13B-REW newbies

aiM

hi all,

i just wanna know what engine oil do u use for 13B-REW?
i check on the internet, they said using 20/50? isit too heavy using that oil?? by the way, i just bought this car about a week. need some advice :p
what is the standard boost for this car? my one is 0.6bar, but got leaking, maybe hose leaking, havent check it. one time when i was revving hard, suddenly my boost jump to 1.1bar, why is that hapeen huh?? really weird..
Any JB RE owner here? recommend me some good mechanic..

fd.jpg

my car with Pivot Raizin VS-1 + Splitfire PRO Grouding cable

i also read on internet, forget already the website, they said if the engine is not hot enough, when u wanna off it, need to rev it to 3000 within 10 secs then off, or rev it to 3000 for 3 secs, then off with pressing the accelerator. they said to avoid apex seal leaking. isit true?

Hi AIM first off be very careful about follwong what you read online. Though they are not wrong bout oil but it also heavily depends on the weather you live in. I use Shell Helix Plus 15W-50 which i find keeps the engine cooler and more responsive (this is based on my previous engine oils and butt dyno)

Boost at 0.6bar= to about 8.7psi is slightly low. Could well be vacuum leak. Have you changed out your hoses? You should? Its a pain in the ass but very rewarding. What are you modifications? If you have a modified exhaust and intake but no upgraded ecu then you will see massive spikes up to 1.1bar. Get a boost controller and set at factory levels until you can program more fuel.

I've never heard about revving to 3000 before shutdown but maybe someone here can help. What website dude? Post more pics of your car!! :)

Hope this helps.(taken off ROb's HP)
How to Do the Official Mazda Boost Test
According to the official Mazda test procedure, boost should be as follows:
Drive to third gear with normal acceleration
Accelerate from 35 MPH at WOT until passing 4500 rpm
A slight and smooth increase in power should be felt at approximately 4500 rpm. This will be about 65 MPH.
Boost should be above 10 psi up to 4500 rpm. The boost will drop to about 8 psi just after 4500 rpm, and will begin rising towards maximum boost depending on the length of time the throttle is held wide open. As a benchmark, many owners were asked to time their cars from 40 to 70 MPH in 3rd gear. To try the test yourself, simply cruise at 35 MPH in 3rd, floor it and start timing when you pass 40. On average, a stock car should do it in about 4.9 seconds and a slightly modified car can bring it down to the 4.2 second range.

"The oddest thing I found was the salesman's instructions to rev the engine to 3000 RPM when turning off the key to avoid flooding the engine. Previous driver must not have, because it was a slow start when I first got in."

http://www.bmwfanatics.org/forums/archive/index.php/t-45975.html

there some of the link that i found. but actually i found at other website, but now i cannot find :(

Revving engine before shutdown

Revving the engine before turning it off IMO is a very bad idea. This would actually increase your chances of flooding the engine = cannot start.

A close to flat (i.e. less than 11V) or flat battery would also cause you to flood your engine if you crank it enough times.

I use Mobil S 10W40 engine oil with good success but Shell would also be ok as tested by phat7 and others.

Your engine bay looks quite stock which is good & bad. Your best bet to make your car reliable is to follow these instructions found here http://www.robrobinette.com/reliabiltiy.htm

modification list of my car - done by previous owner :
- air pump removal - i cant find it!
- HKS super dragger exhaust
- 18" racing sparco wheels
- engine swap, maybe old engine blow?
- racing clutch

list of what i wanna do:
- change engine oil, oil filter, fuel filter, transmission oil.
- check intercooler hose - suspect leaking
- change + modify power window switch - thanks to 13btt
- add BOV
- change standard air filter to K&N, still want to use standard air filter box.
- add AFR meter or exhaust temp.
- change racing clutch to standard clutch - anybody interested?
- change front suspension - my car not really stable at 160km/h, like driving kancil on that speed.
- add Pivot Speed meter X, Baby Timer, and Shift light PRO - all under the head unit. customize with black plate with carbon fibre sticker.
- take out plate number and change to sticker number plate - more air to radiator :)

list of what i have done:
- Add Pivot Raizin Volt Stabilizer VS-1
- Add Splitfire Pro grounding kit
- rewiring the speaker system + add amplifier
- change standard gear knob to momo F1 gear knob
- change standard steering to Victoria evolizione 1 steering
- change standard horn to BM horn

Problem that i facing now :
- passenger window cannot open
- passenger door must close really hard
- driver door handle broken - still can use but i want to change
- rear bose speaker not connected to head unit. how to connect?? got 5 wires
- difficult to drive slowly - must change racing clutch to standard
- maybe intercooler hose leaking
- cannot drive more than 160km/h, feels too light like kancil.
- eat power steering oil, must check for leakage

any idea or opinion?? thanks

aiM said:
- cannot drive more than 160km/h, feels too light like kancil.
any idea or opinion?? thanks

Not enuff down force?? Wrong wheel alignment?? Small wheel size??

errr.. now using 18" racing sparco wheels, front 225/40/R18, rear 255/40/R18 tyres. if at highway the alignment got no prob. but after more than 160kmh, the car started wanna fly.. scary!

Theoritically, RX7 has good down force and aerodynamic. Unless your suspension is too stiff cause it makes your car bounced a lot...

yup, agree, good downforce, aerodynamic, and low centre gravity. maybe the suspension too soft, only got spring to bounce the car. usually new absorber - standard not adjustable one, will cost how much?

Revving to 3000rpm and shut it off is what they do to hit a few 'dry' spins by the rotor. For FC, ur supposed to rev it up a lil' then shut off then engine .. at the same time, depress ur throttle to the fullest which will in turns cut off the fuel pump. The revved up rotor will have more momentum to make a few more spin without fuel supply that clears out the chamber. THats wat I understand..

U bought the JB Rx-7 with REd interior?
saw that car on motor trader quite some time ago anyways welcome to the rotary world!

aiM said:
hi all,

i just wanna know what engine oil do u use for 13B-REW?
i check on the internet, they said using 20/50? isit too heavy using that oil?? by the way, i just bought this car about a week. need some advice :p
what is the standard boost for this car? my one is 0.6bar, but got leaking, maybe hose leaking, havent check it. one time when i was revving hard, suddenly my boost jump to 1.1bar, why is that hapeen huh?? really weird..
Any JB RE owner here? recommend me some good mechanic..

fd.jpg

my car with Pivot Raizin VS-1 + Splitfire PRO Grouding cable

i also read on internet, forget already the website, they said if the engine is not hot enough, when u wanna off it, need to rev it to 3000 within 10 secs then off, or rev it to 3000 for 3 secs, then off with pressing the accelerator. they said to avoid apex seal leaking. isit true?

Silver Power

Yes~!! Silver power..i have a silver one too..but i'm changing color soon...becoz of new bodykit~!!!

New Problem!

hi guys,
just wondering, why is my car's gear lever and handbrake lever really hot if i dont turn on air cond? is there any chance to keep it cool?

Brake pad

i just service my car today, change gear oil, gear oil treatment, engine oil, change my brake and clutch oil from dot 3 to dot 4. then i saw my front brake pad nearly worn out. maybe still got 1 month before need to change. any suggestion on front brake pad? thinking of AXXIS metal masters. isit ok? or use bendix? price range?

endless works best. used for nearly 3 years with no problem. Of course i mean not 1 set last 3 years,more like 2 sets now.