IK20 or IK22

B16B Corolla

Hi,i am newbie here and i was just convert to BT auto. What is the best spark plug for this engine what is the difference between IK20 and IK22? Which one better for BT? And how about nology plug? Thanks for all sifu's advice.

IK20 is heat range 5 and IK22 is heat range 6, if not mistaken.....

it would depend alot on your engine mods. if you find that heat range 5 plugs are burning up (charred) too fast ....... then you should upgrade to a higher heat range.

my advise on spark plugs: a spark plug is a spark plug. it's function is just to create a spark.

don't bother wasting additional $$$$ on 0.0001 whp.

ya IK20/22 just the heat range differences, IK22 normally use for turbo/supercharge engine (correct me if i'm wrong here guys)
I'm using IK20... not bad
btw nice nick... combines two parties (kacuk)....:biggrin:

ya IK20/22 just the heat range differences, IK22 normally use for turbo/supercharge engine (correct me if i'm wrong here guys)
I'm using IK20... not bad
btw nice nick... combines two parties (kacuk)....:biggrin:

IK20 is stock. IK22 can be use on NA or supercharge too... IK24 much for turbo use.

how about the brand such as DENSO, BOSCH and NGK?

Another question, if I wanna use BZR head to our local seg AE101, is it possible?
Any modification needed?
When i bought the half cut come with the Levin ori muffler but i was thinking of the twin from 101. Which one better fot A/T?Anyone tried before?

how about the brand such as DENSO, BOSCH and NGK?

Another question, if I wanna use BZR head to our local seg AE101, is it possible?
Any modification needed?
When i bought the half cut come with the Levin ori muffler but i was thinking of the twin from 101. Which one better fot A/T?Anyone tried before?

About the spark plug you may refer the reply thread that provide by Dayline668.

BZR head to local SEG AE100? 1 word for you... are it worth, and you got so much money to doing so? If your answer was yes... go ahead, the ketuk body guy can do it for u. But alot of modification is needed!

A/T better to use stock muffler or small tips muffler. Or else you may end up with waste money again.

IK22 all the way ^^~ IK20 is still too-cold for 20v, BT or SVT~ if you keep revving to red-line~

refer to the tech data, 20V white top / black top best suit with spark plug heat range of 6 for NGK, 20 for Denso

Bump: refer to the tech data, 20V white top / black top best suit with spark plug heat range of 6 for NGK, 20 for Denso

IK22 all the way ^^~ IK20 is still too-cold for 20v, BT or SVT~ if you keep revving to red-line~

LOL,sure ar bro?
Than got any side effects or not if using ik22?Another question, now I just convert my engine and left the master pump. I already modded the twin port but just wondering will it be more efficient if use the dual-layer brake pump? Any moddification?TQ.

LOL,sure ar bro?
Than got any side effects or not if using ik22?Another question, now I just convert my engine and left the master pump. I already modded the twin port but just wondering will it be more efficient if use the dual-layer brake pump? Any moddification?TQ.

Just curious, anyone tried IK24 for 20 valve?

i did...its gooooood...ngam for u, for track ma......have to slowly drive or warm up bout 1 hour for the best working temp. straight away start then straight away hantam then sucks la ..lembik

the heat range is to determine how fast ur spark plug can release it's heat out b4 a preigniton or so called self ignite happen. if u use IK20 on a high compression engine surely it will ignite b4 the spark plug spark coz the heat at the plug is too hot until it ignite the air fuel mixture by itself. using a colder plug on an engine will give u longer time to heat up the plug to its working tempurature and at the same time ur engine will feel SEMPUT when it's cold. after heat up at working tempurature then everything will be ok. i use IK22 on my BT like time..morning start all okie..dun worry....currently using IK27 for my car...but is ok for my engine setup....

so it means that IK20 heat range is lower than IK24,27...blabla...and when starts in the morning need some time compare to higher heat range one right?if use IK22 than will no need warm up too long time and engine won't lembik when in cold condition. can i say so?

oh no bro ...the higher the number goes the colder plug it is ...IK20 plug cna't tahan heat as much as IK22. IK22 is more colder plug then IK20 so IK22 need more time to heat up to normal operating temperature.

bro caleb, so if in the cold morning I need 2 use more time to warm up my engine if I'm using IK22?
What is the advantages using IK22 compare to IK20? U said that IK20 cannot tahan more heat compare to IK22 right? So can u pls give me some example related to performance on this statement? Sorry if i asking noob question. I saw some forum a guy sold off his IK22 cuz he claimed that it's too cold? I m using BT anyway. TQ