20V using RON95...no problemo !

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
As Salam and good day...

1) How may of 20V enthusiast here using RON95 and how was it ?
2) How's the FC comparable to RON97
3) How's the power output comparable to RON97

Due to crazy and unacceptable price of RON97...
many asked me...is it ok ? can it be done ? will it damage the engine ?

The answer is yes...
with the right setup, right tuning, the right mechanic...yes it can be done !!!

Feel free to share your experience...

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
20v designed to be run with RON100.. where 2 get that???

anywayz, they run fine with RON95..

if u ask me.. i use RON95 for everyday use & RON97 if my right foot is itchy.. hehehe :evil:

my conclusion,

RON95 = a lil less power.. juz a lil

RON97 = a lil more power.. little only :biggrin:

chinozie

Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
20v designed to be run with RON100.. where 2 get that???
20V Manual ...

if u ask me.. i use RON95 for everyday use & RON97 if my right foot is itchy.. hehehe
means...your setup is not perfect...ngeh ngeh...

Once tune to run on RON95...then put in RON97...idling or some setup will "lari" one...
it also depends on your engine healthiness ... :driver:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
how to tune to RON95?

retard/advance cam?

2slow

May 2, 2005
been using ron 95 on bt about 4 years now,so for no problem.if compare with ron 97 sure,ron 97 have more kick not much different on 20v i would say

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
I enjoy using Ron95. Not much different with Ron97.
But I know that 2 of my cylinder already lost of compression.
Huhu.

Will try again after my engine overhaul.

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
any proven.. he he got diff when using ron 95/97...(based on feeling)
let dyno & see result..he he

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
ron 95 = economy drive but need piggy to tune the air fuel mixture
ron 97= can feel the combustion more power than 95.. but not economical at all.. hahaha

Ratbit

Feb 23, 2010
I guess i had use ron95 for more than a year, first it is o.k for my car,
but lately ....everytime i fill my car with ron95..my engine lights will blink...and the car loose much of its accelerations power.
when i fill it back with ron97 the engine lights still blink, but after a while it will off.
Due to economic factor i have no choice but to use back ron95, and until today, i drive my car with the engine lights blinking..

tHrottle power

Aug 29, 2008
ever since the launch of RON 95, i ve using it on my BT oredi....once in a while I will pamper it with RON97. I ve used E-Manage to tune the AFR n ignition timing. So far, no complaint...the only dif is that ron95 has lower pick-up power(acceleration). Lesser kick, yet that significant @ me. As my AE111 has pass 200k km, so i ve also change to a new O2 sensor.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
but lately ....everytime i fill my car with ron95..my engine lights will blink...and the car loose much of its accelerations power.
when i fill it back with ron97 the engine lights still blink, but after a while it will off.
Due to economic factor i have no choice but to use back ron95, and until today, i drive my car with the engine lights blinking..
Engine light blinking? better start saving some money for new ECU :biggrin:

suma_

Jun 3, 2005
DU
using it since the 1st day of RON 95 in market. during initial pump, definitely no difference since RON 97 left over still in the tank. one significant impact - engine knocking during hard pressed but then the ecu will do adjustment to reduce the knocking. for sure we need a good & healthy ecu to re-adjust and learn ron 95.

in term of power - once your car is regularly pumped with ron 95, it will make no different if you pump ron 97. just from my experience. (SVT 2nd Gen). for daily use - i still manage to get 10km+/liter.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Either using RON95 or 97, will not cause check light to blink.
Check light blinking means your ECU is faulty.
Have it check/replace/rebuilt immediately before it stall your car in the highway.
Not to mention about the towing cost incurs, it will definitely endanger to driver and passenger's life.

---------- Post added at 12:42 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:31 PM ----------

Comparing Petronas RON95 xtra and Shell V-power 97 in my BT ride...

RON 95 gives lots of knocking even though at 1st gear. Need to push up the RPM before release the clutch in order to get rid of the anoying click click sound. Poor acceleration and feel like engine is running rough at 4000~8000rpm. However, surprisingly FC is slightly better than 97 (~430km vs ~400km full tank).

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
for my case, the knocking sound is more quiet when I use RON 95. When I use RON 97, knocking sound is quite loud. Does it mean if those people use RON 100 in Japan, the knocking sound is totally gone?

At 1st i thought the fuel quality may contribute to the knocking sound.How can we ger rid of this knocking sound (sounded like typewriter, or diesel engine, tak tak tak tak....never ending sound) ??? I find it rather irritating. Anyone has experienced / know how to get rid of that sound?

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
for my case, the knocking sound is more quiet when I use RON 95. When I use RON 97, knocking sound is quite loud. Does it mean if those people use RON 100 in Japan, the knocking sound is totally gone?

At 1st i thought the fuel quality may contribute to the knocking sound.How can we ger rid of this knocking sound (sounded like typewriter, or diesel engine, tak tak tak tak....never ending sound) ??? I find it rather irritating. Anyone has experienced / know how to get rid of that sound?
AE101 Supercharger :biggrin::driver:

chinozie

Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com

I'm assuming the diesel sound appears during engine idling too...not during acceleration...
If do...that particular sound is well known among 20V enthusiast...
It's the sound of VVT pulley...

you might want to read this :

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/toyota/370116-vvt-pulley.html

hi there....need a little help here

my idle speed goes variable...what can i do to fix it??? any sifus hav
any idea???? i appreciate ur advise..^^

my ride is hyundai coupe 1.8L year 97.....