy... I can roughly hear the gas sound..

sounds like it goes through some pipie or something... ke~~~~~ki~su~

then gone... and come again and gone...

well.. it still works ok.. maybe it will be gone soon...

but somehow the noise getting louder and come up continuosely...

and most importantly no cold air..

I went back to work shop.. air con man said.. upper hose leaks..
(there are 2 hoses which from compressor side to near radiator front side)

ok.. I changed it.. and refill the gas again... it seemed ok..

in 2 days... -.-;;; same problem again..

I went back to workshop.. and he said the hose I changed leaks..

He changed the hose and refill the gas again...

And now.. it happened again.. within 2 days...

same symptoms.. the gas sound gettting louder and no cold air...

hahah.. it's really really irritating.. anyone can give me any advice?

Hahahahaha. It happened to me before also. 2 times refueling air-cond gas, after 2-3 days, habis !. And u can also notice that the excess aircond-water yg keluar kat bawah engine is much2 a a lot, compare to normal (whenever u park your car, u can see the aircond water come-out from the bottom of the engine or lower compartment is a lot). & somomore, bunyi like 'boiling water', right?.

IT's due to leaking cooling coil. U need to change to a new one. If u driving proton, i think the $$$ not so expensive la. Me last time kena around RM830 (For Honda Euro R). Really damn expensive!!

im sure it's ur inner car cooling coil leak lioa...

i can tampal balik or get a new one

Better buy a new one. Cause nanti, kalau tampal, leaking balik, $$$ lagi. If u using normal gas, it's ok lah. It's about Rm10 per top-up only. If r34 gas, hmmm. RM30 beb. Plus labor charges sommore!.

But better do, unless u can stands the current hot & windy season.!

p/s :- If u in S. Alam, i can recommend u a kedai la. No so cheap, not so expensive. No credit card charge also. But, workmanship ok. A lot of org2 tua (especially malay senior citizen) went there (Sect. 17). So far, as for me, i could say.. no 'kencing2' punya. Owned by an Indian (modern Indian!)

Hmmm, air cond system is not so easy dude, its a confirm leak alright but not necesarily the cooling coil that leaked.. there are lots of other places that can leak.. some time its just a spoilt o ring that is the culprit.. judging from the way it sounds (hissing sound getting louder and lose pressure in 2 days) its a big leak.. not the small hole kind but a really big one..

However, its not that easy to check where is the place that leaked.. if u go to normal shop, they will have to dismantle ur air cond component one by one and test it manually (submerge into a water tank to check for bubble one part to another).. go to a shop with cfc detector.. its a divise to check for air cond gas leak.. a leak as big as urs can be pin point in no time..

a litle story of my own experience few months back.. myself living in subang.. i did my acond service at a shop in s alam.. found my cooling coil leaked, so have it changed.. after one week the hissing sound started so i'm sure theres a leak somewhere. suspect the new coil leaked lo.. went to the same shop and checked.. coil ok, piping ok, then he touch the compressor have a little oil.. terus say that my compressor leak.. man.. that bugger want me to believe it just like that, it could be coming from my engine oil or something.. a compressor is rm 4xx boo... my friend later recomend me a shop in kajang with the detector.. so i went there and checked.. he uses the detector and later found its one of the valve.. have it changed but in about the same period a cond kong again.. this time checked and found that its the compressor after all.. now my car acond working flawlessly for more than 3 months liau..

Morale of the story.. eventhough the shop at kajang also leads to the same end result (compressor kong).. its the confident that matters.. if change compressor at the 1st shop and later still acond kong.. than rm 4xx will fly for the compressor, plus few hundred more for the real part that leak.. damn.. so go and find a shop with the detector loh.. its fact and figures, not rough estimation..

hahaha, writen a long essay oledi.. hope u can get it solved DJ-lan evo

cay6379 said:
what the loc of the shop...kind interested:)

Section 17, Jupiter Aircond. So far, for me ok.
What Tajulsan said is true, better go & check first.

aja said:
Section 17, Jupiter Aircond. So far, for me ok.
What Tajulsan said is true, better go & check first.

ok Thanks everyone.. I just sent my car there and

ger repaired.. I wasn there to watch it this time...

I hope it wouldn cause me any further trouble anymore.

