B16A Max Modifications

i'm curious about the cr... even b18c stroker in b16a blok with dual piston rings will give u about 12.8 and have to use racing fuel... shorter rod n single ring...? (mcm TZM aku je...)

malaysia boleh i guess.. ehe

but if it true, i bet it a car for cari makan purposed only.. =)

due to it's durability to daily driven. buat lari saja la ni..ehe

durability is a good word. in order to drive those sort of
setups is to run as good r/s as possible and combinations.
:listen:

malaysia boleh i guess.. ehe

but if it true, i bet it a car for cari makan purposed only.. =)

due to it's durability to daily driven. buat lari saja la ni..ehe

i know that...i'm just lazy :P

maybe suhaimi can help us with that. find the r/s ratio then the piston speed and then the piston acceleration.... :)

haha wait for sampai kucing bertanduk pun i duno how to calculate it... hahahaha

i know that...i'm just lazy :P

maybe suhaimi can help us with that. find the r/s ratio then the piston speed and then the piston acceleration.... :)

hahaha.. you said something about B20B strokers in a B16A block?

one thing about the B20B stroker setup is the rods.. I wonder what kind of rods they're using..

for example, the B20B rod + crank = 227mm, and with the wrist pin at the standard height on the piston, you'd get the piston edges just at the same height with the block deck.. now you know why big stroke = longer cyclinder liners.

Say if you want to use a slightly longer rod at 139mm, your piston edges would come out 1mm from the block, and a way to get around this is using custom pistons with the wrist pin located 1mm higher than stock, so your piston edges would be level with the edge of the block.

Some special aftermarket pistons have the wrist pins sitting on the oil scraper rings on the pistons, in order to use longer rods in a block with big strokes that doesn't allow the use of longer rods without some ingenuity. The theoretical limit on these are the length of your piston skirts due to clearance issues.

Full skirt pistons usually can't have wrist pins higher past the oil ring for this reason, which is why some race pistons with high wrist pins are either half skirt or skirtless (F1, anyone?).. according to chris, the skirts also affect friction, so that's another reason for the short skirt/long skirt thing..

something like women.. women with long legs look good in short skirts, and women with short legs look better in long skirts.. hahahaha

so, consider the height of the liner in a stock B16A block, which can be estimated by the total height of the crank + rod = 211.8 mm (which is why the B16A block is shorter, because it doesn't need the long cyclinder liners like the typeR/B20s.

So, if you plonk in a B20B crank, you have to address these a few issues.

a) rod length = with a b20b crank, 211.8 - 89mm = 122.8mm, which means you need a rod of that length so that the piston doesn't come past the block deck at TDC.. (r/s ratio of this setup will be 1.379:1 You can also run the higher wrist pin pistons I mentioned to use slightly longer rods, but the r/s ratio will still stay somewhere in the 1.4:1 range, if I remember right, since I did consider this setup a while back, like maybe a year ago or so.

I didn't go for it because of the higher wrist pin location = burning oil.. prepare to frequently top up engine oil.

AFAIK, I can't find any oem cranks that come close to the 122.8, the closest would be 131.9 of the USDM B17A. so assuming you'd use that, you'd be looking at a r/s ratio of 1.48, which sounds quite near b20B's r/s ratio at 1.53.. now the problem would be needing pistons that has the wrist pin 9.1mm higher than the stock wrist pin location.

b) crank clearance....
this one.. I think maybe okay, but the counter weights might kiss the oil squirters, I think.

c) wrist pin location/shorter rods? .. this one, see explanation above.

Easy to guess the setup based on a few variables, don't you think?

Still it could be a B16B paku'ed with B16A running B20B crank.. cheaper what.

all dis discussions n calculations is good n healthy(if only i cud understang it lar!)....but leme stress again,d engine i saw is a B16A...definitely not any "stamped" B18 or B20 or even a B16B..CONFIRM...
eater_eg6 was w me dat nyte n he can confirm dis too....n yeah,v got 2 know dis set up n how FAST it can run all oso thanks 2 eater_eg6....(basket u!hahhahahaha)

oh btw,i remember our local boys haf shoved d 86mm K-series pistons into a B-series block too.....i believe its a B18C block..done by AMOIL a few years back...

J101,
u do remember dis engine in d once famous MOTSL black EG hatch,right?was it a B18 or B20 dy ar?but i definitely remember it was using d 86mm pistons coz every1 was commenting,"damn,its a time bomb waiting 2 explode!"

oh btw,i remember our local boys haf shoved d 86mm K-series pistons into a B-series block too.....i believe its a B18C block..done by AMOIL a few years back...

J101,
u do remember dis engine in d once famous MOTSL black EG hatch,right?was it a B18 or B20 dy ar?but i definitely remember it was using d 86mm pistons coz every1 was commenting,"damn,its a time bomb waiting 2 explode!"

Hahaha... you think 86mm is extreme? how about a K24A piston in a b-series block?
This one also a few years back.. hehehe.. ask Hiper Racing guys about this one.. they built it... and this is not the only one.. hehe.. :P

Euro R pistons shoehorned into a b-series.. :P
Stock sleeves won't last a minute with these..note the sleeves on this block. :P
Pistons.jpg

There's a few more setups I can think of, but reliabilty cannot be guaranteed lah..

if you use ductile iron sleeves, can run crazy r/s ratios, but lastability goes down the drain.

No high rpm either, due to the fact that piston speeds exceed those of the type-R easily, and there's no option for piston squirters for real big stroke setups, if it can do any good in the first place.

shiro,
wat can i say but CHEE KAU SIN MEH?FU-YOOOHH!!!!
wats d size of dat K24 pistons???

its a b20b with a k20 86mm piston. but claimed to be 1.8 le. as usual, claimed.

J101,

akuma... how do u know it is 2l stroker...? measured through spark plug hole ka...?

zamrioo,
how i know?coz in d end,sum1 frm d other "camp" burst out d lead n dats how v know wat was inside dat blardy B16A!

J101,
oooo..as usual,CLAIMED lar??ic ic..paham..dat fella very notty lar hor?

shiro,
go Kelantan TT?dun wan lar..so far..unless got goooood "incentive",diff story..heheheeheh

shiro,
go Kelantan TT?dun wan lar..so far..unless got goooood "incentive",diff story..heheheeheh
Hahaha.. Teh tarik secawan tak cukup ka? hahaha :P So greedylah you.. :P
Nevermindla.. tarik2 untuk syok sendiri saje.. not for cari makan.. :P

Whoopsie! No one notice the mistake I made.. 89mm crank needs to be divided by 2 to get the actual height of the rod + crank at TDC is from the middle of the main crank journalslah.. hahaha.. :P

Totally missed about it.. hahaha..

No wonder I felt something was not right here.. needing a piston with a wrist pin 9.1mm higher than stock is a bit too outlandish.. :P

Fix the earlier post later lah.. sleepy already.

Just wondering whats the max mods for b16a in term of stroke size. is it possible to put in b20b crank n 85mm piston into b16a?

i just got information about this... from one of my fren... kuantan guy....

his name... mmmm.... hehheehe... later laa..

Mate with what rods? 85mm b20b/z or aftermarket? y everyone diam already..waa got answers then suddenly diam haa...hahahahha