Tein & N1 Racing

pk47

I need an advice and discussion about the problem I face today, all Tein fans and user here please give advice. Thanks!
I just come across this issue today from N1, below is the story details.
I had brought a set of Tein Super Street h/l and s/h adjusterble absorber from N1 3 weeks back, after installed I'm quite happy with the new set of Tein absorber, but too bad the bad thing happen after just 3 days. When I come across some road in klang valley area as you guys know is in bad conditions, exmp some of the main highway have some slope or bump. When come to this kinda slope, ofcause the car absorber will presure down with fast impact, and my Tein sounded with loud banging sound, even with my girl sit beside me without any knowlage about car asking me what sound is that.
So immediately I when back to N1 the next day, sale person say he will my an appointment to check, when come to the appointment day they say not free because less of worker and some in sepang for some event bla bla bla, I'm fine with that and reset another appointment the following week which is today. Person I talk to today is the boss of N1, he take my car for testing and return with answer 'Sir your car absorber is running well and no problem'. So I diside to take him along and I drive this time, because the problem is only happen when come across highway with slope or road condition that can make the absorber presure with fast impact, road in sunway no way can allow me to test out the problem I face, yet the person beside me is start showing his face, so I got no choice and need to return to the shop. And the boss start explaining the spec of this Tein Super Street absorber, he say this is a short stroke absorber, free space in absorber is lower than normal absorber, say with bad condition of road in Malaysia with have this kinda problem. And I asking how to avoid this problem? He answer back 'drive slow lo'... My first impression is wtf???!!! I spend alot of money to buy this Tein is because can give me more staiber driving control when come across high speed road, and you ask me to drive slow?! Then what for I buy Tein? Better use back my ori absorber with more comfort and silence drive!!!
As a contomer always right kinda thinking, I ask him to take out the absorber and check it, the boss say can! But you got to pay RM50 per absorber labor fees. WTF!!!! Still want me to pay for all this crab, do you all think is correct way to do after sales service??? And yet he say our waranty is only cover with oil liking on absorber, not cover with internal parts change. WTF!!!!! Is it suppose to have full cover on waranty period?? And this did not mention to me when I brought this absorber.
Did any 1 here face across this kinda situation from N1? The so call themself CO Distributor for Tein in Malaysia... Please advice what I should do next?
Thank you very much! And I'm the person who drive the Suzuki swift.

go sit in their car(N1 car) and ask them why no sound one laaa

:shakehands:
I need an advice and discussion about the problem I face today, all Tein fans and user here please give advice. Thanks!
I had brought a set of Tein Super Street h/l and s/h adjusterble absorber from N1 3 weeks back, after installed I'm quite happy with the new set of Tein absorber, but too bad the bad thing happen after just 3 days. When I come across some road in klang valley area as you guys know is in bad conditions, exmp some of the main highway have some slope or bump. When come to this kinda slope, ofcause the car absorber will presure down with fast impact, and my Tein sounded with loud banging sound, even with my girl sit beside me without any knowlage about car asking me what sound is that.
So immediately I when back to N1 the next day, sale person say he will my an appointment to check, when come to the appointment day they say not free because less of worker and some in sepang for some event bla bla bla, I'm fine with that and reset another appointment the following week which is today. Person I talk to today is the boss of N1, he take my car for testing and return with answer 'Sir your car absorber is running well and no problem'. So I diside to take him along and I drive this time, because the problem is only happen when come across highway with slope or road condition that can make the absorber presure with fast impact, road in sunway no way can allow me to test out the problem I face, yet the person beside me is start showing his face, so I got no choice and need to return to the shop. And the boss start explaining the spec of this Tein Super Street absorber, he say this is a short stroke absorber, free space in absorber is lower than normal absorber, say with bad condition of road in Malaysia with have this kinda problem. And I asking how to avoid this problem? He answer back 'drive slow lo'... My first impression is wtf???!!! I spend alot of money to buy this Tein is because can give me more staiber driving control when come across high speed road, and you ask me to drive slow?! Then what for I buy Tein? Better use back my ori absorber with more comfort and silence drive!!!
As a contomer always right kinda thinking, I ask him to take out the absorber and check it, the boss say can! But you got to pay RM50 per absorber labor fees. WTF!!!! Still want me to pay for all this crab, do you all think is correct way to do after sales service??? And yet he say our waranty is only cover with oil liking on absorber, not cover with internal parts change. WTF!!!!! Is it suppose to have full cover on waranty period?? And this did not mention to me when I brought this absorber.
Did any 1 here face across this kinda situation from N1? The so call themself CO Distributor for Tein in Malaysia... Please advice what I should do next?

So bad 2 heard that bro.............but what im goin to tell u later is kind of fair story for both party ok.......1st of all come to TEIN absober....is a very good,my choice n most of the ppl too....bcos of its own quality on force damping for every car...as urself already known............ok then v c back on ur own word.( I spend alot of money to buy this Tein is because can give me more staiber driving control when come across high speed road, and you ask me to drive slow?! Then what for I buy Tein? ) bro u mention there is HIGH SPEED ROAD leh....not slope o bump...somemore do u drive fast when u facing towards o go through any bump n slope??????????? if u do ..good luck on ur future no need to repair ur car bushes o take my advise use back ur original absober...Then the boss told u ( Tein Super Street absorber, he say this is a short stroke absorber, free space in absorber is lower than normal absorber, say with bad condition of road in Malaysia with have this kinda problem. And I asking how to avoid this problem? He answer back 'drive slow lo'.)..............i think the boss saying the right thing ..............even my self...i love my car,i haved use TEIN HR soft/hard and now change to HA hi/low soft/hard.............and im very scare to repair my car cos need lot of $$$$ of course...i also drive slow when facing those slope o bump even i will take emergency break to do so.......i rather the behind car honk me....this my experince..

and come to ur parts............the boss should help u to take out the absober for checking o whtever shit la that can make thing better without charging u....cos u bought the TEIN from that shop ma...if want to charge also nvm lo but dont la rm50 for 1 absober. o mayb rm50 for 4 resonable n understood ma u say labour ok give as long as ur problem settle ma .......but this TOO MUCH man.....

LAST wht u can do nw is go there to deal wit the boss slow n easy.....if come to chargers .............give la rm100 is the max..........more than that u can ask him to TAPAU the shop then u lodge a report at police station saying them conned u then take a lawyer to sue them...............sorry this is just a suggestion when things o situation come to really bad/................................................good luck bro:shakehands:

Bro eg9, thanks for your reply. Atleast from your explainasion is much much more accepterble than answer from N1, this is what I call after sales service, atleast I pay and get then answer I want.
Talk about high speed wth slope on high way is very tuff to avoid, as you only know that is a slope after you pass it, but if any lost control of car handaling and cause you accident because of the absorber performance, so who should I blame to? To sammi or the absorber? Can Tein avoid this kinda problem in Malaysia road? If they can't, then this tein absorber is not mean to bring in to Malaysia. Why they still sell it here which is not mean to be Malaysia road???!!! Becuase they is no road to sut your car setting, only make car setting to sut the road. Is a big failure to sell this super street absorber here!!!
take an exmp, you buy a new car and you found problem, so you send back to the car manrifacturer, yet they have the responsible to fix it without any excuse. Why N1 can't do this even my absorber still in waranty? Some more ask me to pay?! Is it fare to a consumer??! Just want to let all of u guys know there is no waranty card for this tein absorber I brought, I can only use the reseit frm N1 as a waranty. Just want to know is this a ori tein from japan or it is a back door production from N1?

Bro pk,

U never see those Damn kau fast2 car go slow like turtle at Speed bumps, uneven roads and our usual bad condition malaysian roads meh?

Those adjustables are usually engineered for track use in mind. U can "pek" the corner kau kau if the road condition is good la..else drive like turtle lu. Also, dont expect it to be comfortable...pakai bucket seat, u lagi shiok.

Want to fully utilize it mai go sign up for track day at sepang. Then u can steam kuat2.

bro pk47.................u really need to understand this very seriously......
the TEIN absober is design and build for racing car and those car which want to look sporty usage purpose.........from the manufacturer at JAPAN.....they (japanese ppl) dont know o care about what road condition at ur country la.............come to last of anything bad thingssssssss really happen v should blame to the G la........the condition of the road in msia is really like shit hole .............high speed at highway cant avoid slope........yes myself too...SO wat u can do????????DO u dare to make complaint to the G??????if u do ...........thanks very much..ok PEACE

jokes aside ...
i previously had a set of TEIN HA hilo softhard in my car .. it was in my car for almost 2 yrs b4 i decided to give up motorsports and sold it ..
never had such problem aas described by topic starter .. i drove it thru fishing bad roads and our bad malaysian roads .. at reasonable fast speeds or at least the same speed as any other cars with stock suspensions ..
my tein HA was from kedai potong .. meaning this is ORI japan sheet !!!
i have been to N1 and had a look at their TEINs in display .. seriously sucks in build quality and finishing ... which leaves the doubt of whether they are doing a backdoor production of the well reputed TEIN and selling them cheaply here without the real TEIN's knowledge in japan
the tein HA in my car handled flawlessly thru our farked up roads with excellent frip etc etc .. dirt roads excluded of coz ..

btw the way i hear how N1 treats their customers who doesnt drive a super expensive or fast looking car ... really sucks .. meaning only the rich and famous gets good service .. i know coz i went there and was given the high nose treatment few weeks ago ... good thing i wasnt even there to buy something .. i was waiting for a fren to buy something .. otherwise surely i will fark them without reservation in their shop with extreme prejudice .. :p

i strongly suggest writing to TEIN JAPAN and complain .. take pics of your abs and then tell them how u are treated ... at the same time oso list the prob u are facing with your TEIN product ..

I'm using Type Flex. I think your problem can be solve with EDFC. Set the front and rear hard/soft till suit your requirement. Another thing can be done is add rubber hose on spring or add the white bumper rubber (on the absorber piston shaft). Mine has a harder spring and I have no problem. If you wanna maintain the comfort as original car but lower the height, So far as I know, only 3 choices :

1. Chop spring
2. After market lowering spring
3. Titan coilover kit (custom made).

I forgot which page, but you can try to read the first or last few pages. There is a big sentence stated the coilover set is meant for track use. :biggrin:

And 1 more thing, if you have time, please check if your car body can support the harder coilover for long period driving on uneven road.

wa so long story...i only can tell u the solution for the stupid absober sound. Very simple just put back your OEM rubber damper that come along with your stock absober into your current abs,the sound will dissapear that one is mean to absorb the "absober thumping". Some "bodoh mechanic" just donno where to find solution for such a simple thing. Most of the time they just throw the rubber thingy away when they install the new abs, it happen to me too when I install titan adjustable abs. Ya the rubber doesn't cost much but it does have his own function. Without installing it back u will hear loads of sudden "bung!bung!" sound when u go thru bump somtime those bump is not even deep at all. :biggrin:

I got one friend drive caldina gt4 and reconnmended by hypertune mag install tein super street at N1, the end story is just heaven and hell. He got a dam good discount price, even cheaper than my swift one. N1 use his top machnic to install the set for him, adjusted so many rounds till late night until he happy happy...... Most important thing his set got waranty card, and my don't have.

agreed with QIW. Write in to Tein japan either by fax or email, or better still, BOTH.