Air-cond system comprises of 3 main items
1. Condenser,
2. Compressor
3. Evaporator (cooling coil)

and few supporting components to make it work efficiently like

4. Aircond Blower
5. Air-cond Condenser Fan
6. Receiver Drier @ Filter
7. Expansion Valve.

Many shop say u have to service aircond every year but many people say (especially wira drivers) no need. they will say since new until 5 years also never rosak one.

Well, this depends on the design itself. Some cars are designed with pollen filters at the cooling coil thus, protecting it from dust. But some cars have the blower sucking air from the front floor carpet and if the floor is not maintained clean, chances that the cooling coil got dirty is very high. once the dust stick to the fins of the cooling coil, it became ice whenever the temperature got so cold and therefore blown air cannot go through. It is in this condition that u wont feel like air coming out from dash air vents though already switched to full blast!

To solve this is easy, remove the cooling coil and clean it with special solvent. But to remove it u need to release gas (normally vacuumed and recharged). and before u refill the gas, it is advisable to replace the receiver drier and expansion valve as well as they are both wear and tear items.

In your case, I strongly believe the workshop did not replace the expansion valve thus gave way soon after. I do not have the explanation as to why air-cond system have this penyakit berjangkit syndrome (meaning this month u repair this, next month different item kondem..no air-cond again).

But my self kena olredi this penyakit berjangkit...end of last year til beginning of the year (duration of 4 months)....at first
1. changed the magnetic clutch at the compressor due to burnt
2. then condenser leak, replaced
3. then air-cond sometimes not cold; found gas overfilled and vacuumed before recharged again.
4. then compressor leaked, overhauled..just RM120.
5. lasted few weeks before one of the O ring at the suction pipe leak, replaced F.O.C.
6. then compressor condemned again..DAMN! workshop did not recommend overhaul, but instead use a rebuild one. until now olredi 3 months and still going on.

that is my sad story, but really cannot tahan without air-cond even night driving. suffer due to loss of use and spending that money when i can use for other things.

zan said:
Air-cond system comprises of 3 main items
1. Condenser,
2. Compressor
3. Evaporator (cooling coil)

and few supporting components to make it work efficiently like

4. Aircond Blower
5. Air-cond Condenser Fan
6. Receiver Drier @ Filter
7. Expansion Valve.

Many shop say u have to service aircond every year but many people say (especially wira drivers) no need. they will say since new until 5 years also never rosak one.

Well, this depends on the design itself. Some cars are designed with pollen filters at the cooling coil thus, protecting it from dust. But some cars have the blower sucking air from the front floor carpet and if the floor is not maintained clean, chances that the cooling coil got dirty is very high. once the dust stick to the fins of the cooling coil, it became ice whenever the temperature got so cold and therefore blown air cannot go through. It is in this condition that u wont feel like air coming out from dash air vents though already switched to full blast!

To solve this is easy, remove the cooling coil and clean it with special solvent. But to remove it u need to release gas (normally vacuumed and recharged). and before u refill the gas, it is advisable to replace the receiver drier and expansion valve as well as they are both wear and tear items.

In your case, I strongly believe the workshop did not replace the expansion valve thus gave way soon after. I do not have the explanation as to why air-cond system have this penyakit berjangkit syndrome (meaning this month u repair this, next month different item kondem..no air-cond again).

But my self kena olredi this penyakit berjangkit...end of last year til beginning of the year (duration of 4 months)....at first
1. changed the magnetic clutch at the compressor due to burnt
2. then condenser leak, replaced
3. then air-cond sometimes not cold; found gas overfilled and vacuumed before recharged again.
4. then compressor leaked, overhauled..just RM120.
5. lasted few weeks before one of the O ring at the suction pipe leak, replaced F.O.C.
6. then compressor condemned again..DAMN! workshop did not recommend overhaul, but instead use a rebuild one. until now olredi 3 months and still going on.

that is my sad story, but really cannot tahan without air-cond even night driving. suffer due to loss of use and spending that money when i can use for other things.

For the first of all, thank u for ur comment.

I already changed the filter and one hose (leaking one)

and took out all the components (inclusive cooling coil)

and clean them out nicely....

but the thing is...

