How to prerare a team and car? (Race,Drift,Drag,Rally) no shop PLS!!!

let me start by apologising if this sounds like i am raining on your parade. but be sure that that is not my intention. i'm merely commenting based on my experiences in motorsports in malaysia.

Running a race car comprises of 3 different areas that have equal value.

First is knowledge; having the engineering knowhow to correctly build a race car, we're not talking some mechanic that has 10 years servicing turbo cars or doing piping etc.. racing is different. you need to treat the race car like you would say a bridge or an aeroplane. a high precision machine... so we're talking things like knowing the torsional rigidity of your chassis or the modulus of elasticity of your brake pads or the stiffness of your tire wall... they are all very detailed questions which very few race car teams in malaysia attempt to answer.

Second is labour. having all the knowledge in the would isn;t going to help you unless you have skilled labour. we're talking welding skills, engine blue printing, panel beating, suspension setup and management skills. more importantly is the person that writes out the budget since you need to put a dollar value on everything.

Thirdly, and arguably the least important part, is money. money is useful as in can easily interchange and compensate for the other two areas if you are lacking. however, if you have ample amounts of the first two.. money then becomes less of an issue.

it is quite possible to start your race team on a near 0 budget. keep in mind that this will be one of the most difficult tasks you will undertake. since money is a problem.. i suggest you go out and acquire skills or knowledge... not everyone can be like mokzhani mahathir, buy an RSR (example of using money to replace skill and knowledge) and win the MME....

if you do a search on the history of ron dennis (mclaren F1 boss) you'll find an inspiring story of how they built F1 cars in a barn with a shoe string budget that won GPs, winning teams with much much bigger budgets.

the fact is that malaysia is facing an economic crisis... no one is going to give you money to go racing.. no one has been giving us money to go racing since the early 90s.. so much so that we've given up on asking for money sponsorship.. but we do ask for products and services..

again.. there is alot more to this... its just a little insight of what i feel you can do since its an experience i also had to go thru..

let me start by apologising if this sounds like i am raining on your parade. but be sure that that is not my intention. i'm merely commenting based on my experiences in motorsports in malaysia.

Running a race car comprises of 3 different areas that have equal value.

First is knowledge; having the engineering knowhow to correctly build a race car, we're not talking some mechanic that has 10 years servicing turbo cars or doing piping etc.. racing is different. you need to treat the race car like you would say a bridge or an aeroplane. a high precision machine... so we're talking things like knowing the torsional rigidity of your chassis or the modulus of elasticity of your brake pads or the stiffness of your tire wall... they are all very detailed questions which very few race car teams in malaysia attempt to answer.

Second is labour. having all the knowledge in the would isn;t going to help you unless you have skilled labour. we're talking welding skills, engine blue printing, panel beating, suspension setup and management skills. more importantly is the person that writes out the budget since you need to put a dollar value on everything.

Thirdly, and arguably the least important part, is money. money is useful as in can easily interchange and compensate for the other two areas if you are lacking. however, if you have ample amounts of the first two.. money then becomes less of an issue.

it is quite possible to start your race team on a near 0 budget. keep in mind that this will be one of the most difficult tasks you will undertake. since money is a problem.. i suggest you go out and acquire skills or knowledge... not everyone can be like mokzhani mahathir, buy an RSR (example of using money to replace skill and knowledge) and win the MME....

if you do a search on the history of ron dennis (mclaren F1 boss) you'll find an inspiring story of how they built F1 cars in a barn with a shoe string budget that won GPs, winning teams with much much bigger budgets.

the fact is that malaysia is facing an economic crisis... no one is going to give you money to go racing.. no one has been giving us money to go racing since the early 90s.. so much so that we've given up on asking for money sponsorship.. but we do ask for products and services..

again.. there is alot more to this... its just a little insight of what i feel you can do since its an experience i also had to go thru..

THANKS for ur advise bro!
i'm just one malaysian that wanted to kick start this motorsport thing that graved so long!!:sleep::sleep::sleep:
NOt always follow behind people n get our pocket drained before achive anything!!!
:listen:what if i tell u that i have all the tech u said + u didnt think of n up to formula cars!!!!
:listen:i can offer my to be labour if this work.
:listen:$$$ i was trying to gather this forum member to start this new way of motorsport team!
:listen:read the rule...la! $10 for each member not 10k:rofl::rofl::rofl:

:listen:people knowledge will ++++++ to what u dont think of!!!:smokin:

:rolleyes: post ur comment of this topic!!!! good or bad!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

:wavey:more to share!!!!

