Buying Nissan Skyline R35

Good Day People,

I would like to ask ur pros out thr..I would like to get a skyline..R34 has been my dream car for past 10years..but it seems hard to get original Gtr cuz all in market is Gtt..i spend nearly 6month looking for da car but end up in vain until i came across my fren's R35.And i found new love in it..just need u pros to advice me on things to pay attention when Buying a R35 and sum tech info bout them..would really appreciate it..ur comments will increase my knowledge..thx alot people..cheers..

there's a few R34 GTRs available here in zth in mudah...look it up

---------- Post added at 09:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:38 PM ----------

based on a close friend's experience, all i can say about the R35 is that it's an awesome car but only if u can afford the bills (fuel, tyres, roadtax, insurance, gearbox oil change)

but if you can afford one, then just get it

it took me 7 long months before i found my 34 gtr... its worth the wait and hard work!

I've heard that R35 has problem with gearbox with first batch. No chop shop or secondhand gearbox for sale yet.

For me, i'll stick to R34. Everything for parts you still can find everywhere. For sure, i'll get it in 2 years time.

there's a few R34 GTRs available here in zth in mudah...look it up

---------- Post added at 09:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:38 PM ----------

based on a close friend's experience, all i can say about the R35 is that it's an awesome car but only if u can afford the bills (fuel, tyres, roadtax, insurance, gearbox oil change)

but if you can afford one, then just get it

do u mind posting da link to da page??i do afford for it...but is it true that v need to do wheel balancing due to 4wd??

---------- Post added at 02:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:23 PM ----------

it took me 7 long months before i found my 34 gtr... its worth the wait and hard work!

congrats man..but its way to long..already 10years bro..cant wait ne longer..but while lookin for R35..am keepin my eyes open for an R34 too..thx man..

---------- Post added at 02:27 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:25 PM ----------

I've heard that R35 has problem with gearbox with first batch. No chop shop or secondhand gearbox for sale yet.

For me, i'll stick to R34. Everything for parts you still can find everywhere. For sure, i'll get it in 2 years time.

oh really??can ne1 else conform me with da gearbox issues???good luck mate..cuz its just gonna take longer for us to find da rite R34..

It's not about finding the right R34 or R35 but finding one that is in good condition and then start from there - make it the right one for you. Do it up exactly how you'd want it. The GTR is simply the base from which to start and the sky's the limit.

I thought the engine and gearboxes were assembled by hand so each GTR engine is literally made for that exact gearbox and vice versa. How does that result in a second hand supply of gearboxes and is it just a matter of plug and play?

[PIMPIN];1063516965 said:
It's not about finding the right R34 or R35 but finding one that is in good condition and then start from there - make it the right one for you. Do it up exactly how you'd want it. The GTR is simply the base from which to start and the sky's the limit.

agreed bro..tats why am not looking for heavy modded skyline..am looking for near stock version so tat i can tune da baby myself n noe him in n out..cuz tats wat separate us the true skyline fan from a wanna be...thx for advice too bro...will let ya noe when i got it d..i always notice u all goin tea tarik session..soon will join u all if its not a trouble for u all...cheers...

Regards,
Pravin

---------- Post added at 12:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:28 PM ----------

about the gearbox prob...this is da answer i got from a sifu...

"you can solve the gearbox problem by updating the gearbox software by using Nissan Diagnostic Tools "Consult III"."

so its not an issue after all..

Intersting facts on the R35:

Brake Pads: 2000 ringgit front and back

Brake Rotors: RM5500 front, RM5500 back (Being cross drilled, i can assure you they wear out very fast in our weather, price quoted here is for aftermarket rotors that are cheaper and perform better)

These are just the brakes, don't let me get started on the gearbox maintenance

Lets not forget the engine is plasma lined and needs refreshing after 100k KM... no idea who can do that sorta thing in Malaysia

But if you can afford it, this would definitely be the car to own

[/COLOR]about the gearbox prob...this is da answer i got from a sifu...

"you can solve the gearbox problem by updating the gearbox software by using Nissan Diagnostic Tools "Consult III"."

so its not an issue after all..

Yes, the gearbox is an issue, pretty big one at that. Why? Well most of the guys would have heard this many times from me and the main problem I have with it is that it breaks when abused at STOCK power levels. The R32s-R34s here which range from 10-20 years old still run the same gearbox that came with the car and not only that, they have to cope with double or even triple the factory power output. I'm not saying they don't break, but they can sure take the abuse.

And if you do break your R32/R33 or Getrag box and can't find one second hand, there's always the option of rebuilding with stronger aftermarket parts or going for something more serious like sequential boxes, etc. You should also consider what farizio said about the gearbox maintenance. How often does one change the gearbox oil on the R32s-R34s as compared to the R35?

Only you can decide really which of the GTRs you would rather own. To be fair, if you really think about it, the price of an R35 has dropped so much in such a short period that it's barely couple hundred grand more than an R34. Other than that, roadtax and insurance would naturally be higher. Servicing and maintenance doesn't cost too much but when compared to its predecessors it just doesn't seem worth it I reckon.

Anyways, see you at next TT.

