Subaru expensive to maintain....

7500RPM

i always dream of driving a subaru. for my kinda lifestyle and the income i earn, i can afford to buy a subaru version 2 second hand. but i always have the fear of

difficult to finding spare parts
price for spare parts is expensive
petrol consumtion is high
resale value

with all this kinda fears, am i better off sticking to my current toyota corolla AE100 (4age) instead?. i hope someone here can let me know how is it like to own and maintain a subaru. i hope i can get a honest answer instead from the sales guy who is trying to sell his subaru off (everything also ok... spare parts easy, cheap low consumtion).

:frown:

read this thread first for some feelers, then you can comment further...

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=39609

The subaru is not really expensive to maintain...but if compared to any NA car, it will be more expensive...petrol is the main reason...other than that, use only synthetic oils, and the rest just change according to schedule.

parts are a bit on the expensive side, yet still cheaper than evo. but yo hardly need to change parts...they really last...timing belt is safe to 80000km, some use to 100000km...i haven't heard a single case of a broken timing belt. the belt bearings and tensioners and water pump also can last a long time...basically, the car is hardy...

finding parts can be a problem if you don;t know where to find...but i myself have got no problems with this. if you frequent singapore, then buy there...cheaper.

resale value...very stable if direct transaction from seller to buyer...the ver2 have like hit rock bottom in prices and are maintaining it's value because of the GC8's cult status...

just expect to pay more to maintain a turbo car compared to an NA car...

you so happen to be someone who hangs out at Taipan Syed Ariff mamak on Friday nights?

BTW, i drive a ver2...

nope.. i guess i won't be hanging out there tonight. bit tired after a long days work. but i appreciate your information andy. it's really tempting to buy the subaru especially when i have the money in hand.

i guess i won't be buying it afterall.. maybe i was abit excited for a while.. but when i think about it, i better save the money for a house. my gf is pressuring me to buy one or else i might lose her. so... i think i will choose the house rather then the car. ..... how i wish i was born rich.

parts are readily available in Singapore...

its requires some attention but is not as lehcheh as you think..

For me, my gc8 petrol bill is cheaper, compared to my honda prelude which drinks petrol like hell...

lose the girlfriend, get a small house, and buy the subaru...

Petrol - RM70 gets me about 350km

and a subaru gets u a feeling like no other car...i swear i will buy a subaru turbo car for my next car...i cannot imagine myself buying another brand as my "driving" car anymore...

Andy Ng said:

and a subaru gets u a feeling like no other car...i swear i will buy a subaru turbo car for my next car...i cannot imagine myself buying another brand as my "driving" car anymore...

subaru hardcore fan...
hahaha...
yes, me too....
i love my subaru...:cool:

hmm piggybacked and properly tuned scooby will be less hungry isnt it?
i heard the stock scooby is running a little rich, is it?

kinki_kidz® said:
hmm piggybacked and properly tuned scooby will be less hungry isnt it?
i heard the stock scooby is running a little rich, is it?

running rich is better than running lean...too rich at most will foul up combustion chamber with carbon...too lean will just blow up the engine...

one word of caution...when tuning, a little rich is safer...especially when driving hard, need the extra fuel to cool down the combustion chamber...

so run it slightly towards rich from the optimum mixture...

stock ecu on almost any car will run a little rich to make it safe for the engine in case of extreme conditions like heavy load, bad petrol, hard driving, etc...

Andy Ng said:

wakakak thats rite..MAYBE u can get more than 1 gf if u drive subaru leh.....

not so expensive to maintain actualy....

use it so far...nothing big problem occur..hope wont hapen la for sure....

Petrol not tat expensive if u less whack....if compare to my fren car.....my car is saver petrol than him..but his driving patern is difer wit mine la..i drive slow slow only..hehe

i heard many people say Sti fc is better than Evo fc although both is 2.0 turbo and Sti wont so lag than Evo

WBH8668 said:
i heard many people say Sti fc is better than Evo fc although both is 2.0 turbo and Sti wont so lag than Evo

if stock, both r bout the same la...not tat huge different....

these two model oso take into comparison but who is the winner is hard to judge la....

ok i dump my gf now. wait i call her. .... no reply. :(
:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

another day lah i tell her. :P

Gtti_LAN said:
how about a version 3?

if u comparing version2-6 there is no big gap as all r sharing the same chassis- GC8

turbo car maintrenance.....slightly expensive than NA>...if u buy turbo car, u oledi ready for tat....

raptorie54 said:
wakakak thats rite..MAYBE u can get more than 1 gf if u drive subaru leh.....

i drive subaru also no gf one le...
hehehe... :frown:

scooby fever

my awek baru named Su.. so i have Subaru.. but i never drive my "Subaru"..

..yet?

To add some humour. If you wanna impress go eat Tau Foo Far at the back entrance of Sunway college, the little gate there, at about 2pm onwards...

Dude if your car looks good and you are not like Ali Setan looking, shoiuld be able to at least get some interest...
kakakakak

That said, anyone here piggy backed their Subarus? Sti Fuel Consumption is about 420K at best Shell Super, for Rm79, RM1.62perlit.

7500RPM said:
i always dream of driving a subaru. for my kinda lifestyle and the income i earn, i can afford to buy a subaru version 2 second hand. but i always have the fear of

difficult to finding spare parts
price for spare parts is expensive
petrol consumtion is high
resale value

:frown:

Gd day to all the Master Subaru,

Actually im in the same dilemma with 7500RPM...:frown: I've alwayz support Subaru since day 1. But i would realli like to find out wat's the normal service and maintainence cost, cos in the end all tis minor-minor $ would cost a bomb in the long run. Example how much does these cost:

1. water pump
2. timing belt
3. gear box
4. drive shaft
5. etc.... ( normally replace after 50,000km or 100,000km )

Hopefully these info can give a clear pictures for all the wanna-be Subaru-owner.... Thanks.... :smile:

Guys

Just thought of dropping by to Subaru Forum Members here at ZTH. Actually Im thinking of getting a GDB7 (Bugeye Version 7) coz my current ride has just been wrecked and on the way to the insurance company's Junk Yard.
Im in the used car business. I've drove two Impreza the GDB 7 (Bugeye) WRX and STI versions coz they were traded in last few months back. I had each for about two weeks and I had the EVO 6 and 7 as well. I can sat that the scoobys does far better in terms of Ride quality and NVH performances. I would therefore vote for Subarus if you were to compare them. I would say its feels very much continental.
Im just lucky to have the chance to have the rides for a week or two thanks to my boss who doesnt mind me test driving them coz he knows my interest in these cars. Hopefully I can find one at the rite price and condition and join the club. I think most I can afford is a WRX version.
Anyway...bumps for all of u guys here in the forum