maintaining & upgrading

amsrsm

hello boys,
i need a rough estimate on the jobs im going to do so i can prepare some cash when the time comes. i realise im not a fully paid up member of mloc so i'd like to apologise if me posting here offends some people, but i'd like to remedy that so if someone could tell me how to join you nice fellas it would be great.
so to business.....my e7 is already 6 years old with 111000km on the clock so its time for some major maintenance work and upgrading. the things i'm looking at would be....

1) engine/gearbox mounting and bushes for the diff, upper/lower arm of the suspension. rm2k original mitsubishi mountings including air freight to kl

2) i think i need a top overhaul cos after a hard drive i see some oil coming out from under the screws holding the top of the engine cover, so maybe the gasket or a sealant is loose. rm2k

3) change fuel pump since my old one is at max capacity, get a better fuel pump so i only use half its capacity so i dont stress it too much. rm1k walbro

4) new suspension system. rm1.5k second hand ralliart or e9 suspension

5) add boost controller cos as it is now im running about 1.35bar of boost without a boost controller, so im thinking its probably safer to put one and make max boost around 1.2-1.3 bar....and also for peace of mind so there are no spikes. rm3k

6) tuning...im running hks f-con s. rm3.5k

so what i'd like to ask is how much am i looking at here? i've put the estimates at the end of the number so im probably looking at about 13k. d'you guys think thats a fair price?
and another thing, any other suggestions on things to look out for/replace since the car is already kinda old and mileage quite high?

Thanks a lot for your speedy replies guys!

2. Where is the leak from? Valve cover or cylinder head? If valve cover, the gasket is cheap and simple to replace, just make sure they torque the cover on properly or you'll crack it. A couple of hundred.

If it's from the head, you're probably looking at stretched head bolts. Do a comp. test to be certain. Doubtful you'll need a top overhaul unless you're starting to burn oil. ARP bolts are a few hundred.

3. Walbro 255 can be had for under 500, and the job is relatively simple if rather tedious. How do you figure your old one is maxxed?

5,6 . Boost controller for RM3K and tuning for RM3.5K? Why not just get a programmable ECU to do both? Look into a new WGA or external wastegate if you want consistent boost control.

Change the bushes, droplinks, and suspension mounts, if anything. Makes the car few brand new again. Complete Superpro bushes are around RM2K. Well worth the money.

cannon>thanks for the reply, i'll try and explain to the best of my knowledge to you some of the issues...

2. the leak that is coming from the engine, i dont know if its from the valve cover or cylinder head so i'll just tell you where i see the oil.....

say you're standing in front of the car looking at the engine....there are 3 screws holding the red rocker cover yes?

the oil is coming out of the middle screw, not a lot but clearly visible.

3. i figured my old fuel pump is maxxed out cos the tuner that i had before told me that the car is producing the appropriate amount of power but he had to rein it in a little because the fuel pump couldnt supply the fuel fast enough.

5,6. i already have an ecu, and i doubt anyone would buy an old fcon s when there are a million newer ones, so figure i'll keep it.

hmmm...might want to look into wastegates though, would that be the reason why im running such high boost?

unfortunately super pro only does suspension component bushes, no engine mounting from them.

i got power flex engine mounts from this shop in sunway but they were the wrong size!!! and they said no refunds, no exchanges because the box is dirty so they cannot re-sell it.

but its not my fault its not the correct size! even the box says lancer evolution vii on it but it doesnt fit. idiots!

WTS: Sun Auto Japan Car Performance Products

http://www.sunautomobile.com/images/SUN%20LOGO.jpg

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/hot_inazma/hyper/main.jpg

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/hot_inazma/top/main.jpg

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/inazma_pulse/main.jpg

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/inazma_supple/main.jpg

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/hot_inazma/pocket/main.jpg

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/hot_inazma/eco/main.jpg

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/hot_earth/main.jpg

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/x_power/main.jpg

Increase your car's torque, horsepower, better ICE sound, brighter headlights, longer battery life, gain extra milleage, etc .............

If you want to improve your car's horsepower and torque plus gain extra milleage legally, you may try Sun Auto's Hot Inazma and Hot Earth products, they're all fully imported from Japan, race proven performance, with proven dyno tests results and received excellent reviews from racing magazines like Hypertune and Option Car Tuning. Currently available now is the Hot Inazma (Type LR, HR, MR), Hot Inazma Eco, Hot Inazma Pocket, Hot Inazma Hyper, Hot Earth (3 layer or 4 layer construction shielded grounding cables), X-Power (for certain cars only), Hot Inazma HG, Hot Inazma Supple (available now) and Hot Inazma Pulse (coming soon)

For more info and latest pricing details, email me at [email protected] and you may visit their websites below for more info on the respective products. Get the best for your car.

Thanks!

