ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

lol.. Not that bad la boss.. I'm taken on the 1st and 2nd of the Lunar Calendar (Thursday and Friday), by my family and 6th Feb (Sunday) by my girlfriend.. Other times and days, let me know and I'll try my best to make it. Maybe 5th (Saturday) night? Already 2 weeks in a row w/o TT, feels kinda.. Hmm.. :hmmmm:

Just wanna wish everyone a Happy Chinese New Year & Gong Xi Fa Chai ! Salam 1 M'sia.

lol.. Not that bad la boss.. I'm taken on the 1st and 2nd of the Lunar Calendar (Thursday and Friday), by my family and 6th Feb (Sunday) by my girlfriend.. Other times and days, let me know and I'll try my best to make it. Maybe 5th (Saturday) night? Already 2 weeks in a row w/o TT, feels kinda.. Hmm..

For me, I'll be fully "taken" by my job; working throughout CNY, yes, including Sunday !...:bawling:

i feel ur pain 2o2r, i just hope no customers call this weekend so that at least can feel how it is to have 4days off in a row..

rage: ok i didn't expect that...well i feel that this would be to short a notice for everyone to get together: well i feel the next saturday on the 12th we shoudl all meet up... maybe again near eddy's place at cenggal condo cheras what say everybody??? including sifu 2o2r???

title:corona meetup
date: 12 feb 2011 saturday
time: malaysian timing 7pm
place: at the mamak near cengal condo cheras
attendees:
1)corona_ice

place: at the mamak near cengal condo cheras (thought it's supposed to be Kinrara? Lol..)
attendees:
1)corona_ice
2)ragerunner
3)talam_buruk (or else no point having it at cheras right? :biggrin:)

I'm flexible to other dates or times.. Whether it's 5th, or weekdays, or daytime (doesn't necessarily need to be at night).. In case any adjustments needa be made..

Thanks a lot for the welcome! Nice to get some new ideas!

well aaahhh....hummmm.... don't know where to start... ok ok...first of are u sure ur model is the at151???
Pretty much, that's what the Number is saying:
http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/7692/at151.jpg
But you never know, I'm in LOS ....... :hmmmm:
any of the corolla suspension will do... ie: ae92, 101,111...for the front only... the back in order to use the ae series absorbers, u would need to also fit the ae92 disc brakes... other wise, u would not be able to fit the absorbers... the st171 absorbers would not fit our car, coz as u found out, they are bigger
yep, I FOUND IT OUT, not the garage! Maybe they saw it, but they had the job, to build it in, not to think about the size! My fault, probably! So I should better change them, again??? At time, looks like, there is enough space. But I will check out the other options, as soon, I'll have a nice cruising corona, again!
Is it a big job, to change to disc brakes? I mean, beside the changes in the brake(fluid) system?

Hi Coro3A, welcome to the Corona thread.
I believe the 3A is 1500 cc & identical to the AT151's 4A engine. Infact, before I changed my engine, I bought the power steering system from a chop shop 3A engine. Chances are the 4A carb will fit the 3A.
You are a strong believer: yes it is a 1500 :biggrin:
What I 'know' about the ori. 4A, that was a 1600, so ~ 40 or 50 cc more. That carb was my first idea, too. But I do not get many answers to questions, here.
Out of this thinking, my idea with the ignition comes: Would the ignition system of a 4A FE fit on the intake side of the 3A head?
Would be much easier for me, if I could compare some different engines. Maybe I have to go to BKK!

Should you decide to venture to the wilder side of things, a Weber DCNF 40 L or DCNV 38 carb will add some oomph into things. You'll need to a fabricate an adaptor

mmmh, the adaptor wouldn't be the biggest problem, and a Webber would be very nice, but:
The adaptor is a good idea, in case a 4A doesn't fit 100%! 'cause if I would like to go to the wilder side, I think, a 4A GE (GZE) would do it. :itsme:
But at time, I try to make it run smooth, again, After that, I try to get a nice 'not so soft' suspension. But after that, who knows!
Question: Mikuni carbs for Datsun - Any info, what Datsun/Mikuni model I would have to look for?
Big changes, adaptor needed?

