4g15 - Mods

drifterzzz

plan to mods my 4g15 -

put njin 1.6 ( 4g92 ) then kawen with head dohc

how much the cost n how bout the performance ???

I think what he is saying he currently is running a 4G15 and going 2 upgrade to a 4G92 and than change the head to a DOHC.. in my point of view its a real waste of resources n cash... if u do have the money get a 4G92 MIVEC... i think its better that what u have in mind now

Bro...that's gonna cost a lot of work and also alot of money...i also had just the same plan as u once. the only difference would be im using a 4G13 instead of the 4G15...Better for u to get the 4G91 1500cc...packs a 115 hp on stock...some more easier for u to register after the transplant...no prob with JPJ some more...even a 4G92 SOHC nowdays is gonna cost u a bomb...so advice from me...think carefully...hybriding with DOHC heads also is gonna have reliability prob in the future and if ur still going for it get a very2 good mech... :biggrin:

Yeah mix n matching the block n head isn't always the best solution.. although if you are keen on 4G92 u can buy the DOHC block from a chop shop.. make sure u check the engine and make sure u test run any engine u buy.. make sure it comes with all the wiring.. lastly i still say get a MIVEC.. haha.. its better for future upgrades...

hayabuza said:
Bro...that's gonna cost a lot of work and also alot of money...i aslo had just the same plan as u once. the only difference would be im using a 4G13 instead of the 4G15...Better for u to get the 4G91 1500cc...packs a 115 hp on stock...some more easier for u to register after the transplant...no prob with JPJ some more...even a 4G62 SOHC nowdays is gonna cost u a bomb...so advice from me...think carefully...hybriding with DOHC heads also is gonna have reliability prob in the future and if ur still going for it get a very2 good mech... :biggrin:

hello... i also using a 4G13.. :biggrin: but got a questions... is there alot of complication if i transplant to 4G91 1500cc? wat else must be changed ar..? and around how much it'll cost ? tnx ya..

No complications at all since many successful transplant has been made as long as u get a good and experienced mech for the job...Of course the wear and tear parts needs to be changed too such as the timing belt, bearings, oil seals, gaskets....bla bla...u know the stuffs...costs around RM700-RM1000 (depends on the engine condition too)

The halfcut price for this engine has risen tramendously since of very2 high demand and to make matter worst, the supplies are getting lesser by day...more deadly if ur getting the manual version... :biggrin: I myself plans to go for the engine but since it's too costly (around RM3000 at that time) Ive taken a 4G15 instead (just to replace the old one) :biggrin:

IF U STILL WANT TO MOD 4G 15,,YOU CAN TRY..PORT N POLISH, high performance plug cable, and dont forget WEBER CARB...of coz it will take out ur pocket money tremendously..try to get last month EVO magazine..in this mag..some people in kuching using this technic..performance..hmmm no comment..u try first and dont forget tell us about the performance..

in penang there have 1 satria using 4g15..silver colour..already forgot about his number..but behind this car has sticker 'TWINCAM KILLER'..already test in bt kawan n sepang..this car quit famous coz already beat twin cam cars..e.g mivec (standard), 4g 93,(putra and 1.8limited edition and gti), 4g 91 and also 6A10...from rumour, they said he just port n polish, change the gear ratio and doing something about the clutch..i dont know it true or not..but have seen this car beat my friend standard mivec 3 time..cehs...maybe who knows about this car can share the secret with other...

for injection model, what I know they have put in 4G92p throttle body and injector,

2nd gear with 15 inch sport rim also can spain tyre :D

hayabuza said:
No complications at all since many successful transplant has been made as long as u get a good and experienced mech for the job...Of course the wear and tear parts needs to be changed too such as the timing belt, bearings, oil seals, gaskets....bla bla...u know the stuffs...costs around RM700-RM1000 (depends on the engine condition too)

The halfcut price for this engine has risen tramendously since of very2 high demand and to make matter worst, the supplies are getting lesser by day...more deadly if ur getting the manual version... :biggrin: I myself plans to go for the engine but since it's too costly (around RM3000 at that time) Ive taken a 4G15 instead (just to replace the old one) :biggrin:

aiyarkk.. quite blur la on wat u said there... first paragraph up there u said no complications ... ehehehehe.. then second paragraph u said more dangerous if gettin manual .. hehehh.. u mean first paragraph u were not talking about 4G15? coz down there u said "i've takan a 4G15 INSTEAD" ... .sorry confused..... ehehehe...

so means everything mod plus the engine will be 4000+ la rite? wow...

boyzone said:
for injection model, what I know they have put in 4G92p throttle body and injector,

2nd gear with 15 inch sport rim also can spain tyre :D

hello... sorry if wat i'm saying is wrong... but cant most cars spin tyre at 2nd gear if rev high enough? that time i tried pull handbrake at this corner , dunno wat happen la i lousy ma tat time.. so car din reli slide much .. then nearly stop.. i keep revving at second gear n hear wheel spin n car launch forward...
or am i wrong? sorry... :)

hmmm . thanks guys .. i plan to get mivec also feel the vtech thehehe ...

but my fren say 1.6 ngine with dohc head damn power oo with 1.8 dohc cluth damn laju proven on satria can go 200+- :O

MrKoo said:
aiyarkk.. quite blur la on wat u said there... first paragraph up there u said no complications ... ehehehehe.. then second paragraph u said more dangerous if gettin manual .. hehehh.. u mean first paragraph u were not talking about 4G15? coz down there u said "i've takan a 4G15 INSTEAD" ... .sorry confused..... ehehehe...

so means everything mod plus the engine will be 4000+ la rite? wow...

Haha :biggrin: Bro...what i mean is if the halfcut is manual, it's more expensive compared to auto..the reason i take the 4G15 instead is due to the lower cost and lower budget :biggrin: Yep...it's gonna cost u around RM4000+ (near to RM5000) for a completer transplant plus some necessary stuffs i've mentioned earlier.Sorry to get u confused bro...cheers :rock:

i think u better not to change u will regret. better save some money in ur pocket recently Economy poor......... if u change ur engine u will start spent alot money , coz starting to modify ur car haha like me...now very regret Spent RM20K to drop K20A finally get nothing at all also.....!!

since ur ori chasis is 1.5...go to the max 1.8...if u wan 2 play plain NA...
if u like those variable timing thingy...get a 1.6 MIVEC...then onli hybrid 1.8 block...
but still...4g93t still is more power over money...u pay a bit more for 4g93t n u get a lot of diff from 4g92 mivec

thank you hayabuza.. :biggrin: expensive la change engine.. so many things to do.. dun think got time for that also...

SoiL^mec : yah.. its lidet la bro... u wanna mod this n that u hav to sacrifice money, n not only that.. u muz think of long run also, can u handle it? maintanence.. fuel... time..
for me, i only do wat i can do n wat i can handle... coz i got more things to do in my life than cars only... who dowan turbo? i love the sound but i dun think got time/money to mod n maintain.. so, bite your hand n humble abit lor.. But i am very lucky n thankful lor that i got advise n help from some kind ppl in ZTH about the mods i wanted to do... :)

anyway.. wat u mean drop K20A ?

Write your reply...