But i thing i got to admit though, we do not know how fast is your "high speed" and also the mentioned slope or bump. I do agreed Tein is more on motorsport products hence you do trade off comfort till certain level. You will not be able to go thru hump or bump as your previous speed achieve. Im having the feeling your car was set too hard

neverthless, its that unacceptable after sales service. I dont think the warranty only cover for oil leaking.

wa so long story...i only can tell u the solution for the stupid absober sound. Very simple just put back your OEM rubber damper that come along with your stock absober into your current abs,the sound will dissapear that one is mean to absorb the "absober thumping". Some "bodoh mechanic" just donno where to find solution for such a simple thing. Most of the time they just throw the rubber thingy away when they install the new abs, it happen to me too when I install titan adjustable abs. Ya the rubber doesn't cost much but it does have his own function. Without installing it back u will hear loads of sudden "bung!bung!" sound when u go thru bump somtime those bump is not even deep at all. :biggrin:

This is the best advise of all. Coming from my experience working with Bilstein motorsport for almost 2 years, it sounded like your absorber bottom-out on steep depression. But they are meant to do that - absorb bumps unless if you compare with racing absorber which they use up to 1000lb/inch2 springs which limits the bumps. I have used 330lb/inch2 (f) / 250lb/inch2 (r) plus 20% up on custom Group-A (tarmac-spec) Bilstein, and it bottom-out at certain drops too.

Like what Tohsan recommended, put the OEM rubber bump-stop back on the Tien shaft and that should prevent your down-stroke from hitting the top. One other thing is to check and make sure your spring are in compression too. Some ppl lower the height rings too much until the springs were flopping within. It will cause a bagging/clanking sound whenever the car hit a bump (compress), rebound upwards and drops back on the spring. If you really want to go for such "looks", you would need a set of helper springs as well.

Alternatively, that what we motorsport company advise ... Lowering your street car too much does not help with the cars' handling ... In fact, makes it worse coz it changes all you arms geometry and balance completely. There is no ultra-race suspension with street car comfort either. It's a black-art, and one set-up may prove winning for one driver, and nightmare for another - this I have manufactured for a pair of targa-rally GTR v-specs.

Tohsan :adore: :adore: :adore:

Hope it helps you understand the art alittle more :listen:

what the hell!!! so expensive stuff doesn't come with warranty card? what kind of product selling by the so call N1? even my GAB (malaysia Bikin) absorber also come with warranty card. N1, normally will layan baik baik for all those expensive car owner like caldina, evo, impreza or soo... last time i remember i looking for drop in performance filter for myvi, after i ask the sell person, 1 word reply: no. that all no 1 will entertain you.

Agree with QIW, write to TEIN japan and wait the principal reply, 1 week no reply, send another. use bubble fish to translate into japanese and send in to tein japan afraid the japun kia not understand english, kasi taruk kau kau. not even 1 week install got problem, sommore need customer to paid for labour charge..... what the service provided...

agreed with QIW. Write in to Tein japan either by fax or email, or better still, BOTH.

But i thing i got to admit though, we do not know how fast is your "high speed" and also the mentioned slope or bump. I do agreed Tein is more on motorsport products hence you do trade off comfort till certain level. You will not be able to go thru hump or bump as your previous speed achieve. Im having the feeling your car was set too hard

neverthless, its that unacceptable after sales service. I dont think the warranty only cover for oil leaking.

Sorry to all that i don't explaine it clear. What i mean high speed is travel on 100kmh-120kmh, when i run over some slope on the highway (some time it happen on the highway, suddently there is a down slope in middle of the highway), and im sure ppl with travel exprerance know this. When come accross this kinda highway with the speed i mention, the absorber with fast down force then it compress to the max, so hit the most bottom part of absorber with bang bang sound. so is not that i run thru bump or slope on normal with high speed, im not that daring ma, because i know this will spoiled the absorber, rims, bodykit and bla bla bla.

When i brought this Tein absorber, i follow the instruction on the manu set it soft, but after the sound came out i set it to medium hard, yet still got sound when run over slope on highway. After i meet my friend who drive the caldina with same super street abs from N1, he say he do face the sound problem at the begining, now he set the abs till max hard and less sound, so i just follow wat he say.