Sun Auto Japan Website
ƒTƒ“Ž©“®ŽÔH‹Æ

Sun Auto USA Website
http://www.sunautomobile.com

Sun Auto Japan's Hot Inazma HG & Hot Inazma Pocket Reviews From Japanese Auto Magazines

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/hot_inazma/pocket/img-X25154248-0026.pdf

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/hot_inazma/pocket/img-X25144443-r.pdf

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/hot_inazma/pocket/img-X25155747-0011.pdf

http://www.sun-auto.co.jp/images/pro02/hot_inazma/pocket/img-Y09141318.pdf

Oil Leak:
That's your valve cover. Cheap fix, a couple of hundred all in. Make certain they torque the bolts on with a torque wrench, the valve cover cracks very easily if improperly torqued.

Fuel pump:
IIANM, your stock pump is rated at 180LPH and should be good enough for slightly higher than stock boost, which is where you are. 1.35Bar isn't dangerously high. Still, if you plan to modify, the Walbro is good insurance anyway and not too expensive.

Boost controller:
Evo wastegate actuators are prone to rust (due to the hood vent), which leads to excessive or low boost. If your car is overboosting and hitting the fuel cut, then quite possible that your actuator is faulty. Get your tuner to check it to be sure, it's quite simple to do.

Suspension:
I meant the suspension tower mounts. If you haven' changed those, might want to look into it.

Sounds like you have a lot planned for your car. Hope it all comes together nicely for you!

cannon> thanks for all the suggestions. well noted & will try to remember the next time i go to the wshop.

as for the actuator, i'll probably have a look at it before actually buying a boost controller, i mean, i think i'll prob get the boost controller anyway but i wouldnt want a rusty actuator too yes?

yea, quite a few bits and pieces planned for the car since its quite old and needs some replacement parts. figure i'll upgrade instead of changing them back to mitsu items.

so how do i get to join mloc then? :)

Yeah, a wonky actuator would make your boost controller all of useless, since it's what the controller would use to regulate boost.

Join MLOC? Dunno, I'm not a member myself, I just post here a lot! :D

Hi amsrsm ,

U can pm leslie , B18C-R or Stormvolution9 . Welcome !

hahahah, okay...maybe the club would do well if they recruited you as a member.
azizi>thanks for the guidance.
any mamak sessions planned for this week?

hahahah, okay...maybe the club would do well if they recruited you as a member.
azizi>thanks for the guidance.
any mamak sessions planned for this week?

amsrsm,
not sure bout TT session , but our Annual Grand Meeting 2007 is coming very soon. C U Bro !

amsrsm,

Nah, there're plenty of EVO experts in MLOC that know way more than I ever will, they just haven't gotten around to replying yet.

I just help out where I can, no membership required :D

thanks to cannonfodder and azizi for your replies.
the parts have already been ordered, so will upload pics or notes when they arrive and see what kind of improvements they make.
should be quite dramatic i hope!!!
car feels okay, just a little tired, which isnt surprising because of the high mileage and age....

Hijacking the thread here (sowwie) since there's a mentioned abt actuator. Any1 here selling e8MR/e9/aftermarket brand actuator to sell ? PM me ! Thxs !!!

hmmm, since sstream mentioned it, i never thought about getting aftermarket actuator. was thinking of getting a new one from mitsu....
so who makes them? tried hks site but no luck...went to the turbo section but not there.

Oil Leak:
Boost controller:
Evo wastegate actuators are prone to rust (due to the hood vent), which leads to excessive or low boost. If your car is overboosting and hitting the fuel cut, then quite possible that your actuator is faulty. Get your tuner to check it to be sure, it's quite simple to do.

Cannonfodder, hoow do u tell whether u hitting the fuel cut?

amsrsm,

Forge makes aftermarket actuators for the EVO, and seems to be the brand that most owners swear by. Forge Motorsport

LanEvo,

Hitting fuel cut is like driving into a wall. You're boosting happily and WHAM! your engine cuts out completely before coming back on again. It's not subtle and you will know immediately when you've hit it. If you have a electronic boost controller, you can use it to examine your boost log to see where it has spiked and see if it correlates to where you experienced a fuel cut.

amsrsm,

Forge makes aftermarket actuators for the EVO, and seems to be the brand that most owners swear by. Forge Motorsport

LanEvo,

Hitting fuel cut is like driving into a wall. You're boosting happily and WHAM! your engine cuts out completely before coming back on again. It's not subtle and you will know immediately when you've hit it. If you have a electronic boost controller, you can use it to examine your boost log to see where it has spiked and see if it correlates to where you experienced a fuel cut.

Fuel cut normally corellated with boost cut - ECU sends fuel cut signals once it detect boost pass its threshold. Stock actuator typically can hold boost upto 270whp only. Anything beyond that needs to have external wastegate to regulate the boost efficiently.

i think it was more on how much boost it can hold rather than how much whp it can hold.many evo running over 300+whp with stock actuator

hmm i think stock actuator can hold around 330 max max...then it will of coz wear n tear off durability of it.......ext. wastegate anytime a better choice in modding for long term