Myvi vs Gen2/Savvy

crazzy

hi guys/gals,

just wondering.. anyone bought a Myvi/Gen2/Savvy?

These are some of the negative feedbacks that I've heard from people:

Myvi -- Perodua aircon are known to be HOT and not functioning as good as Proton's. Moreover, Perodua's radiator leaks! Aircon is an essential part of the car for Malaysia and if the aircon breaks down so often, it's no point buying the car.

Gen2 -- The worst car Proton has produced. Metal to build the body is not that strong. I've even heard that the engine was a failure as a few of them experience a sudden malfunction to their engine. Well, not only the engine is causing the problem, it seems that the interior accesories are easily spoilt (even in a new car? what more if the car is 2 years old?).

Savvy - strong body but underpowered. no second hand value. it's a modificiation of the Proton Tiara.

Any comments people in da house?

:)

crazzy said:
Savvy - strong body but underpowered. no second hand value. it's a modificiation of the Proton Tiara.

I don't think that Savvy is a modification of Tiara. Tiara is in fact a badge engineered Citroen AX. Savvy is a completely different car and on top of that, it uses Renault Clio engine.

crazzy said:
hi guys/gals,

Myvi -- Perodua aircon are known to be HOT and not functioning as good as Proton's. Moreover, Perodua's radiator leaks! Aircon is an essential part of the car for Malaysia and if the aircon breaks down so often, it's no point buying the car.

bro, me driving a kelisa for 2 years already, never had any rediator problem also.... and the air-con is quite ok overall ler... not bad, if u wanto strong, add blower ler.... :)

yeah wor..never got any radiator problems also lor...aircon wise...ok lar...it won't get cold immediately like some cars lor but it is not as worse as Kancils...the only thing i think about the air-con is Perodua's only got 3 level blower speed while protons have 4...a bit more variation...

radiator problems???? never heard b4 for me driving P2 car for more than 6 years, even for my kancil n kenari!!!
suprisingly the P2 aircond cool off faster than my old 325i!!! :D

aircond radiator problem on P2... pardon me i hv no problem wif it...

my family had a kancil 850auto for almost 5 yrs & my dad used to drive to ipoh almost every weekend for business purposes & i have driven non-stop to penang & jb many times........there was NO problem at all...........yep the aircon was not as cold as proton but its a small car with small compressor so what more do u expect?? we never needed to do any repairs on it ......all things were UNTOUCHED right to the moment we sold the car............we only did regular maintainance like engine oil/filter change & timing belt....................other than that nothing went wrong in the 5 yrs!!!!!!...............i would say perodua's products are far more superior than proton's..........i bought a iswara aeroback in 2003 & after 4 mts the shocks (behind) were rosak & after 6 mts the drive shaft was rosak....

wow! looks like a lot of postive feedback from perodua owners.

no comments for proton?

thanks for the comments anyway mates! appreciate em

perodua is the best
my ex kelisa never fails me at all.
the crumple zone works. air cond is ok.
radiator got bashed up in an accident and still can be used till now... which is about 2 years already.. heheheh
two thumbs up for perodua.

A MyVi is coming into the family soon... just waiting for the call from Perodua.

Junk2? visit tis website la... :D
http://www.autozine.org/Award/AutoZine/AutoZine_Awards_08.htm
soon Savvy will get the Award...

acbc said:
A MyVi is coming into the family soon... just waiting for the call from Perodua.

happy for u mate...i wish i could afford one too...

WBH8668 said:
Junk2? visit tis website la... :D
http://www.autozine.org/Award/AutoZine/AutoZine_Awards_08.htm
soon Savvy will get the Award...

i think it is impossible that Savvy could ever get on that list lar...i think it could not even survive being transported to them...

ahhaha. damn. still considering on whether to purchase the MyVi.

anyone here got cheap loans? haha

crazzy said:
Savvy - ...it's a modificiation of the Proton Tiara.

Ok that's hit my funny bone for today.

But I might concur with the Savvy having lower resale value though; for a start, spare parts MUST come from Proton, unless chopshops start bringing Clio halfcuts. Proton's ability to handle French belles in the past isn't really encouraging too. Haven't been given a test drive so no comment. Build quality and fitting is the best I've seen in a Proton (if that means anything).

Myvi is a great car. The side profile and front looks fine but I still can't get to grips with the rear lights. Quite puny looking with the large rear arches, especially when comparing with Kelisa and Kenari, or even the excellent Swift. Another thing is the body panels really feel like milo tin. The savvy feels like a tank in comparison. Driving feel, no test drive either so no comment.

Gen2 is a great car externally, but once you sit inside...love it or hate it to death (esp rear seat) affair. IMO they should've made it a 2+2 seater ala RX8. Makes it feel more practical and comfortable. Vehicle dynamics is a class above the other two, though. Performance of drive by wire is smooth, better than the 2 above but may need more low-end torque to make it half as fun as a Kelisa.

MyVi at 1st glance is nice, cute but recently seen lotza MyVi on da road. Then notice tat da rear bumper r so potato lookin hmmmzz. Futhermore lotza ppl planz or buyin it. I'm suppose to sell my Satria to buy MyVi but then nahhhhhhhhhhhhh. Rather get another car.

good review

i got my MyVi already but i got a problem wth my disc brake... anyway everything will be settle cos its still under warantty. they are giving me a totally new disc brake... other than that i am kinda satisfied with the car... my fren is having a Getz and we personally think that MyVi is much better car... besides u can save close to RM10K if we buy MyVi ...

Im driving a MYVI now and it is great! U cant imagine how much is the comfortable and classy of the car when u are test driving or by looking at it except u own 1.... It really gives me good feeling for driving it ... it wouldn't lose much to its same kind imported car like Daihatsu boon or swft though it is local made... Any MYVI Enthausists can check out this website~ http://www.myvi.com.my

crazzy said:
hi guys/gals,

Gen2 -- The worst car Proton has produced. Metal to build the body is not that strong. I've even heard that the engine was a failure as a few of them experience a sudden malfunction to their engine. Well, not only the engine is causing the problem, it seems that the interior accesories are easily spoilt (even in a new car? what more if the car is 2 years old?).

gen2 body not strong?L3 galvanized steel not strong?engine failure?pls give evidence b4 saying that..

savvy underpower...can reach 170 for 1.2L man..

ya people shd not post baseless comments like that....if perodua or proton decides to sue you then matiloh.....what evidence do u have that gen 2 engine was a failure ?? or that the body is not strong ?? just hearsay right ?? better not to base our comments on hearsay alone bro.....get concrete evidence !! i have used perodua b4 & currently proton......savvy is not underpowered.....i say that bcos my wira 1.5 top speed is abt 170-180 only & its reported that the savy (only 1.2) can reach 170 easily.......so now which one is underpowered ?? wira or savvy ??