Typical timing for street cars at Sepang SIC

J-Boy

Sep 14, 2005
Singapore/Japan
You should know him. He is a Trackies regular. Hehehehe. White S15 P**1. The car in Garage R currently undergoing major body rework.
Yup I know K****. Going widebody?? Should drop by Garage R n have a lookie sometime. Very nice S15 manz.

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
An S15 doin those times gotta be pushing big power if still a street car with full interior in place, so definately lots of straightline speed too and them semi slicks contribute big time too

MrNismo

An S15 doin those times gotta be pushing big power if still a street car with full interior in place, so definately lots of straightline speed too and them semi slicks contribute big time too
Power was ok ok la, fair enough for 220+ down the straight on a cold day. The car has nice gearing and massive 6 pots though.

MrNismo

:hmmmm: What's ok ok in your books?? 350bhp @ the wheels at least.

Wat about your S13? no lap times ?
Can't really tell the actual power, cos you know, dynos can be happy sometimes. It has a similar setup as mine. 2.0 base, HKS GT2835R turbo, 264 cams. Mine cannot be consider street car ma... ran a 2'32 on Goodyear RS and drift setup :banghead: ... still waiting to get my hands on some semislicks but those things were like a nuke...

J-Boy

Sep 14, 2005
Singapore/Japan
Do did any 1 go for the MPT time atack?? which is coming soon.....
I'm giving Round 2 a miss, seems like no participants in my class. Probably prepare for MPT Round 3 and maybe SGTrackies TA, both in November.

I'm quite sure P**1 has at least 350whp. I hardly even see 200km/h on the main straight... :bawling:Heard the K24 FD2Rs and couple of CL7s with done up engines hit 210-215km/h on the main straight.

mer707cury

Aug 15, 2009
Singapore
From the camera angle , I can see your racing lines are mostly spot on. But since don't have onboard view it's hard tell when you brake or change down etc.

As u said, if can increase your speeds at the Turns you mentioned I'm sure the times will tumble
Here's my new cam angle on 19 Sep TD.... pity i only matched my old 2.46 (no vid for this).. and this shd be the 2.47 lap...

Pardon my left hand, dinno so ladylike... yucks... will grip the nxt time! :)

YouTube - TCC TD 19 Sep 2009

Comments appreciated...

soulV

Nov 24, 2008
I'm giving Round 2 a miss, seems like no participants in my class. Probably prepare for MPT Round 3 and maybe SGTrackies TA, both in November.

I'm quite sure P**1 has at least 350whp. I hardly even see 200km/h on the main straight... :bawling:Heard the K24 FD2Rs and couple of CL7s with done up engines hit 210-215km/h on the main straight.
me in my stndrd b18cr civic EF can go 200kmh on the main straight....hahaha...can go faster i guess with better driver :banghead:

blue.taxi

Nov 27, 2006
Q? btw, when ppl said hit 200, 210, or more. this number is at which part of the straight line?? half way or near 200m, 150m or 100m into turn 1?

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
Here's my new cam angle on 19 Sep TD.... pity i only matched my old 2.46 (no vid for this).. and this shd be the 2.47 lap... Pardon my left hand, dinno so ladylike... yucks... will grip the nxt time! :)

YouTube - TCC TD 19 Sep 2009

Comments appreciated...
nice hand position, haha

Anyway, looking at your driving, I'd say u need to attack the Turns more, just as I mentioned in a previous post. Few seconds can be shaved by having higher apex & exit speeds

blue.taxi,

if a car can hit 200km/h by start finish line tha't one very powerful and fast car.

I guess most people would claim their top speed just before braking point.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
whoarr...hit 200km/h by start/finish line?will really need a very VERY high powered car 2 do dat right?i only managed 182km/h on main straight n my braking point is always sumwhr ard d 100m mark.....but still managed 2.48 lap time on Yoko A050......n both my top speed n lap time is recorded using Race Chrono

soulV,
ur EF can hit 200km/h ar?borrow me ur car?thn i go do sum serious lap time?kekekeke

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
Damn... u guys are getting 200++km/h on the straights?!
My best was 187km/h (based on peak reading function of pivot speed meter)...