Thanks again, for helping out with your knowledge! I appreciate that!
Will try to find a fitting carb (if not someone has a idea, how to create a 3 A(F)E engine, or something like that), first. After that, the suspension need changes. And after that, I will first drive the car a bit :proud:
Nice to read you!
Coro

yep, I FOUND IT OUT, not the garage! Maybe they saw it, but they had the job, to build it in, not to think about the size! My fault, probably! So I should better change them, again??? At time, looks like, there is enough space. But I will check out the other options, as soon, I'll have a nice cruising corona, again!
Is it a big job, to change to disc brakes? I mean, beside the changes in the brake(fluid) system?

I wouldn't call changing the rear drum brakes to disc a big job; quite easy if you'rre mechanically inclined but you can always leave the job to a mechanic if you're not. Brake fluid wise, no difference except for the hose coz the drum brake are also hydraulically operated.

You are a strong believer: yes it is a 1500
What I 'know' about the ori. 4A, that was a 1600, so ~ 40 or 50 cc more. That carb was my first idea, too. But I do not get many answers to questions, here.
Out of this thinking, my idea with the ignition comes: Would the ignition system of a 4A FE fit on the intake side of the 3A head?
Would be much easier for me, if I could compare some different engines. Maybe I have to go to BKK!

Like I said, chances are the 4A carb should fit because the 3A & the 4A is identical. Most of us here have converted to fuel injection (EFi)m so not many will know about carburators except for old school like me.

Not sure about the distributor (you call it ignition) from the 4AFE will fit coz the 4AFE is fuel injected. There's a model of the distributor that uses contact less (electronic, not using contact point) that fits the 3A & 4A. I've used that on my old 4A engine. You can check with the chop shop, I'm sure they'll know because it can also be used on the AE/EE80 Corolla.

mmmh, the adaptor wouldn't be the biggest problem, and a Webber would be very nice, but:
The adaptor is a good idea, in case a 4A doesn't fit 100%! 'cause if I would like to go to the wilder side, I think, a 4A GE (GZE) would do it.
But at time, I try to make it run smooth, again, After that, I try to get a nice 'not so soft' suspension. But after that, who knows!
Question: Mikuni carbs for Datsun - Any info, what Datsun/Mikuni model I would have to look for?
Big changes, adaptor needed?

I'll say most of the non original carbs will require the use of an adaptor to fit. Sorry, I can't remember the model of the Mikuni carb coz it's been so long ago since I last saw one.

I don't know about your place but the 4A-GZE does have its problems. Most common will be the drive shaft; very difficult to get them here.

Thanks again, for helping out with your knowledge! I appreciate that!
Will try to find a fitting carb (if not someone has a idea, how to create a 3 A(F)E engine, or something like that), first. After that, the suspension need changes. And after that, I will first drive the car a bit
Nice to read you!
Coro

You're most welcome. I'm sorry if we were not much help due to location. If you were in M'sia, I'm sure we can point you to the shops that carry what you need.

I wish you success in rebuilding your Corona.:biggrin:

Thanks, some more very useful information!

I..changing the rear drum brakes to disc ....quite easy if you're mechanically inclined but you can always leave the job to a mechanic

Don't have space and the tools, so probably would be in need, to give it to one.
What I meant with the changing: I thought, that I'll have to change minimum the last part of the line, what can be all up to the manifold. So I understand your post this way, that it will not be a problem, to bend it for the disc's?

Not sure about the distributor (you call it ignition) from the 4AFE will fit coz the 4AFE is fuel injected. There's a model of the distributor that uses contact less (electronic, not using contact point) that fits the 3A & 4A. I've used that on my old 4A engine. You can check with the chop shop, I'm sure they'll know because it can also be used on the AE/EE80 Corolla.

oops, sorry about 'ignition' for injection. Don't know, where that word come from! For sure, I mean injection/injected
And this part 'There's a model of the distributor that fits the 3A & 4A' is very good! Don't know about the availability, but now I have something else, to ask for.
So the ae80, did I get that right, had a injected 'carb', that fits on the 3A distributor? Or does it come with a distributor, that fits the 3A engine intake?
Sorry about these many questions, I try to picture, what I need to check/ask!

I don't know about your place but the 4A-GZE does have its problems.

:nurse: I'm not looking that further. Step by step, maybe I will never try this one!

You're most welcome. I'm sorry if we were not much help due to location. If you were in M'sia, I'm sure we can point you to the shops that carry what you need.

You do help me a lot! This does not need, to be close. I'm sure, in Bangkok are a couple of shops, that can work with this information. And in case, someone ask for EE 80 parts with the intention, to put them on a 3A, they may know, but for sure, they can look! Or I go to Bkk for some days, and check it out, myself!

Thanks a lot, 'll keep you informed about the 'rebuilt'. The body looks good, it's only the engine and the suspension, that need something. One for mobility, one for personal reference!
Btw.: The disk brake change is deep in my mind! Do I have to do it the same time with the suspension, or will the old shock fit? Cause I'm thinking about, getting myself some springs from europe, springs that i know the specs. And that need transportation options.

Thanks and good night
Coro

place: at the mamak near cengal condo cheras (thought it's supposed to be Kinrara? Lol..)
attendees:
1)corona_ice
2)ragerunner
4)S.W.Yap

I am ok with 12th, but it would be better if we could meet up earlier coz I am leaving Malaysia on 13th Feb, have long time didn't have TT , kind of looking forward to it :)

hello guys

I have a question, any of you have the manual toyota corona 1986 model st at 150 or 150 I think it's the same model.

thanks and regards
Ricardo

well ricardo, i did see a few on sale in ebay..check it out...

---------- Post added at 12:07 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:02 AM ----------

attendees:
1)corona_ice
2)ragerunner
4)S.W.Yap

I am ok with 12th, but it would be better if we could meet up earlier coz I am leaving Malaysia on 13th Feb, have long time didn't have TT , kind of looking forward to it :)

wow! am really excited to finally meet up with one of the pioneer 3s owner in kl! :adore: can't wait to meet up, the place that we are meeting up. i had already posted a map, a few pages ago... meeting up earlier meaning around what time?? can be arranged!:biggrin:

I am free any time from now on till 13th except next Monday ~ Wednesday coz going out station, been leaving 3S kaki for quit some time, now want to catch up with you guys again, CNY is boring .....

Questions over questions :burnout:
Today, I wanted to look at that carb.
And b/c of that, I took off the air filter housing. So I saw 2 degassing connection pipes, one from the valve cover to the air filter, and one from the cover to a plate between the distributor and the carb (PVC).
That (PCV) valve is old and not bouncy anymore. So it was 'kaputt', broken.
So I guess, part of my new problem with the carb comes from that connection, sucking air beside and behind the carb.
Also I remember, that this valve was fine, some month ago, that time, that I changed the cover gasket.
I will get me this part 2morrow.

Today (wednesday) I changed the PCV-valve include the rubber seal. Toyota spare parts, around 75 ringit.
Now the idling is more stabil, like it was before. But I still need to adjust it over 1000 rpm, in case I wanna use the aircon.
My goal is still the chance (?), to change from carb to injection with this engine!

Thanks a lot!!

I'm getting into it!

@2old2rusty
Was looking around, today. Was lucky, to find, what I wanted to look at. Reason for being lucky is, that they have chop shops all over Thailand, but they do not store! Instead of storing, they sending to Bkk, 'cause there is the store and market place. ('If I store here, will I ever sell it??')
Ok, I do not think any longer, I can adapt a 4A FE injection. The differences between the inlet from a 3A to a twin cam are major.
So the only thing, that may work, is the distributor for a 3E-E (12 Valve) engine.
Besides, that I do not know, if (parts of) that engine is (are) available, in Thailand:
Is that the distributor, you did mention?
"There's a model of the distributor that uses contact less (electronic, not using contact point) that fits the 3A & 4A. I've used that on my old 4A engine".
if it is, I will ask someone, to call some shops in BKK for me.
Another option, not injected, can be the two-barrel carb from a 3S-FC, maybe?
Is the 3S-FC known? inlet/intake looks similar to 3A/4A ???? (haven't seen a 4A, yet, so do trust you with that :love: ;-)
Thanks for your time!!
Coro

well as u're on the way to finishing ur project u will notice that many toyota parts can be mixed and use! but i really hv to do sum studying on the carbs parts...

date: 12 feb 2011 saturday (today)
place: at the mamak near cengal condo cheras
attendees:
1)corona_ice
2)ragerunner
3)talam_buruk
4)S.W.Yap
5)MetaruBZG
6)Kareza69

Any inquiries please don't hesitate to call bro Shan at 019-3473173 :biggrin: