DIY Batteryless SmartTag

Really confused here.
My friends all said its okay. They have done their own lights.
Base on 12v as voltage source. Its fine.

Hmm, there are 2 things weh, can't really desolder it.
1 sensor another 1 i forgot what but both are important.

i lagi confuse on what r u going to do .:hmmmm:

u wanna tap that 12V to the smart tag input?:vroam:

Really confused here.
My friends all said its okay. They have done their own lights.
Base on 12v as voltage source. Its fine.

Hmm, there are 2 things weh, can't really desolder it.
1 sensor another 1 i forgot what but both are important.

lights. are different, they have operating voltage range, they can use 12v - 24v. some bigger trucks use same lights bulbs but some of them run 24V+ , for leds, automotive types built in resistor, and overvolting them a bit is still no problem.

You're talking about a smart tag, which has sensitive components. They don't like being overvolted.

Sent from my GT-I9100G using Tapatalk 2

lights. are different, they have operating voltage range, they can use 12v - 24v. some bigger trucks use same lights bulbs but some of them run 24V+ , for leds, automotive types built in resistor, and overvolting them a bit is still no problem.

You're talking about a smart tag, which has sensitive components. They don't like being overvolted.

simple solution
get a ic regulator lm7809 cost only <rm3
got 3 legs(connections) in, out, ground
just solder out -> red wire at s. tag
gnd-> black wire of s. tag (o volt or ground or car chassis)
in -> input or car battery

input range 10v ~ 30v and output is always 9v
can get the pin connections details online or pasar road sellet.
this is a simple diy..

thanks. i didn't know that ic solutions are available

simple solution
get a ic regulator lm7809 cost only <rm3
got 3 legs(connections) in, out, ground
just solder out -> red wire at s. tag
gnd-> black wire of s. tag (o volt or ground or car chassis)
in -> input or car battery

input range 10v ~ 30v and output is always 9v
can get the pin connections details online or pasar road sellet.
this is a simple diy..

So have u tried this?

no s tag.
those using resistor is quite dangerous. resistor is used to limit current not regulate voltage
eg. if use resistor , car voltage =12.5v before start gets 9v. after start=13.5v you get 10v.
air con off car 14.5v so you get 11v . this would heat up or fry the s tag which working voltage 8.5~10v

Have anybody tried using this circuit to modify 1.5v to 9v ? 1.5v to 9v INVERTER

Then you can use your standard AA or AAA battery
yes. but not economy in cost wise.
power used by s.tag = vi or voltage x current. hence reducing to 1.5v will increase by current drain.
you will be changing battery more frequently.
so no cost saving. n only the cost of the diy circuit kit $30 can buy you a few years of 9v battery...

yeah the ic solution is the cheapest.
I shall try it.

but i also want to try relocate the smarttag. its an eyesore on the windshield

yeah the ic solution is the cheapest.
I shall try it.

but i also want to try relocate the smarttag. its an eyesore on the windshield

Yeah man. It's bulky and ugly. Hard to desolder and modified it. Unless I got a smart tag for free I'd try.

that's why just need to relocate the receivernand transmitter. looking for a spoiled smartag unit to see the intenals before i crack open a working one

that's why just need to relocate the receivernand transmitter. looking for a spoiled smarteg unit to see thale intenals before i crack open a working one

as i mentioned early, there would be voltage drop between a wire so its not good to desolder. :\

Here is the new smart tag which is smaller. Hopefully it use less power. I am heavy smart tag user and I change battery every 3-4 months.

• Smart-Tag-New-1.png
    Smart-Tag-New-1.png
    725.2 KB · Views: 1,713
  • Smart-Tag-New-2.png
    Smart-Tag-New-2.png
    923 KB · Views: 4,641
  • Smart-Tag-New-3.png
    Smart-Tag-New-3.png
    831.5 KB · Views: 1,210
Here is the new smart tag which is smaller. Hopefully it use less power. I am heavy smart tag user and I change battery every 3-4 months.

Care to explain the features? The improvements? :biggrin:
Wah leaked wor. But still, should have just improve the road experience, take down the tolls!

Still the same price?
They should come out with one that runs on AA.....:driver:

If AA might drain quickly leh.

damn, this looks way better than the old one. Mine is only a year+ old after replacing the old no display one

Care to explain the features? The improvements? :biggrin:
Wah leaked wor. But still, should have just improve the road experience, take down the tolls!

If AA might drain quickly leh.

Design mah! Make one that uses less current.....:biggrin: