Advise on HU

kurtlim

I just upgrade my HU to Pioneer DEH-3850MPH. it sounds great, nothing to complains here. but the control, i had to dig deep into the menu just to pause or repeat and i can't even find the balance(maybe its there somewhere but i can't seems to find it), the number button 1-6 are useless in CD playback, unlike the older HU.

the shop that i bought the pioneer recommend JVC cause it has motorise face, direct track button, 24bit DAC(should be 24bit resolution 1bit DAC), front pre-out(not sure), one button CD eject...and said he had sold many of this model--KD-G515 to malaysian--its a shop in Singapore SLT--never get any complaint. from the Spec, KD-G615 looks more promising with its Burr-Brown 1 Bit DAC.

the HU looks cool with the big rotary control and shinny black. I always prefer Pioneer sound though but after using the 3850, i find the light blue background display a little difficult to read. unlike the other version sold in AU and US, why can't we get these instead? http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/smilies/MSN%20SMILIES/angry.png

DEH-P4850MPH, sold locally

http://www.suchartsound.co.th/images/newproduct/pioneer_deh-p4850mph-l.jpg

DEH-P4850MP, sold in AU

http://www.pioneer.com.au/images/products/DEH-P4850MP_ES.jpg

DEH-P4800MP. sold in US

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pio/pe/images/portal/cit_3442/291048449DEH-4800MP_lg.jpg

Pioneer/JVC owner wanna share your experience? TIA. :)

JVC... i bought for my dad one... forgot the model dy... but only CD one la... so far no complaint about skip disc or rejected disc unless the disc is really scratched badly liao...

"24bit DAC(should be 24bit resolution 1bit DAC)" dun quite understand la...

some of the pioneer models are meant for asian market and some are for the european market. I had a 4560 last time and changed to Kenwood KDC x7529 and since never looked back.

I dont know about JVC but it has never been discussed about their HU in the US forums. But if you want a value for money try and look and the kenwood HU.

Now im using JVC CD/MP3 player model kd405. sound quality is not bad for it price, currently can play all type of cd's, no effect for minor vibrate, so far it worth for my money, but looking for alpine HU for next time upgrade.

Does the Hu come with remote? As the direct Pause button is from the remote. The balance/fader is from the button Audio(press few times until you get it)

i was told tht kenwood lens dun like pirated cd and cd-r izzit? cuz last time wanted to get the kenwood KDC x7529 but someone told me bout this then get pioneer... but never regret bout it also la..

cheers...

Thanks for the infos. :)

craziechild: the JVC DAC is 1bit or single bit, the resolution is 24bit--actually all CDDA 16bit, the JVC 1bit DAC re-quantisation the 16bit resolution to 24bit...there are 24bit, 18bit, 20bit DAC, but these are so called multi bit DAC, some of the 24bit DAC may be able to upsampling the 16bit/44.1KHz to 24bit/96KHz, blah blah blah..these are the DAC design, not to be confuse with the resolution....nevermind them, its the DAC quality that count. :) read http://www.ee.washington.edu/conselec/CE/kuhn/onebit/primer.htm if you wanna know more about single bit DAC.

kyheng: yeah, the remote controller does have the ATT and pause button. but its kind of dumb not to have them on the HU itself, i mean we are the driver and the HU is just beside us and we have to find the controller just to perform these simple function?

as the the balance, i just found it after playing for hours--its with the fader function. btw, I've read the manual many time, it said i have to press the function to get the pre-out option. but its not there! anyone knows why?

thanks.
TIA

You should off the HU first, then hold the Function button for 5 second is not mistaken. Then it will come out clock, press the function button few times then you will get it.

kyheng said:
You should off the HU first, then hold the Function button for 5 second is not mistaken. Then it will come out clock, press the function button few times then you will get it.

i see, will try it out tomorrow.

thanks for the tips. :shades_smile: