Using of high cam w/o ECU upgrade...?

zarique

Jan 2, 2005
bros and sifus,
maybe this is noob question but i wonder...
can i upgrade my 4G63T engine with high cams such HKS or BC 272 in/ex without having any upgrade with management such piggyback (E-manage) or SAFC...
i'm sure that with standalone management, it will be best...
opinions needed...
thanks to all....

jinkl

May 22, 2004
u need atleast something to compensate the extra airflow
get a safc least , dnt want u to blow ur engine

zarique

Jan 2, 2005
thanks bro...:wavey:

for example,
with the install of safc+cam 272,
will i get the sound of revving up+up (vroom, quiet bit, vroom, quiet bit, vroom)...

jinkl

May 22, 2004
u dnt need cams to make that sound
that sound is caused by overlap , standard cam can make that sound with adjustments
hmm , dnt chase for sound, chase for performance la bro

zarique

Jan 2, 2005
:D hehe...
chasing for both...
since got no money to mod gns2...
recently change my piston to 1jz 86mm + metal gasket 1.5mm cause my compression for evoIII lowered down so less kick than b4 but boosting at 1.2bar...
thinking of gainning power from the head which is the cam...
hrmmm...:confused:

zarique

Jan 2, 2005
bro jinkl,
if due to changes in compression ratio from changing piston to 1jz,
can the compression ratio be up back with the use of a forged piston...?
what bout the metal gasket..?
advise needed...

zarique

Jan 2, 2005
rite now i think its reduce due to the 1jz pistons..
so i wanna increase bit mayb back to normal...
either reduce the metal gasket thickness...?
or change the piston to forged such wiseco..?

Guys,

Plan to bring in an used car for my mid range distance travel.
Due to budget concern,
yrs 1993 7th gen Toyota 1.6L SEG (M) and 5th gen Honda Civic 1.6L EFI (M) are short listed in my plan.

Need opinion here:

- Which car have

1) Cheaper maintenance cost
2) Handling
3) Better fuel consumption
4) After market performance parts
5) Better Chassis quality
6) Accessories support such power window, central locking etc.

Please advise... Thx :driver: