200bhp NA v/s 200bhp turbo

consonar : really la, im using kancil 660 for daily use onli haha....
papagoines : std 660 m only bro, i actually dunno bout the hp of my car, maybe 40bhp? hmm....
pomen : i read once u are on a project rally car, forgot which thread edi........i bet its sure a monster hehe....
kumar : im not sure bout the whp/bhp of yr car....last time when u just transplanted, it was 280bhp, now? also 400hp? hehe.

depends on d overall setup, i prefer a charged engines, proven to be much faster even if compared to a slightly higher hp na machines with a slightly higher capacity. torque is more important imo

agree:biggrin: turbo for life:biggrin:

theres a old good saying that goes......

"Horsepower gives you speed, but torque wins u races"

so do the math......and have fun........

yo xtremeleo: hm..u said "proven to be much faster even if compared to a slightly higher hp na machines with a sligthly capacity", do u mean in all aspect?? including circuit? well..i don't think so.

the sifu's charade is a monster:biggrin::adore:

hehe peterj: we're just trying to share some experience or exchange some knowledge here, not fighting fighting. Even a top racer/ mechanic made mistakes sometimes right? I used to owned a turbo charged vehicle and i used to think turbo has a better advantage in all aspect as well.

Anyway, if horse power is restricted to 200bhp as topic stated(or up to 250hp)..like circuit racing especially, NA has a upper hand. I agreed that turbocharged vehicle has a higher torque...but in this case 200hp NA vs 200Hp turbo, and most of the time in circuit, we are revving on high rpm and don't rely that much on torque. what's important is the how light, how fast and how much your rpm can climbs.

For a NA eg. 4g93 to achieve 200hp...like khoyos explained earlier, many things could have been done up, and that enable the engine rev up smoothly till atleast be 8500rpm or maybe 9000rpm...no problem. While a stock 4g93t with 0.8bar, piping, intercooler already have 200hp or more. If we put this 2 cars at the circuit, the NA could maintain his high rpm going in turns and exiting corner smoothly. while each corner exit for the turbocharged vehicle will be slower, due to turbo lag and suddenly power kick in and caused handling issue.

That is why in Sepang ..most of the lap records for the 200-250hp range timing are mostly done by NA.

:biggrin: turbo for life:biggrin:
yeah!!! i'm behind peterj 100%!!!

as most of our cars are street cars, its not only about achieving laptime and determining who is fastest. its about enjoying our rides with whatever mods we have done.

anyway, if for example 4g93, 200whp NA is easier said than done. not many people have that kind of power output n mostly on drag cars. 200whp 4g93T is much much easier (and cheaper) to achieve.

basically same applies to all sub 2L JDM engines that we use in our cars... achieving high hp on NA is much harder than getting the same level using turbo.

hehe peterj: we're just trying to share some experience or exchange some knowledge here, not fighting fighting. Even a top racer/ mechanic made mistakes sometimes right? I used to owned a turbo charged vehicle and i used to think turbo has a better advantage in all aspect as well.

Anyway, if horse power is restricted to 200bhp as topic stated(or up to 250hp)..like circuit racing especially, NA has a upper hand. I agreed that turbocharged vehicle has a higher torque...but in this case 200hp NA vs 200Hp turbo, and most of the time in circuit, we are revving on high rpm and don't rely that much on torque. what's important is the how light, how fast and how much your rpm can climbs.

For a NA eg. 4g93 to achieve 200hp...like khoyos explained earlier, many things could have been done up, and that enable the engine rev up smoothly till atleast be 8500rpm or maybe 9000rpm...no problem. While a stock 4g93t with 0.8bar, piping, intercooler already have 200hp or more. If we put this 2 cars at the circuit, the NA could maintain his high rpm going in turns and exiting corner smoothly. while each corner exit for the turbocharged vehicle will be slower, due to turbo lag and suddenly power kick in and caused handling issue.

That is why in Sepang ..most of the lap records for the 200-250hp range timing are mostly done by NA.

i did notice during TTA laptime that lot of fd2r and dc5r can beat 2litre turbo engine..but this is out of camparison from the thread title becoz of diff car and setup

yup. honda chassis technology(including engine n transmission tech) is simply amazing...

i dont think we shud go too technical in this kinda comparison, kan? charged engines are suppose to pull outta a corner better then an na of similar/equivalent cc, proven. if it doesnt, then its the driver's fault imo

i did notice during TTA laptime that lot of fd2r and dc5r can beat 2litre turbo engine..but this is out of camparison from the thread title becoz of diff car and setup

I did not compare the Honda R vs the Evo, as the stock Evo already have more bhp than 200-250. :proud: I'm still with the topic..but what i'm trying to say is, I wider up the scale up to 250hp for turbocharged Proton to allow us to see more comparison. As far as i know, the fastest Proton(with about 200bhp) lap time in Sepang is still a 1.8 NA with the timing of 2m36secs, timing was done during the 2007 MME raceday itself, and it's not on qualifying or time attack which got much lesser cars running on track at the same time. Besides, the MME cars are not so heavily modded compare to Super 16 due to they have to endure the 12 hours race. A turbocharged Proton with over 300bhp could have a better timing than that, but in this case I understand we're comparing a 200bhp car...and 200bhp sounds too restrictive for turbo charged cars.

extremeleo: If it's on street yes, the turbocharged cars will pull out from the turns, cos most of us do not keep that high revving on streets. Again another example, in our local gymkhana event especially, u will see our turbocharged fwd protons are struggling so much during corner exit, the car would have excessive wheel spins when boost kick in and mess up the car handling. And that's why the corner exit and timing are slower.

Maybe I shouldn't have mention about the performance on track, if the topic starter intention was to use it purely on street. But I'm just sharing the performance of the car in some other aspects. :proud:

hehehe...I've seen vtec ek9 210whp vs satria neo GSR turbo 220whp .. 1st and 2nd gear in front of the GSR turbo.. but on the 3rd gear vtec has menapau GSR Wakakaka..

ashyu..yup i agreed with u. Regardless 200bhp or even 200whp is being too restrictive to turbo.

hehehe...I've seen vtec ek9 210whp vs satria neo GSR turbo 220whp .. 1st and 2nd gear in front of the GSR turbo.. but on the 3rd gear vtec has menapau GSR Wakakaka..
give dat civic the same ratio as the neo and test again, i doubt the outcome will be the same sir.. the fact dat the neo got a lead shows the driver is good, bravo..

ashyu..yup i agreed with u. Regardless 200bhp or even 200whp is being too restrictive to turbo.

200bhp or whp is just a number to compare with..it can be equally 280bhp or 300bhp...i agree that 200bhp almost nothing for turbocharge engine....but the reason y i ask bcoz for NA to achieve same hp as turbo need alot of money....but still there alot ALL MOTOR people outthere