Intercooler Spraying

jinkl

:P dont laugh at me ah :)
i saw a car on the road .. was just cruising along kesas.. then i noticed.. the "psh"
turned and looked.. this satria had a i/cooler infront :) sprayed black

is it ok to spray one layer on the i/cooler.. does it affect the cooling alot ?
if lil bit ok la .. :) throw in ur opinions
ah below here :D my baby morphing into a monster :)
pic taken on november10th .. had some prob with the turbine :(
making noise.. so dunno whts the update for now :)

Spray a thin layer of black. Black radiates heat much better than silver. That's why OEM radiators, oil coolers, intercoolers, refrigerators, air con condenser, etc all painted black.

For garang looks, of cos silver is the way to go.

black absorbs heat the highest, silver radiates and repels heat most efficient among colors.

Joe, i beg to differ

Black absorbs, but also radiates the best

Silver repels the best, but radiates worst.

:blink: confuse adi.

Have to dig out old Form 5 fizik book first :blink:

hehehhe.. :D
joeker got any plan to put surbo in the intercooler piping ah hehehehhe

yah eh :) how come oil cooler and radiator black :P
volvo intercooler is black rite

jinkl : even a supra i/c is black in colour..im not veri sure wht is the point of being black..but it is not recommended to spray a layer of paint to ur i/c .. from wht i know, it will block ur air from goin thru ur i/c ..
as u know usually i/c can see thru from the front to the back but wif a layer of paint u cant see thru anymore..but for the side part, the one that is attach to the lining..duno wht is it called..the mouth of i/c ..
one side hot and another is cold rite..? i tried spraying dat mouth b4 ..as for the hot part, it will cause bubbles and ugly but for the cold mouth, it will be smooth and look cool..hehe..good luck..the best thing is to sand paper evrythin but not spraying, unless u get a high temp spray.. oni thing u can spray is the mouth but not the middle part which got those linings..

guys

Battousai is correct about the colors

black absorbs heat, but also radiates (let off) heat energy alot faster too (in absence of a heat source, such as direct sunlight.

silver repels heat, but it absorbs and repels heat poorly.

radiator and intercooler application wise, why black is superior?
in my personal opinion:

black absorbs heat right? this is actually really good because that does what we want the radiators to do. Abosrb heat into the fins and let the air cool it.
Then black also radiates heat off easier! so there's the 2 main advantage already :)

but: the paint/finish must be damn thin. If it's thick, then it'll defeat the original purpose/theory because it's now an insulator of heat (BAD)
so the best is really misty, thin sprays of flat black, preferbly acrylic, instead of the usually lacquer base spray.

if you guys can do this: electro epoxy painting.. very thin! and neat!
that's even better :P

wondering after u paint it, the paint absorb the head or the intercooler?
:lol: sorry boss, i blur also.
cos i see supra intercooler was coated with a paint something like ceramic coating.
but the paint we bouth was something like rubber coating.
:lol: :lol: :lol: if the paint dont absorb the heat, how do it radiates heat off cos ur intercooler had covered by it.
i dunno le.. anyone can explain on this?

i got one question. I saw a japan recon Evo5 for sell in show room. WHY the intercooler is black color! hahaha evo got black intercooler?

black or silver doesn't matter!

neither properties of radiation helps. period. unless you plan to rev ur car...in neutral...and then turn it off. the main cooling method here is FORCED CONVECTION. i.e, flow of air over intercooler fins. spraying a thin layer (NO matter how thin) of paint on the intercooler will impede cooling, how much is a whole other topic.

i have sprayed mine black (thin layer, but after a few months on the road, its slowly fading out :( ) no probs at stock boost.

i believe the performance gain would be too little to justify the cost and labour.

you might even screw it up if the paint is too thick.
(do you trust your painter?)

since I'm from the heatsink industry, our researchers have already tested different colours for heat transfer purpose. The result - there is very little or no difference (less than 1%) in cooling capability from one colour to the other. So you can even paint them pink if you want. The main difference is the type of material being used. The tests are done for computer cpu heat dissipation though up to 100+ watts of power, it does not take into account sunlight absorbtion.

What dolly said is correct, a layer of whatever paint will slow down the heat absorbtion and dissipation properties, since it has an 'extra' later of resistance before the heat can be absorbed/dissipated. The best result is to leave it in its natural colour, or, coat it with better heat transfer material than aluminium ie. nickel, copper, silver or gold.

coating too will not help, weakest link will still be the metal under the coat.

jinkl dunspray lar, ur intercooler damn big n ganas must show it off wei!

for heat transfer metals it helps though, for example, you often find higher grade and hotter processors using a copper base with aluminium top. Why? Because copper absorbs heat faster than aluminium, but dissipates slower. So, having the combination, it has maximum absorbtion and dissipation at the same time. Some have full copper solution and to counter the slow heat dissipation they use higher powered airflow fans.

Applying this fact on automobiles intercoolers, although the metal/aluminium underneath is the weak link, having a better heat absorbtion/dissipation material on top would also help the weak link to absorb/dissipate faster. In practical sense, no one would apply those coating coz it is not cost effective. Imagine having a gold plated intercooler, not only it will cost a bomb but it will be stolen a few minutes after you've parked your car.

i prefer to lay low profile and pshh pshh when needed only hahaha..
now got i/cooler means sure.. or most probably u r the next victim of a stolen vehicle hehe

don't worry, if u don't use too many defi meters in your car it's ok one... don't think anyone would steal an intercooler. As long as u got jpj approval then nothing to worry about. Your intercooler also damn big and nice, a bit wasted if it wasn't shown.

Here's a link comparing heat absorbtion/dissipation of different type of metals :-

http://www.schoolscience.co.uk/content/4/chemistry/copper/copch0pg4.html

danny,

maybe you could implement the peltier efect onto intercoolers. then you could start a business!!!

i wonder why they never use this technology on cars???
or do they?