New weird sound from the cooling coil side..

sounds like.. chi~~~~~~~it and stop and chi~~~~~~ it

stop... mechanic said it's normal, gas is rotating and there is

one spring there compressed and released.. so the sound

comes from it.. but I don have such a sound before the

service... I can hear something is slightly vabrating inside of

my car especailly when I press the gas pedal...

I already spent RM400 for service the air con take out cooling

coil. refill the gas and the thingy inside and oh changed the

one hose bcuz it was leaking..

what now... it's time for me to change compressor...

he said reconed compressor price around RM3-500... scary...

any good idea? I just changed tires, did alignment + camber

adjustment..

it cost me RM600... wow... spent RM1000 is not enough to

solve all my worries but.. gotta change compressor again...

damn.... Help!!!!

use till rosak baru cakap lar
dun need to worry so much

old car sure got sound wan

Have to check also i think... Weird sound in car is always an early alarm for big damage.. just my point of view anyway..

Sorry dude.. Shah alam is bit ... distance is ok but

I have no idea how to go..

I can't stand with this hot condition anymore...

Anyone please let me know.... ur work shop

that I can get brand new one either re conditioned one

or if they can fix my compressor.. then most welcomed..

I preferred Sunway either Subang area...

umm... same here ...sad case afterall ... its all started 1/2 years ago .

1st trip when air cond not feeling cool to the work shop ..they just fill in gas and ask me

to "jalan and c "
2nd trip after 3 days : the same work shop say "oh ..had to stay overnite and chk"
and again ... cold for few days .....
3rd trip after 2 week : they took out everything and "service" .... state that compressor is still running fine ....ummm....
4 trip after 1 week : they told me the compressor gong ..had to change ...i was like ..aiya ...once and for all .....
5th trip ..... after 2 week.... bring back .... they found out that one of the screw is not tighten...ummm.... fill in the gas ...
6 trip after 1 month of no aircond : bring back ... yes .... the re cond compressor "gong" ... wah la...change ....again ....
7 trip after ummm... 1 month : car overnite again to "check".. they change air cond gas ...and ask me jalan and c...
8 trip: yes ..their smart brain tell me .... umm.... change all the valve and hose....
9 trip after 2 week : yes .... they discover new thingy for me to change again ...the " air cond fan".... ummm.... another cost ...
trip number ...10..... i bring the car to another workshop .... 2 hours and the air cond work perfectly......

Y???? BECAUSE THOSE MORON FILL UP MY AIR COND WITH "AIR COND OIL" .... all the gas stuck inside the hose and won't rotating nor compress....
i guess i already spend 1k ++++ ...for the air cond ....

so my biggest advice for u guys ....if u r going to change compressor ... buy NEW.... value to money ....

GAME_OVER said:
umm... same here ...sad case afterall ... its all started 1/2 years ago .

1st trip when air cond not feeling cool to the work shop ..they just fill in gas and ask me

to "jalan and c "
2nd trip after 3 days : the same work shop say "oh ..had to stay overnite and chk"
and again ... cold for few days .....
3rd trip after 2 week : they took out everything and "service" .... state that compressor is still running fine ....ummm....
4 trip after 1 week : they told me the compressor gong ..had to change ...i was like ..aiya ...once and for all .....
5th trip ..... after 2 week.... bring back .... they found out that one of the screw is not tighten...ummm.... fill in the gas ...
6 trip after 1 month of no aircond : bring back ... yes .... the re cond compressor "gong" ... wah la...change ....again ....
7 trip after ummm... 1 month : car overnite again to "check".. they change air cond gas ...and ask me jalan and c...
8 trip: yes ..their smart brain tell me .... umm.... change all the valve and hose....
9 trip after 2 week : yes .... they discover new thingy for me to change again ...the " air cond fan".... ummm.... another cost ...
trip number ...10..... i bring the car to another workshop .... 2 hours and the air cond work perfectly......

Y???? BECAUSE THOSE MORON FILL UP MY AIR COND WITH "AIR COND OIL" .... all the gas stuck inside the hose and won't rotating nor compress....
i guess i already spend 1k ++++ ...for the air cond ....

so my biggest advice for u guys ....if u r going to change compressor ... buy NEW.... value to money ....

air cond fill up with R134 or gas mah..
compresor with air cond oil mah..
they terbalik ar?

i hope they never take ur car out and drift when u leave there overnite