Intersting facts on the R35:

Brake Pads: 2000 ringgit front and back

Brake Rotors: RM5500 front, RM5500 back (Being cross drilled, i can assure you they wear out very fast in our weather, price quoted here is for aftermarket rotors that are cheaper and perform better)

These are just the brakes, don't let me get started on the gearbox maintenance

Lets not forget the engine is plasma lined and needs refreshing after 100k KM... no idea who can do that sorta thing in Malaysia

But if you can afford it, this would definitely be the car to own

i agree with u bro..i just plan to use it as weekend car..and am sailing most of the time..i dont think it will break so easily as am not planning to race da race too much unless its necessary..but am still taking ur idea into consideration..thx bro..

---------- Post added at 11:50 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:47 AM ----------

[PIMPIN];1063517596 said:
Yes, the gearbox is an issue, pretty big one at that. Why? Well most of the guys would have heard this many times from me and the main problem I have with it is that it breaks when abused at STOCK power levels. The R32s-R34s here which range from 10-20 years old still run the same gearbox that came with the car and not only that, they have to cope with double or even triple the factory power output. I'm not saying they don't break, but they can sure take the abuse.

And if you do break your R32/R33 or Getrag box and can't find one second hand, there's always the option of rebuilding with stronger aftermarket parts or going for something more serious like sequential boxes, etc. You should also consider what farizio said about the gearbox maintenance. How often does one change the gearbox oil on the R32s-R34s as compared to the R35?

Only you can decide really which of the GTRs you would rather own. To be fair, if you really think about it, the price of an R35 has dropped so much in such a short period that it's barely couple hundred grand more than an R34. Other than that, roadtax and insurance would naturally be higher. Servicing and maintenance doesn't cost too much but when compared to its predecessors it just doesn't seem worth it I reckon.

Anyways, see you at next TT.

i would strongly agree tat when compare to Gtr34 its not worth da money..but when its comes to performance n tech..i think it would worth da money bro..thx for ur info..really appreciate it...cheers...

[PIMPIN];1063518122 said:
Slightly off-topic.. What sort of sailing?

am working as marine engineer on ship bro..so normally will b sailing 4 to 5 months then bak home for a month o 2 n sail bak..so this monster will b used mostly during on my holiday..other than that my mum will drive it around..so women's driving wont spoil much i guess....hihihi....whats ur ride now bro?was following sum thread n i guess its R34 rite?aw is da baby coping?

If GTR35 is what u looking, I suggest u to go for year 2009 gtr35(or UK spec), with the latest transmission software build in, this is suggested by "Norman" from our local GTR35 forum. To own gtr35, u must change your transmission oil on time, especially the 1st and 2nd time, u will be surprise to see how dirty inside there, and clutch learning must be done to arrange your plate pressure... Besides that, wrong driving method will make your gearbox history(Even u upgrade your gearbox)
Suggestion is get an 09 Gtr35> change all lubricant by pro> clutch learning> drive in correct way while at the same time slowly upgrade your transmission gear(eg: circlips, clutch basket, tranny cooler etc)

am working as marine engineer on ship bro..so normally will b sailing 4 to 5 months then bak home for a month o 2 n sail bak..so this monster will b used mostly during on my holiday..other than that my mum will drive it around..so women's driving wont spoil much i guess....hihihi....whats ur ride now bro?was following sum thread n i guess its R34 rite?aw is da baby coping?

Still have it but don't drive much. I've managed just over 6000km since Nov 2009 haha. When I was younger, I used to have the R34, a V9 STI Spec C and 350z all at one time but I've sold the other two. Not in line with my priorities so bought one Hilux for KL but traded with Dad's Fortuner but I'm still short of one car at the moment. Ideally I need a sedan for KL, 4WD for Perlis and the GTR is my gift to myself I guess haha.

Anyways, one of our regular members in the past Russell did something along the lines of what you do. He'd be away for like 3 months at a time working on oil rigs all over the world etc. You guys get paid massive amounts of cash! But I guess its only fair given the personal sacrifices.

If your Mum needs a driver while you're away... :rolleyes: J/K I'd break it for sure.

If GTR35 is what u looking, I suggest u to go for year 2009 gtr35(or UK spec), with the latest transmission software build in, this is suggested by "Norman" from our local GTR35 forum. To own gtr35, u must change your transmission oil on time, especially the 1st and 2nd time, u will be surprise to see how dirty inside there, and clutch learning must be done to arrange your plate pressure... Besides that, wrong driving method will make your gearbox history(Even u upgrade your gearbox)
Suggestion is get an 09 Gtr35> change all lubricant by pro> clutch learning> drive in correct way while at the same time slowly upgrade your transmission gear(eg: circlips, clutch basket, tranny cooler etc)

Damn, so no daily launches :bawling:

if we put the maintenance costs aside, oh my, it is a SUPERB car to drive! the transmission, the brakes, it made me speechless!!!

From this thread, I've got the assumption the R35 is too manja when compared to its predecessors.

I'm thinking of leaving the R35 for weekend binges uphill and making the sturdy BNR32 as a daily driver!

Cheh! Talking like I have one.. :biggrin:

the culprit is the launch control..not the gearbox...34's are more driver oriented compared to GTR's...nevertheless is amazing machine. There are lots of 34gtr's for sale the trick is to get the get right one