Prepping your Airtrek for balik kampung?!

stutzedward

CNY is round the corner. So those brothers whose driving back hometown, must drive carefully and safely. Other than that, must also keep the car in good running condition la... So this is what I've compiled as summary.

1) If your engine oil is due or almost due, replace it.
2) Check your battery water level / battery indicator for maintenance free battery.
3) Check your tires. Not only the thread but also the wall. I had cracked walls in the inner part of the tires once though the thread has 70% left. Simply becos the tires were 4.5 years old already. Yes, car was severely underutilized.
4) Check your radiator coolen level. Top up if necessary.
5) Check your brake fluid level. Top up if necessary.
6) Check your power steerling fluid level. Top up if necessary.
7) Check your ATF fluid level. If you see black dust in the fluid, time to change too.
8) Check/wash your K&N filter or replace new ones if paper type.
9) Check your windscreen washer water level.
10) Check your spare tire air, make sure it's fully inflated.
11) Check if all your car tools are in place.
12) Have a bottle of mineral water store as spare. Also keep some cable ties and wire tapes (aka Loytape)
13) Check all your vacuums pipe and intercooler clamps are tighten.
14) Notice engine bay if there's anything 'abnormal' like new wet spots or dangling wires/cables/pipes.
15) Check your brake pads. It's not easy to notice the pads but if you find abormalities like scrapping sound, time to have them replaced.
16) Increase the boost to 1.8 bar with a manual boost controller.

Then have a safe driving back kampung and enjoy the journey.

PS: Performing steps no.16 at your own risk. The writer holds no responsibility to any damage occur to your car. Hehehehe......

the 16 very Good, for me just replacement engine with install back some my mod items,
time to tuning again.

Just washed both my car's K&N filter last weekend. Didn't notice Airtrek one is so dirty. When I check my log, last time I washed it was in October. So it's a good friendly reminder to have yours cleaned before your long journey for better FC and power. :)

I am using Mobil 1 all these while, no problem. As for ATF (we don't have CVT by the way), I am using Diaqueen. LSDs all from Motul. So far after 5 years using these combination, car runs with no problem.

I am really not sure if CVT uses Diaqueen or not. You may wanna do some research. Airtrek's INVECS II may change gear without any feeling or jerking and it does feels like CVT. But when you googled/Wiki, you will find that INVECS I and II are tiptronics boxes and only INVECS III and onwards are CVT :) CVT or not, it's a power robber. Just imagine getting 50whp back by just swapping to manual.

Our bros from down under also felt totally like a different car after manual swap. It'll be a lot more nicer to drive from performance perspective but AT is still good for jammy cities. :)

AT is always good at city area. but it also sucks when going uphill like genting.. if there anyone here maintain AT with FF setup? i been thinking about it quite some time..

wrong info bro ed... i just went to other shop n it has two type of diaqueen oil. one is diaqueen atf sp-iii and another one is diaqueen cvt. make sure choose the rite one.. atf sp-3 is around 120+, cvt is around 220++..

I see. Honestly I really dunno the grades or type of Diaqueen. I just let Ah Wah settle it.

its ok. now we all know. except for the lsd oil.. i dont know which one is good. one of my fren recommend lucas.

Yalo. So bro, what you do during this 4 days of holiday? Weather is so warm but windy.