Air-cond compresser

biao

hey guys,
just check my air-cond compresser going to ‘gong’. so have any idea?change new or cut-shop?our 1 same with evo?

there is hardly any "new" compresors in Malaysia. Almost all AC shops sell recon unit. New ones cost a big bomb, if you could afford it....then go for it.

New got, but like you mention pay premium for it.....:driver:

how much for new n recon?

---------- Post added at 05:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:45 PM ----------

New got, but like you mention pay premium for it.....:driver:

AC shop got this model recon?they oso get from cut-shop cause our model not comment

There are a few types so you need to be careful.
Chop shop units you not sure how long they have been used.
Recon also must be very careful.
Actual recon means they take apart and refurbish the inside parts etc., There are some shops just clean up the exterior and make them look like new and clean only, but inside still old, but pass it off as recon....:banghead:

There are a few types so you need to be careful.
Chop shop units you not sure how long they have been used.
Recon also must be very careful.
Actual recon means they take apart and refurbish the inside parts etc., There are some shops just clean up the exterior and make them look like new and clean only, but inside still old, but pass it off as recon....:banghead:

thus explained why there is no warranty given from the AC shops...

New or half cut, confirm no warranty. Aircond compressor if you buy half cut, it depends on luck. Usually the aircond mechanic revolve the center pulley to listen to any weird sound to check the condition. Price wise, it ranges from RM450-550.

some aircond shops does provide aircond compressor servicing. but they usually only do it for their regular customers.

Price wise, a brand new car AC compressor cost more than the house AC unit....

That is why business of recon ac units are doing better......since many car owners can't afford the spanking brand new units, or they simply think it is unjustifiably costly...

Price wise, a brand new car AC compressor cost more than the house AC unit....

That is why business of recon ac units are doing better......since many car owners can't afford the spanking brand new units, or they simply think it is unjustifiably costly...

Well, it will be justifiable if new compressor have warranty, but since both do not have, then sure will gamble with recon unit....:driver:

do have any member have change before? have any actual unit photo? supplier ask me send photo to them confirm which type model.

What model is yours? Better get the right model.
My VR compressor changed before by my mechanic. Recon unit, touch wood, so far used a few years already still okay...:driver:

Just ask yr mech to check your existing one and buy the same... don't need pictures right?

I need u guys urgent opinion.
My waja have this aircond compressor problem where after long drive of when stuck in jam the clutch wont engage.I did post abt this prob before but maybe on another thread.most reply i got is either to change the compressor or the magnet which will cost a bomb as it involve refilling the gas and huge labour.

I tried one thing,i used epoxy glue and stick 2 washer to makes the gap between the clutch and pulley closer.it does the job but the epoxy cant keep the washer in place very long.Then again i was just testing to see if the magnet is in good shape.this test mean its in good shape right?
Its just that the gap of the clutch is too big for the magnet power to pull it without the washer in place.

i have already remove the pulley and clutch and discover it has severe worn out sign and try to buy the pulley and clutch but the shop only sell them together with the magnet at abt rm250++.
Sincr i believe my magnet is in good shape i might just buy the whole set but did not replace the magnet as it will require gas refilling right?

What do u guys think?
I am on a very tiht budget.

Bro. gunnerzz, can you replace those stuffs without removing/taking the compressor out? As long as the compressor comes out, means got to vacuum and recharge the gas already...

Yup..the clutch and pulley can be removed even when the compressor is still bolted to the engine.the lower part of my engine compartment has quite nice space for tool to move.

the magnet seems to be bolted from the inside.
i have removed the pulley and clutch.