Adjusting BOV

jinkl said:
blur_civic
if u r on a budget
go to millenium , get their bov , can withstand 1.7bar , its 200+ plus only , sound like r2d2

ok man.. tanks for the tip.. :) will check it out..

Monza SSQV imitation HKS.. 98% look a like and sound a like.. lol market price RM420... me can get for u at RM399 :D so... u can ask performance shop to gip u good discount.

Regarding the jammed BOV piston type... u still can hear the BOV sound .. the problem is the piston is partially jammed due to insufficient lubrication and clogged dirt. Therefore it may close and open slower than expected... causing engine to stall. This problem can be solve by servicing/lubricating the piston type BOV.

ftzone said:
Monza SSQV imitation HKS.. 98% look a like and sound a like.. lol market price RM420... me can get for u at RM399 :D so... u can ask performance shop to gip u good discount.

hahahaha... biak! Smack on your head! :p

ftzone said:
Regarding the jammed BOV piston type... u still can hear the BOV sound .. the problem is the piston is partially jammed due to insufficient lubrication and clogged dirt. Therefore it may close and open slower than expected... causing engine to stall. This problem can be solve by servicing/lubricating the piston type BOV.

will take a look.. finally got a friend who has 2 SETS of allen keys (makes you wonder why so many).. gonna do a little BOV test run tonight.. :p

guys, do help me out, when i boost 1st gear, 2nd gear i can hear the Blow off, but the 3rd is softer, 4th & 5th gear i cant hear the blow off sound at all, whats the problem?? damn potong steam... im using blitz blow off , boosting at 0.8bar 6A12 TT... thanks for helping...

kamikaze said:
guys, do help me out, when i boost 1st gear, 2nd gear i can hear the Blow off, but the 3rd is softer, 4th & 5th gear i cant hear the blow off sound at all, whats the problem?? damn potong steam... im using blitz blow off , boosting at 0.8bar 6A12 TT... thanks for helping...
check your boost level if you got a memory type boost meter or avcr first. mine is the same engine at same boost level like yours but using hks ssqv. very loud sound... :D maybe your spring is too stiff.... check out my gallery...

kruger.. are you using everything stock except the Blitz Blow Off?

Hmm... Taman Desa... Hmm... Must keep an eye out for a 6A12 TT... :p

blur_civic said:
kruger.. are you using everything stock except the Blitz Blow Off?

Hmm... Taman Desa... Hmm... Must keep an eye out for a 6A12 TT... :p

not everything stock la... port and polished engine, ported exhaust manifold, and other things... :) just change to 2 wheel drive gearbox from eterna special edition with 11 1/2" flywheel close gear ratio. last time using 4wd cannot tahan on the tyre la.... :( i'm not using blitz bov, i'm using the hks ssqv... :D

blur civic - so blur didnt read the thread properly ?? :D im the one using blitz b/off, stay in taman desa, where u stayin?

Using a HKS ssqv n hope someone can help me out..
My BOV high pitch sound sounds rough n distorted everytime i shift gears.
+ is that screw sticking out of the BOV the 1 that adjusts the spring?

Recently after some harsh driving, the sound became rough.. and experiencing weak n unstable idling right after that happened. boost at 0.7

How long exactly shud u wait for a turbo engine to warmup before u can whack it? cuz i kinda hit the engine quite hard after not starting it for 3 days... just paranoid. and then right after that, that BOV thingy happened...

acidburn1204 said:
Using a HKS ssqv n hope someone can help me out..
My BOV high pitch sound sounds rough n distorted everytime i shift gears.
+ is that screw sticking out of the BOV the 1 that adjusts the spring?

Recently after some harsh driving, the sound became rough.. and experiencing weak n unstable idling right after that happened. boost at 0.7

How long exactly shud u wait for a turbo engine to warmup before u can whack it? cuz i kinda hit the engine quite hard after not starting it for 3 days... just paranoid. and then right after that, that BOV thingy happened...

