Car Insurance claim

davidlow7

Hi everyone,

I search and search but unable to find out which forum section is the best for me to post.

I had a an accident last Friday and car is now in workshop @ Subang.

Insurance: Tokio Marine
Car Year : 2003 Aug

Now the workshop refuse to give in genuine parts and insist all parts to be Taiwan's parts due to my car is already no longer within 5 years. I called up to my insurance agent and they said there is nothing much I can do.

I called up again to the insurance company to ask and they said it depends on the adjuster. But if the adjuster gives original, the workshop will still replace non-genuine parts. Here I seek advise and what should I do?

i think this is quite standard....this is wat they call betterment....unless u have paid in the betterment amount then they should give u ori....n yes afte 5 yrs...they have the right of not giving you ori :( very sad industry standards

Hi bro, sad to hear that you involved in an accident.

May I know the car model? I still think that everything is still up to the workshop to give you the genuine parts. I don't know that they have the right of not giving you the parts after 5 years.

What I know, it's up to the workshop to quote the adjuster the cost based on the parts(genuine) and it's up to the workshop to "kaw-tim" with the adjuster, or I'm probably wrong.

If it's possible, check with other workshop, someone that you know quite well in the "industry", that may not con you.

I truly regretted sending to the stupid shop that I didn't know cause I have no one to contact in KL. And I believe that day accident was due to some oil poured on the road which caused the accident. It was 50-60km/h drive at the fast lane on Federal Highway and it WASN'T an emergency brake at all. The margin with the front car was very far, around 10meter and when I saw the car infront slow down then I just press the brake a little as per normal driving.

BUT suddenly the tyre locked and skidded and I was shock how could this happen as I didn't clamp hard on the brake. Then I release brake and clamp again this time it just bang.

My trousers had some black oil when I reached home after making police report. I truly suspected something but had no evident and it was raining that day and those towing and foreman were on there standby. I had no choice but to let them do. :(

I truly regretted sending to the stupid shop that I didn't know cause I have no one to contact in KL. And I believe that day accident was due to some oil poured on the road which caused the accident. It was 50-60km/h drive at the fast lane on Federal Highway and it WASN'T an emergency brake at all. The margin with the front car was very far, around 10meter and when I saw the car infront slow down then I just press the brake a little as per normal driving.

BUT suddenly the tyre locked and skidded and I was shock how could this happen as I didn't clamp hard on the brake. Then I release brake and clamp again this time it just bang.

My trousers had some black oil when I reached home after making police report. I truly suspected something but had no evident and it was raining that day and those towing and foreman were on there standby. I had no choice but to let them do. :(

so sorry to hear u met accident...but federal highway is prone to it especially at the stretch near the border between kl & pj..at the arch....."selamat jalan or selamat datang"

usually u can see a lot of scavengers(call man) standby there chit chatting and wait in cars or tow truck....its truly sad they use such unethical was to make ppl accident and earn money out of ppl's suffering, injuries and sometimes death...

innocent ppls are driving and making a living but these "bastards" are doing sins....the money they earned is not thru proper way...sure god will punish them....

one day what if his relative, family or friends pass thru that way....sad story for them la...

i am frustrated too when i heard or seen this....sigh.....

Hi everyone,

I search and search but unable to find out which forum section is the best for me to post.

I had a an accident last Friday and car is now in workshop @ Subang.

Insurance: Tokio Marine
Car Year : 2003 Aug

Now the workshop refuse to give in genuine parts and insist all parts to be Taiwan's parts due to my car is already no longer within 5 years. I called up to my insurance agent and they said there is nothing much I can do.

I called up again to the insurance company to ask and they said it depends on the adjuster. But if the adjuster gives original, the workshop will still replace non-genuine parts. Here I seek advise and what should I do?

actually when the workshop has done up yr car and upon releasing it, he will ask u to sign a form that said u r satisfy and happy with the job done and you are taking the car in working condition and repaired to yr satisfactory level. it also stated the amount of claims that has been approved. kindly consult yr friend from any mudguard shop or mechanic that knows bout repair cost to estimate it (show them the pics or explains the damage condition)...estimate it using ori parts and imitations parts....so if insurance company approved amount is high,

lodge a report at the HQ of yr insurance provider and demand ori part or else don sign....
try don go alone coz usually they're scare u

Bump: hope this might help...good luck bro

davidlow,

I have been in this line for 7 years, and sadly to tell you, I have never heard off and seen one insurance claim used a genuine or new part.

Its common practice the those guys use cutoff and generic prod to repair and the adjuster is just another b&^t&%d at work....

But if you got time and mood you can do this....

1 make a list of your need parts to repair the accident
2. quote them along with the workmanship
3 call the adjuster and ask for approval to repair
4 fix it and then ask adjuster to verified it
5 claim the money from insurance...

In real world and the insurance paper you signed does gives us the consumer right to repair the car to it original condition. Here is the tricky section. Using generic and repaint or recond used part to will restore it to [ori] state. So why the insurance workshop want to cut down their margin in order to please you ?

haha.... :rofl:

sometimes it is useful to nego wit the workshop too if u don want too much hassles...

I have already bring up this case to NCCC, Tokio Marine and their Asst. Sr General Mgr called me to help me settle. This case is now quite serious and upper level management of the insurance company is looking at it. However I still need to pay for the betterment for some parts I insisted to be ori. The insurance company has also agreed to send an adjuster to go with me to inspect the car when I go and take it.

hi,

im running at insurance claim workshop....

ur car 2003, got betterment....

to make it simple, u got 2 choices (if in my shop)

u dun need pay the beterment, but i gv u brand new non-genuine or used genuine parts...depends how we work on it

u agreed to pay the betterment, all genuine brand new for you.

try talk to workshop, u direct cucuk them at insurance company or adjuster, workshop will beh syiok......they wil get warning and make things complicated to done

anything can ask me....

actually when the workshop has done up yr car and upon releasing it, he will ask u to sign a form that said u r satisfy and happy with the job done and you are taking the car in working condition and repaired to yr satisfactory level. it also stated the amount of claims that has been approved. kindly consult yr friend from any mudguard shop or mechanic that knows bout repair cost to estimate it (show them the pics or explains the damage condition)...estimate it using ori parts and imitations parts....so if insurance company approved amount is high,

lodge a report at the HQ of yr insurance provider and demand ori part or else don sign....
try don go alone coz usually they're scare u

u cant file a case, as you dunno the actual/exact costs involved....

mudguard shop only buy part,repair,spray then kawtim..the only costs they know how to count/calculate. they do cash deals of coz.

but insurance claim vehicle is more complicated....

towing fee, callman fee, adjuster fee...etc etc....and last is they hv to wait for a period of time for the payment

and if at the 1st place u not agree the term n condition, u can shift or move to another workshop....

y still leave car there n later on complain?

Actually I tried to call and liase with the workshop. But the lady wasn't interested in talking and liasing with me. I have told her we need to negotiate the parts but then she just refuse. This prompted me to actually bring this case up to the insurance.

aiks...lady? find the boss ma...big or small shop?

actually its a part of the procedures you read here, i am in this business too but on a different setup....if u nego with the workshop and wanna pull yr car out...usually they will demand u some compensation vary from rm500 to ,,,,,,, depends on the damages...correct me if i am wrong...always there is both side of stories...i am juz sharing my 2cents...up to you to decide...hoping to share my experience and advice...no intention to be flame or whatever....

you can bring complaint to Tokio Marine HQ and Bank Negara regarding this kind of practice by the workshop. If you can prove and willing to go to court..then you can proceed.

abang,

the betterment and the parts replacement procedure edi followed as stated by Bank Negara..

if u file case, mean u r sueing Bank Negara :)

*go understand wat is betterment, and how it works...so you will know wat the reason u r not getting brand New Genuine parts for your old car.

Bump: if TS really not happy wit the current workshop,

try find another workshop..if another workshop can gv the things u want...then change workshop

but the hope is very minimal to be straightforward to u.....

in general, almost 100% of the claimer are abusing the claims and hurt consumer.

The insurance company themself have to take up most of the responsibilities because they are not concern with what their insurer get but only their income and payout ratio.. so this create a grey area of true and lies.

and also la.. the adjuster also b%^7ard :mad:

business lor.....one trying to save cost, one trying to maximise profit and insured is the one suffer and ended up with some inferior works....juz 2cents of mine...

in general, almost 100% of the claimer are abusing the claims and hurt consumer.

The insurance company themself have to take up most of the responsibilities because they are not concern with what their insurer get but only their income and payout ratio.. so this create a grey area of true and lies.

and also la.. the adjuster also b%^7ard :mad:

yeap, no consistency in every adjustor's report...it vary from one another even same damage....anyway its beyond our control....insurance company appointed them, ...

N sometimes we won't really know adjuster could be very close friend with workshop. Assuming they have to go to these workshops every now and then. Of course all the workshop people will try to make friends with them. But then let just not assume too much. I just hope they do things fair and square then I am okay already. I am willing to pay for the betterment provided your work are satisfactory. Too bad I do not know any workshop when I accident.

Can I ask you guys, I also had a summon due to that accident case. Is it able to get a discount now? As far as I heard no discount this month. :(

N sometimes we won't really know adjuster could be very close friend with workshop. Assuming they have to go to these workshops every now and then. Of course all the workshop people will try to make friends with them. But then let just not assume too much. I just hope they do things fair and square then I am okay already. I am willing to pay for the betterment provided your work are satisfactory. Too bad I do not know any workshop when I accident.

Can I ask you guys, I also had a summon due to that accident case. Is it able to get a discount now? As far as I heard no discount this month. :(

if the adjuster is close wit the workshop, this is a good news for u..

at least the parts claimed are given, so workshop can replace for u.

if adjuster n workshop not close, adjuster very strict and most of the minor damaged parts they ask repair, not to change...example, minor damaged front bonnet = repair instead of change, minor damged front fender = repair instead of replace...

but if adjuster n workshop is close, al replaced instead of repair...so its good for u.

btw, old car is like tat.betterment applied due to depreciation values.

workshop is just a middle person between client and insurance company, they do as instructed by insurnace company according to adjuster reports.

actually what huakenny says is also true la....

bout the summon, usually no discount but u can appeal at the counter or try check via http://www.myeg.com.my .....if pay online u get some discount...i tried last week.