For the waranty part, is the boss himself say only cover on oil licking only, not waranty on internal part change, and i do remember i ask how much to service a pc of absorber before i brought, listen carefully is RM400 per pc. So means if my absorber need to claim under waranty, i still need to pay RM300 per pc (minus the oil licking for maybe RM100)

This friend of my who drive the caldina do tell me is very hard for me to talk or nego with N1, because they are businessman mindset, they wont give you a dam when u go back make complain, because they already make your money. Even if i complain to Tein Japan, do u think they will help me when i make complain about N1??? And Tein Japan wont because of me take back the Co Distributor ownership from N1, because N1 is their business partner, N1 make money from them. So the conclution is........if you think u got money, happy to let them con your money, go ahead with N1. If not, go buy direct from japan, this is the better solution i can think on now.

Eyong taikor

can you copy Bugatti Veyron suspension or not? fast n comfort si beh syok. :biggrin:

pk47

i suggest you check your abs rubber damper see whether its still there, becos without the rubber damper definately when your abs bottom out it will create very loud sound, its quite frightening sometime u think u car bang something hard. No need wast time talking to N1, settle this yourselfla, very simple job,any workshop also can do it. No point talking to N1 i think, they most likely will wanna have nothing to do with your abs, too bad.

if u had written or complained to TEIN japan .. .chances are TEIN japan will open their eyes to what their agent in malaysia is doing .. who said nothing is achieved ??
take the initiative to write 1st ... then see what happens .. TEIN is a well known brand in the suspension world .. u think they dont care about their products reputation one meh ??
as sole distro and service centre for TEIN in malaysia .. u think N1 wanna lose their dealership with TEIN ??

btw ... i never had that bottoming out effect or whatever sound when i was using my TEINs .. no matter how high a speed i go on the highway and thru those dips on the highways ...

Tohsan ... I think they run active suspension like the GTR-35 (which uses Bilstein). They have different settings on both bump and rebound control but ultimately I don't think there is one setting which suit everyone - never. Price? Don't think they make any for non-specific makes.

Basic suspension set-up is to get the correct spring rate to apply to your specification. Then use the bump (or known as soft/hard here - almost like porn talk, hahaha) control to tune to the finer element. We never really totally use bump to control much. Normally we custom springs for the application and tune the bump shims to spec. But the biggest play for handling is the rebound control. That we set-up the internals (shims) to tailor for the spring to give better body/roll control of the car.

Back to active shocks, so far I don't think motorsport has totally accepted it yet. They are still using monotubes with canisters, plus a zillion or so bump and rebound controls on the shock. Also not forgetting they also have mobile suspension tune-up truck (which Bilstein motorsport I worked for has 1 too) to do tune, and repair on the spot.

By the way, those motorsport shocks range from 3000 up to 10-15k A piece depending on exotic materials used. Personally, I like those magnesium struts. So light ... can cuddle to sleep .... aaaaah ....

very difficult to comment without knowing the true story

as far as i know or what i have experienced.dun think that tein super steet absorber will hit the end with those slope u describing.your car got 300kg of soundsystem??:rofl:

another possiblity,the sound is not from the absorber.from some other car handling component.ie lower arm,antiroll bar link,bushing,etc...

get your car check by someone else,see whether those bushing got wear out or not.sometimes theres no sound when u using stock absorber but after u change to a sportier type absorber.the ride height is difference and the sportier absober wont absorb roah harshness like stock absorber.

i used few set of tein absorber from last time till now

tein HA on my civic ek
tein HA on my evo4
tein super street on my integra
tein type flex on my integra

haven experience those sounds u describing even sometimes accidentally drive fast over slope or bump

Qiw,the not so nice quality tein u saw in N1.i think it was the super street,have to agreed with u.it looks cheap,but from the web or magazine.the super street model all looks like that.the green colour seems lighter than other model.

about the warranty card,theres a warranty card inside the box.
i bought the super street new at N1 too,but installed somewhere else.sold it after 1 month,too soft for me.
even it was soft,i didn experience the hit the end like u.
fyi,even 1 month enaugh for me to test.because i fetch 2-3 persons in my car most of the time and the road im driving full of those slope or corner.