about 20v cam pully?

alex_khoo

any sifu can tell me if bt cam pully put in svt!! can be do it? coz my frend bt wana change to adjustable cam pully?so he will gv me his ori cam pully! is tat can be put into my svt?coz my car will be change timing belt soon liao??:idea:..so try to put in if can?? hehe....is tat any diffrent bt cam pully in my svt?....n 1 more question!! after install adjustable cam pully! wat d diffrent ?increase power?? i mean d enjine in stock contition? juz tukar adjustable pully nia??:driver::driver:

i think it's the same, please correct me if i'm wrong.

from wat i heard from my frend is not same!...coz time he buy adjustable pully time the seller ask him bt/svt loh?...:confused:

yup agreed,from wht i know its only the pulley and throttle lobang is not the same,internal like cam etc can be use or swap
correct me if im wrong:driver:

so you think can fit???

Part number:
Intake Cam Sprocket 13050-16010
Exhaust Cam Sprocket 13050-16040
both BT SVT use the same pulley
but the Cam Shaft is different due to VVT Cam valve
http://www.filmantravel.com/20vparts_files/

my 2cents point of view

huh?:confused: not so understand wat u mean??svt n bt pully r same??but y the seller say is diffrent??:banghead:

Bump: huh?:confused: not so understand wat u mean??svt n bt pully r same??but y the seller say is diffrent??:banghead:

Adjustable cam pulley should be same for both BT and SVT.
But stock cam pulley is different for BT and SVT, even timing belt different. BT is 111 tooth and SVT is 110 tooth (on the belt). BT uses tensioner, SVT does not.

oic...tat mean stock bt cam pully cannot put in svt loh?:smokin:..bro pcmodding! wat will diffrent if juz add on adjustable cam pully to engine v juz stock condition? increace pewer?how many hp??:driver:

Actually adj. cam pulley won't increase any horse power.
the main function for the adj. cam pulley is for you to adjust the correct timing when you have set your camshaft.Coz when the camshaft have been adjusted,the timing for the intake/exhaust valve to open or close is difference oredi,so when this happen the adj. cam pulley is use to correct back the right sequence.
:hmmmm: juz my humble idea,correct me if i'm wrong.

alex_khoo: I'm not really sure but since BT and SVT timing belt is different, I guess it should not fit. Unless change camshaft to BT too. IMO, adding adjustable cam pulley on stock engine (stock camshaft) should not increase hp in theory. Instead, it will only allow you to shift the powerband. Also, stock 20V relies heavily on VVT... without VVT, the engine will be sluggish.

Read: http://forums.club4ag.com/zerothread?id=42500

From my experience:

My friend got a pair of Toda adjustable cam pulleys (was told that they were taken out from 16v 4A-GE). He asked me to share, so we bought 1 each. He fitted on his SVT & I fitted to my BT (ex cam). So if you ask me, I'd say that they're compatible among the 4A-GE family.

My SVT friend is still using the pulley but I took it out after a few months of testing. Since my BT is an auto, so probably it performed differently. According to my SVT friend, it did improved a little on pick up; slightly more responsive.

My case was the same too (from 1-3k rpm) but after 3k rpm, it felt worse than before. It was struggling & I was experiencing knocking; that's why I removed it. The other reason was probably I did not re-tune my e-manage after fitting the adjustable pulley.

If you're using your stock cam, maintain the stock VVT pulley, you not going to gain any power.
You can only shift the power band and make it more predictable power. For exhaust side, it's all the same for all 4AGE family and the effect is not that big on exhaust side adjustment.

Even I'm using standalone ECU, I still gain more power with VVT running on the intake came. Wider power band and I didn't lose either mid end or high end power.
VVT activate to increase the mid range power and it will shut off after 6K RPM to gain more power on the high end power.

any sifu can tell me if bt cam pully put in svt!! can be do it? coz my frend bt wana change to adjustable cam pully?so he will gv me his ori cam pully! is tat can be put into my svt?coz my car will be change timing belt soon liao??:idea:..so try to put in if can?? hehe....is tat any diffrent bt cam pully in my svt?....n 1 more question!! after install adjustable cam pully! wat d diffrent ?increase power?? i mean d enjine in stock contition? juz tukar adjustable pully nia??:driver::driver:

SVT cam pulley and BT cam pulley are the same only. Can interchange.

Adjustable cam pulley more predictable for using together with aftermarket cam... If use with stock cam pulley, not much the power can gain from, just can early up the powerband or delay the powerband timing only.
for street use, I suggest stick with VVT system. As EG9 said...didn't lose either mid end or high end power.