1997 cefiro tire and suspension question

cleng

hi! just a quick question. i've been researching on what size of rims i'm going to get and i've decided to get some 18 inches rims. now here are my questions:

1) how come almost all who has 18 inches rims uses 225/40/18 or 235/40/18? can't we fit some 225/45/18 or 235/45/18 on a 18x8.5 rims on a 1997 Cefiro?

2) i'm planning to lower the car too. how many inches of drop do u think is ideal for a cefiro? Not too low but not too high either.

i've pretty much decided on what rims to get but i really need some advices from you guys on what tires to get and how much of a drop is ideal. thanks in advance!

regards
cleng

bro, the size of ur tyres depends on the width on ur rims. if ur rims is 8JJ, then use 225. if u r using 8.5JJ, u use 235..and so on...thats the normal spec.

as for cefiro, the recommended size for 18"x8JJ is 225/45/18 while 18"x8.5JJ is 235/40/18...i dont think u can find 235/45/18 series tyres in d market.

also, u cant use tyres that r bigger than ur stock tyre in diameter. its norm if u increase ur rim size, ur tyre size will decrease.

use this tyre calculator n u will understand: http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

Hi Cleng,

I'm no tyre guru, my understanding is the number does mean something, so please do correct me where I am wrong.

225/40/18 means the tyre width is 225 mm and the tyre wall is 40% of 225 using 18" rim diameter.

using 45 series means that you'll increase your tyre wall which allows for more surface to crumple during hard cornering.

Also, the overall diameter of the rim + tyres should follow the standard rim that came with the car as closely as possible or you may have to re-calibrate your speedometer.

thanks for all your replies. that's what the tire shop was telling me. i should get a 235/40/18 because my rim width is 8.5. they have a 45% but the problem is it's 245/45/18 and like what you guys said it might not fit properly and might hit something under the car. so i'll just go with the 235/40/18 then. thanks again fellow mwmbers and more power to this forum :)

regards
cleng

how about the lowering of the body? any suggestions on how much of a drop i'll do for the car not to look too low but not too high too? how many inches do you think i should lower it?

bro....... depends on ur taste lar.......... somebody like it to b as lowest as it can..... some like it to b abit lower than stock....... in depends on ur country's road condition as well......... for us in Malaysia.... very hard to get the lowest coz the road is not very nice in kay elle...... might b big bumps n big holes around.... unlike in japan where the road is always like new..... but of coz the lower the better.....

I'm using tokico black v eibach spring..... bumpiness is ok..... then the car handling is not as good when i used the Koni adjustable v stock spring.... then the car oso abit lowered..... but not the level that i want.... again.... it depends......

Yes.... The tyre size is calculated as stated by cgui...( thanks guru....) i.e.: 235/40/18.... means the tyre fit 18" wheel..... with tyre width of 235mm and the tyre height is 40% of 235mm ( 235 x 40% = 94mm)..... and it is not 35mm height... many ppl confused with that....... and also as stated as Ong.... the tyre width match your rim's width.... i.e. the 9JJ u can use the tyre with width upto 245mm..... for 10JJ u can even use upto 265mm..... how to fit 265mm tye since ur rim is onli 9JJ ( it is just like your head is too small for that hat)...... but bcareful of choosing tyres...... if u choose the tyre smaller than the standard..... i.e. 245mm tyre in 10JJ rim..... ur rim might b damaged if u crash v divider or road shoulder as the tyre is not wide enough to protect your rim..... so plz choose wisely.......

18" also very expensive already.. the market are reasonable for 17"

Write your reply...