• DSC00592.jpg
    DSC00592.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 146
  • DSC00554.jpg
    DSC00554.jpg
    70.9 KB · Views: 149
  • DSC00688.jpg
    DSC00688.jpg
    65.2 KB · Views: 154
been reading your post and would like to add 1 or 2 things to what CQLOH said...

first of all, i have this dream since i was a kid...since my uncle won a local rally with his Datsun Pulsar - which was prepped and financed and driven on his own - of course with a lot of help and support from friends...

i might post the pic of that car as soon as i figure how to operate my new scanner!

and my last so-called involvement in motor racing was last year's MME - which i lent a few nuts and bolts from my suzuki swift in order for team suzuki (driven by kiki, azad and one jap chick) to have their test run in sepang.

my hopes were high, as they need 2 cars for the race actually and i'm willing to lend mine, as i first thought everything is kaw-team by suzuki malaysia. it turned out to be that they'd only sponsor the manual gearbox and all other expenses is up to ME!

heheheh...there goes another un fullfilled dream...

what bro cq loh said is so true...plus, in malaysia, at all times - politics come first and that's what i found really disgusting!

some seats on MME race cars are up for "sale" actually and if u have the money, u can actually buy one - no matter if this is the first time you put your hands on a race machine! if you are willing to fork out like 15 - 20k ringgit and put them up for a race team, surely that team will have a seat for you reserved...at least for one or 2 laps...

politics sucks and this is why our motorsports is going nowhere...we have 1st class facilities. we have the brains. we have lotsa talents.but we also have lotsa ass to be kissed before we can really do what we're suppose to...

and the other thing is the FIA regulations. You have to read,understand and apply all the regulations, i.e car weight,roll cage and safety matters, engine modificataions, tyres and wheels, welding jobs and all the way up to the drivers selection - the race attire - jumpsuits, crash helmets, gloves, shoes bla, bla, bla....

as for the engines, from what i see, i think it is safe to enter with a race/rally proven engines as they are really tough and stand a very high level of torture during the high revving events...

mitsu's 4g93 (satria gti and putra) is one tough engine - rally proven. toyota's ae86 was also made to last till the judgement day...

as chassis wise, satria gti (1999 model) is a good base to start with. the new satria neo is also not bad.

there are a few other choices but those i mentioned above is quite cheap to obtain and the spares are also cheap and easy to find.

and if u are interested, my swift is always up for offer. the only problem is it comes with auto tranny...sigh....

my cousin,azad, who drove for suzuki last year, was previously race manager for gunaseelan rajoo when they debut for malaysian rally championship a few years back with their proton putra. my uncle, who won the rally that i mentioned at the beginning of this post, is his dad.

he can do the budget and he can lay out for us what a race team need and how to minimise cost for at least our first ever entry into the race.

MME is a big race. a long one too.and i dont think its suitable for beginners like us. the asian 1500 (not sure the name)that has been won by those satria neos from alex yoong's team is a good start i see...

sponsors? lets forget it at the moment. the economy. the politics. lets not dissapoint ourselves with high hopes and keep the reality check at all times.

if we wanna do it, we have to start on our own and get ourselves ready for the biggest challenge of our lives!

good luck!

team I think most important is good manager... need to manage finance, people, etc...

drivers need 3 (or 4 for sepang 1000km), good crew of mechanic 2 - 3 also enough, as long can change tyre, brake pads, top up oil during race. Maybe need at least 4 people la... Someone must also able to diagnose engine problem quickly... maybe even change clutch in 20 mins!

for the car, roll cage most important. Oil surge tank also recommended. Kill switch, fire extinguisher, race seat + belt also need la.

Kit... racing suit and shoes for all as well as good helmet. HANS system recommended but expensive la. Cool suit also good, also expensive also.

what else ah...?

---------- Post added at 02:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:38 PM ----------

yeah, I guess money too...