Buying A Skyline!

[PIMPIN];3273268 said:
... but I guess I'm just proud of having gotten the car just the way I want it and its taken awhile. So what you see as bragging, I see a Skyline owner who loves his ride and is proud of it, not necessarily arrogant.

fair enuff. 2 sides to a coin. i can understand proud. just that i do it in a subtle manner thats all. cheers

anyway,

i think unless you change/service every fluid,belt etc in the car i dont think it'll choke owners. if its just engine oil due, i doubt it'll hit the rm1k mark. a lot of figures here, i believe, are rough estimates.

also boils down to what u choose i.e, if its just gona be motul/royal purple for everyting, of course its gonna cost ya. on the other hand, if u get, say, castrol edge/q8 which does the same protection and lubrication as per any engine oil out there, u'd prolly save a fair bit. but some mechs have this misconception that becos u drive a skyline, u must use the most premium, most expensive and most fully sik and hektik fluids - just becos 'its better' or 'because no other owners use underdog brands' with no further elaboration. i think this partly contributes to high maintenance expenses.

so know ur stuff. it does help to know the difference.

boy, am i on a rant-page today

hello everyone..i'm also facing problem in deciding wether to buy this legendary car or not..
but for my case,my concern is the age of the car..

i'm looking for a 2nd hand gtr34 vspec (since the recond one is hard to find now + out of my budget range):bawling:..found few units but all of them are 1999 model..so they'll be 10 years old next year..

my question is will it have "age related" problem like rust,metal fatigue,etc etc just like other old cars normally facing??since this car is usually being used as 2nd/weekend car with pretty low mileage that's what make me wonder..do you guys having those problems with ur skyline so far??

i also have unpopular alternative options with much newer (but of course less powerful) cars,which i'll consider only as a last resort..
need advice from all of u otai here...

Bro,

Logically speaking, ANY car that is a decade old would show some form of wear and tear. Having said that, I honestly feel that when it comes to Skylines or most performance cars its really dependent on how the previous owner(s) have maintained it.

However, a Skyline built 10 years ago is probably better put together than a Perdana manufactured yesterday. Do remember that these are sports cars (some say supercars) built as flagship models of their respective eras be it 32, 33 or 34 therefore do not suffer from lack of build quality. To answer your question, I'd say that a Skyline would be just as reliable if not better than any car its age - just make sure you have it inspected thoroughly by a reputable mechanic before taking the plunge.

bro i was thinking like urs too last time...but when i herd owning a skyline is not dat easy as i think......n plus i got the near same range of salary u have...n i change my mind bro...get an old cefiro a31 with RB engine will do ...skyline engine also...rite?...also back whell drive but u must b very carefull lah when buying ceffy...u need to super check...the conditions.......

i think if u buy ceffy standard....mayb u save on ur engine to transplant later on perhaps u can get a GTR engine in ur ceffy...n hell yeah...live life to da fullest dude...

nyway its jz an opinion for ya....anyway its up to u too

as we know we msian earning ( we all aready know) i think if we won lotery mayb we can consider buying a skyline

Agreed, i really dont fork out 1k per month for my car, esp on jockeys to be significant enough to be included as expenses. I think im one of those running my car cheaply at the moment, no monstrous plan at all.
So to the future owner, like all threads, opinions are subjective and i suggest reading from other forums as well, such as sau , although its overseas, u might be able to gauge more or less the maintenance needed and frequency of it and whats really necessary.

may i ask, how cheap is cheap??if let say i own a stock BNR34, no intention of modding whatsoever, and the car will be hardly driven as my job doesnt requires me to drive to work...rough figure how much on average it will cost me for a full servicing..and what other parts need to be replace for each service apart from oils...i really dont have any clue.

there is no such thing as 'keeping my GT-R stock'

you see everybody here...all kaki racun one...hahahahahaha!

may i ask, how cheap is cheap??if let say i own a stock BNR34, no intention of modding whatsoever, and the car will be hardly driven as my job doesnt requires me to drive to work...rough figure how much on average it will cost me for a full servicing..and what other parts need to be replace for each service apart from oils...i really dont have any clue.

If your talking about servicing, just the regular service, oils and oil filter, it should be around 300. However, that is using motul oil. If you use castrol Edge sport it should be slightly cheaper. If its not your daily, and on average, you service it every 5k kms. One full tank of petrol is around 100 bucks for 50 litres.

And to go further from there, brake pads you are looking at 1k for front and rears and generally should last 1 year depending on driving styles. These are the basic figures. I wouldnt say its cheap especially when you are comparing with the rest of the cars, but I think the figures are often exaggerated.

keep racun here and there :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
:adore::adore::adore::adore:
just buy only dun think three or four liao
:banghead::banghead::banghead:

once you get bitten by the modding bug...... you cant stop!

but dont la sampai sell kids for carbon fibre diffuser/rims/turbo! :driver:

once you get bitten by the modding bug...... you cant stop!

but dont la sampai sell kids for carbon fibre diffuser/rims/turbo! :driver:

Once bitten, never shy...

Sell Kids, get carbon fibre... pick up new chic. get married again... make kids.. sell kids... buy performance upgrades... pick up new chic... make babies again... sell babies... (save money) pick up more chics... make lots and lotsa kids... sell them again... this time send GTR to Omori Factory for upgrading to R-Tune or straight to Mine's! Life is complete... Just kidding. LOL!:burnout:

Once bitten, never shy...

Sell Kids, get carbon fibre... pick up new chic. get married again... make kids.. sell kids... buy performance upgrades... pick up new chic... make babies again... sell babies... (save money) pick up more chics... make lots and lotsa kids... sell them again... this time send GTR to Omori Factory for upgrading to R-Tune or straight to Mine's! Life is complete... Just kidding. LOL!:burnout:

look like this is a good suggestion leh.....
not bad not bad....hehe....:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

if you want more kids to sell i can make no problem, i dont mind the process at all hahahah

but wanna pick up chicks gotta get a 350Z first :hmmmm:

if you want more kids to sell i can make no problem, i dont mind the process at all hahahah

but wanna pick up chicks gotta get a 350Z first :hmmmm:

then better upgrade to 2nd ferrari lo muahahaha....:burnout::burnout:
:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: jk

aiyoh. last night i just saw a ferrari parked in front of a restaurant. after parking sempat rev rev... young dude la, must have bawak daddy's car out for a spin.

so i showed him what a GT-R sounds like with no muffler. muahahahaha :burnout:

muahahaha... daddy car man becareful after kena scratch
then scold by daddy liao :bawling::bawling::bawling:
yea man show him the power of GTR
:adore::adore::adore::adore::adore:

aiyoh. last night i just saw a ferrari parked in front of a restaurant. after parking sempat rev rev... young dude la, must have bawak daddy's car out for a spin.

so i showed him what a GT-R sounds like with no muffler. muahahahaha :burnout:

:adore: You have done us Skyline owners JUSTICE!!! Funny how, I spoke to a few friends (women) and they rather ride in a Skyline than a 350z.

Last edited by a moderator:
eh even the really girly girl hot ones love GT-R's!

usually they dont think it looks sleek or pretty enough, or its too loud...

but bring them on the INTAN highway, and whack from first gear onwards, and the G-Forces pushing their breasts back and they get hooked!

eh even the really girly girl hot ones love GT-R's!

usually they dont think it looks sleek or pretty enough, or its too loud...

but bring them on the INTAN highway, and whack from first gear onwards, and the G-Forces pushing their breasts back and they get hooked!

LOL.. G forces pushing their breasts back....hahaha