But everybody is getting faster and faster nowadays... 2.50 is nothing nowadays... the new benchmark is 2.45 and below!!! aiyaa... need to shave of a few seconds or a few pounds off myself!! :biggrin:

mist

Sep 20, 2004
Yup I know K****. Going widebody?? Should drop by Garage R n have a lookie sometime. Very nice S15 manz.
lol if you drop by GR tell them to hurry up and finish the car! :biggrin:

SGtrackies TA coming up on 16 November...

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
minivan,
u sure or not?w d MONSTER under ur hood....ur only hitting 187km/h?i dun believe u!hahahahha..liar liar pants on fire!

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
i dun believe u!hahahahha..liar liar pants on fire!
:biggrin:... i haven't heard this since i was in primary school!! :biggrin:

But bro... i'm serious man. Thats what the speed meter says... dunno la the thing calibrated correctly or not...
What monster bro? lemau laa due to e-damage... needs hondata to wake it up!! :biggrin: but waiting for money to fall from da sky or grow in my garden first :banghead:

alan23

Jul 19, 2009
Hope to hit 200kph on front straights too.......
Currently only can hit 190 on front straights just before braking in my rx-8 manual 6-speed

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
Guys,

Just to get back to topic. Wat's with the obsession to attain 200KM/H on the front straight?

Sepang has only 2 main straight, so not getting 200km/h on the FRONT straight is not dat crucial to lap times. A bone stock FD2 Type R with it's 180km/h speed cut still in place, properly driven, can clock 2'42 seconds.

So those guys who can't reach 200km/h on the front straight shouldn't be downcast.

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
Yeah... u're right faisal bro...
Saje je, we wannabe-racers comparing notes on a side topic (i.e. top speed)... like 'budak-budak'... :biggrin:
True its not a determinant on good lap times, as i've seen a crazy souped up supra do like 250++ on the straights but doesn't even seem to break the 3 minute mark...

alan23

Jul 19, 2009
Guys,

Just to get back to topic. Wat's with the obsession to attain 200KM/H on the front straight?

Sepang has only 2 main straight, so not getting 200km/h on the FRONT straight is not dat crucial to lap times. A bone stock FD2 Type R with it's 180km/h speed cut still in place, properly driven, can clock 2'42 seconds.

So those guys who can't reach 200km/h on the front straight shouldn't be downcast.
Thanks for the encouragement......2.42 is highly respectable for a stock CTR.....
Probably hit the speed limiter 3 times in sepang.........:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 01:58 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:53 AM ----------

Here's my new cam angle on 19 Sep TD.... pity i only matched my old 2.46 (no vid for this).. and this shd be the 2.47 lap...

Pardon my left hand, dinno so ladylike... yucks... will grip the nxt time! :)

Comments appreciated...
Hi mercury

Your speed is quite similar but higher than mine in all the corners. Since you also using racelogic......wanna meet up and compare notes so I can learn from you

Oh, by the way, I was at the sept TCC trackday, maybe I have met you there.......
I am the white rx-8......think only one white rx-8 on that day......the other one being charles, the red TC rx-8, who is also a regular for TCC........ :)

soulV

Nov 24, 2008
whoarr...hit 200km/h by start/finish line?will really need a very VERY high powered car 2 do dat right?i only managed 182km/h on main straight n my braking point is always sumwhr ard d 100m mark.....but still managed 2.48 lap time on Yoko A050......n both my top speed n lap time is recorded using Race Chrono

soulV,
ur EF can hit 200km/h ar?borrow me ur car?thn i go do sum serious lap time?kekekeke
haha...only hit 200 just bef 100m mark...lots ppl says that my car can brake later but driver just dont hv enough ballz...hahaha....the top speed is just syok-syok...but the real layannnn is the corners....(if wanna get better top speed better go to hi-way)...hahahaha

mer707cury

Aug 15, 2009
Singapore
Hi mercury

Your speed is quite similar but higher than mine in all the corners. Since you also using racelogic......wanna meet up and compare notes so I can learn from you

Oh, by the way, I was at the sept TCC trackday, maybe I have met you there.......
I am the white rx-8......think only one white rx-8 on that day......the other one being charles, the red TC rx-8, who is also a regular for TCC........ :)
Hi Alan, i think i know you lo, think i sold my defi vsd x to you right??

If you see the speedo on my dash, discount it, this vid straight put 204 before braking, but on my box, it only reads 198! So we should be tied. However, i will try to ATTACK the corners next time... as advised by frens and here... compared to stock 2.42, i am still far away...

Share data? sure, but very time-consuming to go through them.... email me at [email protected]!

alan23

Jul 19, 2009
Hi Alan, i think i know you lo, think i sold my defi vsd x to you right??

If you see the speedo on my dash, discount it, this vid straight put 204 before braking, but on my box, it only reads 198! So we should be tied. However, i will try to ATTACK the corners next time... as advised by frens and here... compared to stock 2.42, i am still far away...

Share data? sure, but very time-consuming to go through them.... email me at [email protected]!
Hi Neighbour

Of course I remember you. So your speedo is abit off lah..........You going to next TCC.......I would probably rest until next year or at best do one more trackday in Dec.

Sure, I will email my files to you.........feel free to comment and let me know where I can improve...Cheers........Kopi on me.........
But pls keep my files P&C as I dont wan pple to laugh at my lousy lining....

pdreams

Nov 6, 2009
Singapore
Guys,

Hi Faisal,

Such timings have been declared across both sides of the causeway for the longest time but none had ever been caught on video or datalog. Much faster timings of 2m39s (Coilover, exhaust, big brake kit), 2m41s (bone stock) on a STOCK FD2R have also been declared before.

My personal record on worn street tires RE070s was 2m43.6s a year ago which I would not consider the car stock as I had already an intake, exhaust with no cat converter and speedcut for the obvious performance gains. I also had the basic brake line/fluid/pad upgrade (not caliper or disc size) although I would not really factor these as highly influential factors for the one off ultimate fast lap.

1 yr on my FD2R has an intake, header, exhaust setup with no cat converter and running on Toyo R888 medium compound semi-slicks. The car was Mainline dynoed at 202wheel hp based on SAE corrections and I figured the weight should be at least around the stock weight of 1260kg give and take since I added a 4 channel amp in the boot, insulation material for my door to achieve a nice audio effect.

At my most recent trackday last week, I clocked a 2m42.6 during which the R888 was running shaved beyond its threadwear indicator. Unfortunately, I fused my cigarette lighter earlier in the day and my PerformanceBox did not capture the lap, I only have it on video (which I will post up tonight at YouTube - pdreams's Channel) Thankfully, from the PBox, I had a 2m42.9s from a previous trackday and that session, from the best of 4 sectors, showed that a 2m42.1s is possible.

How is all that I have written relevant? After the whole bunch of words above, I only want to ask, do you have anything to back up the 2m42s in a bone stock FD2R? I hope HMRT driver is not a form of backup. I come with non-hostile intentions but I have to say, talk is cheap, no, talk is free. This is not directed at you but just stemming from my own reflection that too much timing have come and gone, and so have those who declared them in the first place. For some reason, the timing achieved by a STOCK FD2R has been contentious for the longest time and I believed I read something similar in the Evo Sg forum recently. Not sure how that ended up but I guess we could all discuss based on quantifiable variables.

Either case, do you attend any SG trackdays. Perhaps we could exchange some pointers some time if you still wish to after reading this post. Trackdays I tend to go to are organized by TCC, RCA, BMW-SG and Maximus Racing.

Cheers

P.S For the record, I did clocked a 2m45.6s in the FD2R w ONLY a Mugen Intake some 18mths ago, and I also thought 2m42s could be achieved in STOCK form. Personally, it has taken much more (car and driver inclusive) to achieve what I thought was possible. Over the past 18mths, I would not suppose among the many declarations of >=2m42s FD2R STOCK times-- only hearsay, forum postings, "I think it can be..." -- kind of references are available. Odd or coincidence? I am still searching for the answer.

i have a question
can kancil year 2003 onward (mata bulat) use l2s body kit ?
the eyes and the bumper n bolnet can fix ?:Not_Impressed:

how about the back ? can fix l2s back bolnet and bumper include the l2s light ?