Wastegate Explained.

Bro...can I do it as the picture below ??

Picure 1
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y239/hilary33/464.jpg

PIcture 2
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y239/hilary33/DNP-56.jpg

---------- Post added at 04:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

If picture 2 not enough place....can go for picture 1 ??

Bro...can I do it as the picture below ??

Picure 1
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y239/hilary33/464.jpg

PIcture 2
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y239/hilary33/DNP-56.jpg

---------- Post added at 04:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

If picture 2 not enough place....can go for picture 1 ??

Either one is ok. But the first picture seems to be a direct BOT for a 4-1 extractor system without even changing to a turbo manifold...

Yup...the picture 1 a bit confuse... go for picture 2 better...
Taiko ~~! If I use about 1 ft piping to install tial wastegate at turbo manifold there...will it ok ?

Yup...the picture 1 a bit confuse... go for picture 2 better...
Taiko ~~! If I use about 1 ft piping to install tial wastegate at turbo manifold there...will it ok ?

U wanna extend it to some other place...? If minimum bends, it should be ok... But u'll have the risk of having a long actuation hose that might in contact with your exhaust manifold. If melt, spike like crazy....

U can chose the furthest left or furthest right runner to install ur wastegate. Whichever side with more space.

gtg

U wanna extend it to some other place...? If minimum bends, it should be ok... But u'll have the risk of having a long actuation hose that might in contact with your exhaust manifold. If melt, spike like crazy....

U can chose the furthest left or furthest right runner to install ur wastegate. Whichever side with more space.

gtg

Ya..wanna extend to other place if no more space.. ok bro... I will call that mechanic do it for me...see which place got space left/right...
Ok ! Thanks a lot !! Wait your reply ! tmolo morning :biggrin:

instant assumption analysis :
1. get your mechanic to remove the air intake pipe and check the turbo, any white / blue smoke ? Any free play, axial and radial play ?
2. check other hoses for leakages.
3. check intercooler pipings for possibility of disconnection or loosened clamps. (if your mechanic has the tool, do a pressure test)
4. check if your BOV has leakage ? GREDDY Type-R is good choice, alternatively you can opt for Turbosmart Race port-50mm. (http://www.turbosmartonline.com/index.php?id=424)

good luck..

1) Yes,white smoke at hi-rev and the fins freely move axially and radially..removed the turbo today, dismantled and found the turbine fins were totally fucked...told by the turbo master,something were stucked inside during running..n i suspect that 'something' came from the turbo exhaust gasket (3layers aluminium custom made)..huhhhhhh:banghead:

2&3) checked n no loose fittings/clamps...

4)will go for greddy type R...

one more question..Tial wastegate 38mm,wht is the maximum boost??

anyway thanks guys for ur rply..really aprreciates..got new turbo today n going to install it tmrw..
headacheeee:banghead:

happy boosting.....cheerssss

sorry..i don't do TiAL..

we're a Turbosmart guy.. hehe..
http://www.turbosmartonline.com/index.php?id=67

Cheers..

sorry..i don't do TiAL..

we're a Turbosmart guy.. hehe..
http://www.turbosmartonline.com/index.php?id=67

Cheers..

wow...5 a.m wake up ad...so hardworking :biggrin:
bro... 38mm Turbosmart wastegate it cost RM1xxx over right ??
I love turbosmart actually...but the cost more than tial RM3xx..... :rolleyes:

Where got so expensive... I just n
bought 1 le... Rm9xx. Considering the difference of the internals design, the sexy shape, lower chances of immitation, n being the minority... RM50-100 difference ok lo...

Where got so expensive... I just n
bought 1 le... Rm9xx. Considering the difference of the internals design, the sexy shape, lower chances of immitation, n being the minority... RM50-100 difference ok lo...

If 38mm turbosmart with 0.5bar spring below RM9xx I will get one :biggrin:
Bro...The turbo manifold got 4 kaki right ? the wastegate can plug either one kaki and do a piping for wastegate ?? For example : The first and fourth kaki no space...then can make a piping at second or third ??

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y239/hilary33/turbo.jpg

i'm overseas mate..so time difference sets me up at 5am..but it was only 10pm over here..
Tial for RM 600+ ? or Tial for RM 360 ?

not heard of Tial with such low prices before..unless it's used or it's non genuine.

Good luck again.

bro better go ask turbo smart dealer the waste gate got how long warranty???lol

---------- Post added at 02:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:59 PM ----------

and ask the tial waste gate dealer also,then u will know the true~

i'm overseas mate..so time difference sets me up at 5am..but it was only 10pm over here..
Tial for RM 600+ ? or Tial for RM 360 ?

not heard of Tial with such low prices before..unless it's used or it's non genuine.

Good luck again.
wow..so good ~~ oversea :biggrin:
Misunderstand here :biggrin:
I ask a 38mm Tial wastegate with spring RM7xx..
I mean the turbosmart more expensive than Tial..more about RM3xx

Speedhorizon taiko...see the picture below...
this turbo manifold got four "kaki" right ? Can i just make either one "kaki" and put a wastegate there ?? my car the first and fouth. "kaki" no space ady..plan to put on others kaki...
hope u understand what i mean !:biggrin:
sorry for poor question..

If 38mm turbosmart with 0.5bar spring below RM9xx I will get one :biggrin:
Bro...The turbo manifold got 4 kaki right ? the wastegate can plug either one kaki and do a piping for wastegate ?? For example : The first and fourth kaki no space...then can make a piping at second or third ??

actually can... Check these....

http://www.slowboyracing.com/images/T/Turbonetics%204G63%20Turbo%20T3%20Manifold%20with%20Wastegate%20Provision-01.jpg

http://izabell.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/ceramicparts.jpg

they r all mounted on only 1 runner... Cheers.

Wow !! Thanks bro !!
Your answer help me much !!
Thanks A LOT !! :biggrin:
ok...gd nite bro
cheers!!
I will go for either one runner for wastegate & screamer pipe :proud:

But, as said earlier. Using 1 runners is good enough for street play n usage. No problem. When u want ultmate performance, the 4 runners joint positionis still the best.

yup...Ok ~~I will try to make at position there..... if got space :biggrin:
bro.,But I love street play during night ~~ syok ler ~~!! :wavey:
maybe aim for 1 runners plug in wastegate :biggrin:

hi,

I'm a bit of newbie when it comes to modding TC engines, I recently bought a GT4 Caldina and was wondering to boost a bit higher than standard set (0.7-0.8bar). Hence, I bought a Blitz SBC electronic boost controller to help me with the boosting...but was wondering what the heck is a wastegate? what good does it do to my engine? :slug:
I heard some say that installing external wastegate makes ur engine consume even more fuel...can someone explain me how this works?
Thanks.

Shah

hi,

I'm a bit of newbie when it comes to modding TC engines, I recently bought a GT4 Caldina and was wondering to boost a bit higher than standard set (0.7-0.8bar). Hence, I bought a Blitz SBC electronic boost controller to help me with the boosting...but was wondering what the heck is a wastegate? what good does it do to my engine? :slug:
I heard some say that installing external wastegate makes ur engine consume even more fuel...can someone explain me how this works?
Thanks.

Shah

its a friendly sugesstion la bro :) to learn wht is a turbo, how does a turbo spool/spin , wht does a wastegate do , how is the flow from the turbo to wastegate and etc :)

in short , u put a straw in ur mouth , blow it , at the end of the straw u put a small paper fan , the paper fan spins , just the same , exhaust flows and spins the turbine wheel , so now u want to control the amount of air u blow to the paper fan, so u want to leak it out , aha tht leaking out is wht u call wastegate