Can you describe that "distorted" sound? Helps us imagine it better.. :p

Actually never used or been near a SSQV (expensive stuff doesn't go well with me.. :p) before so wouldn't know about any screw sticking out of it... but generally when there's a long screw sticking out.. it is there to allow you to adjust the spring.. :)

Not sure about the 3 days.. but as long you waited for your radiator temp to rise and gradually increased your RPM/driving speed then it should be ok..

Bov

I am experiencing the same prob. as Blur. I am using the same BOV except without the lip. Bought mine for RM 150 too. I think it's has something to do with the spring, if 2 people are experiencing the same prob. There should be more out there.

Guys,
When you mentioned small boost engines, what do you all mean by that? VR4 a small boost engine? :p For me, I've actually tightened the BOV to the max. and the spooling sound back to the turbine is louder now. Only when I press, I can hear the BOV sound. I'm currently boosting around 0.8 bar.

For such a case, what recommendation BOV should I go for? Thanks.

Just imagine the solid sweet sound cracking, or breaking...
found out my engine oil was low after a particular trip to Cameron highlands. hit the car pretty hard on way up, and way down. Is that normal........?
Anyway, my idling is still f-tup.

carcraze said:
I am experiencing the same prob. as Blur. I am using the same BOV except without the lip. Bought mine for RM 150 too. I think it's has something to do with the spring, if 2 people are experiencing the same prob. There should be more out there. Guys, When you mentioned small boost engines, what do you all mean by that? VR4 a small boost engine? :p For me, I've actually tightened the BOV to the max. and the spooling sound back to the turbine is louder now. Only when I press, I can hear the BOV sound. I'm currently boosting around 0.8 bar. For such a case, what recommendation BOV should I go for? Thanks.
Small boost is a very general term.. but we were refering to anything below erm... 0.5bar i guess? I think the spooling sound which bounces back to your filter is the sound which you should try to get rid off... When you have that sound you should try to loosen it.. not tighten it.. That sound surfaces when your BOV is too tight and does not exhale enough air/boost fast enough.. the air is then bounced back ("backlogged") all the way back to your turbocharger forcing it to slow down significantly which WILL damage your turbocharger (I am guessing compressor wheel, turbine shaft.. hope someone clarifies this with me.. tanks..) as the air goes back out to the filter.. If you car shuts down or dies off.. then only you tighten it.. Keep trying until you minimise the boost bounce sound ("tush tush tush pssshhh" or something like that.. hahaha..) yet don't experience the car shutting down.. then that would be best.. Basically go for any BOV's which are better well know should be ok.. Sards R2D2 should be the best bang for buck.. :) Hope it helped :)

acidburn1204 said:
Just imagine the solid sweet sound cracking, or breaking... found out my engine oil was low after a particular trip to Cameron highlands. hit the car pretty hard on way up, and way down. Is that normal........? Anyway, my idling is still f-tup.
Do you have an oil leak in the first place? :p Might want to get it checked out...

blur_civic said:
.. Sards R2D2 should be the best bang for buck.. :) Hope it helped :)

A fren of minre was boosting at 0.5 and tried using SARD R2D2 before.

The R2D2 could not open even at softest setting of the spring.

I think R2D2 is rated somewhere at 0.7 bar because that very same R2D2 which my fren tried using was bolted onto a GSR and it opened nicely.

Does SARD make R2D2 vehicle specific or it is a "one-size-fits-all" kinda BOV?

Anyway, becareful when buying BOVs because some BOVs only opens above 0.7 bar.

apexi twin chamber claims that the BOV can open for low boost and for high boost.. thats why it's call twin chamber... personally.. i've used this BOV before.. it works great on most types of engines.

i have a small problem...

i would like to know why my blitz blow off that has 3 sound ...

only goes pusssssssst(very loud) when in high boost.....

when going slow and the sound give way like trrrrrrrrrrt....

and kulukulukulu.....after ajusting the settings on the blow off..

do i need to modify something to get those sound at high boost..?

how do i get the sound like (very loud) za..za..za..za..za..tat?

any hotai have advice....

Write your reply...