DSG to Manual conversion

I thought the similarities between Golf and Jetta is very minor like between Wira and Satria for example. Thought they only differs in one being a hatchback while another being a sedan.

for MK5, u can lift it whole sale lah ala wira and satria...

and mk5 has a 2.0 jetta with dsg6.... :thefinger: :thefinger:

for the MK6 generation, u still can almost lift "wholesale" but the mating process might take abit more effort but knowing a conti, things can go .... :banghead:

My cousin's MK5 GTI could not shift manually via the paddles but thank goodness was working during that time. To repair the mechanism that connects the paddles and gearbox cost him more than RM8K. The only explanation given to him by his mechanic was your car quite old already since his MK5 GTI mileage passed 100000km. The problem happened to him while driving on Karak highway.

for MK5, u can lift it whole sale lah ala wira and satria...

and mk5 has a 2.0 jetta with dsg6.... :thefinger: :thefinger:

for the MK6 generation, u still can almost lift "wholesale" but the mating process might take abit more effort but knowing a conti, things can go .... :banghead:

Sounds like a lot of trouble to deal with.

Means Conti a little more problematic in Modding in bolihland......lol

Especially modern Conti... Old Conti like the old BMWs seems quite compatible with various engine swaps from Nissan or Toyota. Some Mercedes can do that too.

Perhaps our local mechanics are less exposed to Conti...

My cousin's MK5 GTI could not shift manually via the paddles but thank goodness was working during that time. To repair the mechanism that connects the paddles and gearbox cost him more than RM8K. The only explanation given to him by his mechanic was your car quite old already since his MK5 GTI mileage passed 100000km. The problem happened to him while driving on Karak highway.

Doesn't sound like a convincing answer for your cousin since he is paying RM8k for it.

I think the repair would have cost him more if he had sent the car to VGM.

Modern Volkswagen seems to have a ridiculous amount for repair cost. Let's say like if one buys a Jetta for 130k, he or she probably expects a maintenance cost of something like other cars around that price range such as Altis, Civic, Mazda 3, Sylphy but now it seems that the maintenance costs is nearing the cost of cars with much higher price range like Mercedes Benz, BMW, Audi....

That RM8k+ repair cost was before the GST implementation. Repair is one thing, the other thing I don't like to hear is the mechanic telling you "I'm sorry boss we don't have the parts and it will take some time for the parts to arrive".

With the current GST and dropping of RM exchange value, it could cost like RM9k or more now...

"I'm sorry boss we don't have the parts and it will take some time for the parts to arrive" = car will be stranded in the workshop or at home until the parts arrive.

With the current GST and dropping of RM exchange value, it could cost like RM9k or more now...

"I'm sorry boss we don't have the parts and it will take some time for the parts to arrive" = car will be stranded in the workshop or at home until the parts arrive.

Have seen that "SERVICE CENTER IS MY SECOND HOME" sticker.

I think it's time for VGM to bring in small quantities of Polo, Polo GTI, Golf, and Golf GTI with manual transmission.

Have seen that "SERVICE CENTER IS MY SECOND HOME" sticker.

I think it's time for VGM to bring in small quantities of Polo, Polo GTI, Golf, and Golf GTI with manual transmission.

Seriously VW really have a lot of problems over here. But yet, they are selling very well in Europe. Perhaps they don't face so many problems in their VW compared to those over here.

I agree with you that they should bring in MT transmission for those cars. In that way, they can compete with other MT hot hatches more directly. Is not like every enthusiast likes to shift via paddles. There still those who prefers traditional MT.

If the MT variants of VW is cheaper and less problematic, it sounds like quite a good deal.

Depending on what parts, VW and Audi spares got parallel distributors mah!....:driver:

Yup, that was what happened to a friend who had recon Mercedes. The parts and even the tools had to be imported and had to wait like 2 weeks.....:smokin:

That is weird. Why can't he just get it from Mercedes service centre? I thought it is possible for them to service recon cars just that they might need to pay more?

He did repair at Mercedes SC. The SC don't have the parts and even the tools which they needed to import, that is why have to wait.....:smokin:

A lot of troubles with continental cars in our country. Cost wise, spare parts availability and also mechanics with sufficient knowledge.

I think it is still a long way to go for continental cars to reach the affordability/convenience of Japanese cars.

A lot of troubles with continental cars in our country. Cost wise, spare parts availability and also mechanics with sufficient knowledge.

I think it is still a long way to go for continental cars to reach the affordability/convenience of Japanese cars.

2 weeks for parts and tools to arrive, still bearable compared to Audi or VW. Have to agree with you on the trouble with owning continental cars in this country.

Would like to try a VW Golf or Golf GTI with manual gearbox. Want to get a feel of the clutch of continental car.

2 weeks for parts and tools to arrive, still bearable compared to Audi or VW. Have to agree with you on the trouble with owning continental cars in this country.

Would like to try a VW Golf or Golf GTI with manual gearbox. Want to get a feel of the clutch of continental car.

Ask Tom, VW now got offer mah!.......:biggrin: