Yokohama ADVAN Fleva V701

Scare you can find where they selling it.

Make it more rare so got market positioning. Create mystery and demand.
Not only their dealers, but what models of tyres mah!
GY, Michelin, Conti and even GT radial have......lol

A friend of mine who used PS3, then RE003 then switched to V701 says RE003 wet no confidence.. V701 better in wet (while still relatively new)..but not to the point of PS3 in the wet.

I won't go as far as saying RE003 wet no confidence.. (things are relative) cause if RE003 sucks in the wet... people using NCT5 and Ecopia Ep200 end up in the ditch already.

Guess I need more feedback from people with experience on the PS3 and now using Fleva.

A friend of mine who used PS3, then RE003 then switched to V701 says RE003 wet no confidence.. V701 better in wet (while still relatively new)..but not to the point of PS3 in the wet.

I won't go as far as saying RE003 wet no confidence.. (things are relative) cause if RE003 sucks in the wet... people using NCT5 and Ecopia Ep200 end up in the ditch already.

Guess I need more feedback from people with experience on the PS3 and now using Fleva.
RE-003 is not mistaken Traction rating A only. PS3 and V701 are AA rated. Straight line grooves RE-003 less and shoulder is smaller. PS3 3 grooves much larger, V701 have 4 grooves

Zeroshift

Oct 19, 2004

I am using RE003 on my car, and yes, during Wet days is not that good compared to PS3. When new it is quite good, but when use more than 50% that time, it is really not inspiring confidence in wet.

But not as bad as those NCT5 or so i guess... As previous i was using CC5 and MC5, it was really bad...

drummydrew

Dec 7, 2015
i am still running on common tires NCT5 :itsme: felt these are already better than the old set of rubbers that i got rid of (some Dunlop if not mistaken), all cos i haven't been exposed to stickier rubbers :s:

been looking and reading into all you sifus opinions on tires, been eyeing on the RE003 as my next replacement but these V701s are looking so promising!

i am still running on common tires NCT5 :itsme: felt these are already better than the old set of rubbers that i got rid of (some Dunlop if not mistaken), all cos i haven't been exposed to stickier rubbers :s:

been looking and reading into all you sifus opinions on tires, been eyeing on the RE003 as my next replacement but these V701s are looking so promising!
NCT5 ok when new. Problem is their thread pattern sipes are too shallow and disappear after just 30 percent wear or so and the wet grip suffers

I am using RE003 on my car, and yes, during Wet days is not that good compared to PS3. When new it is quite good, but when use more than 50% that time, it is really not inspiring confidence in wet.

But not as bad as those NCT5 or so i guess... As previous i was using CC5 and MC5, it was really bad...
Not a fair comparison, NCT5 is HP, MC5 is mid comfort tyres, CC5 is entry level. RE003 and PS3 are UHP tyres

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
RE-003 is not mistaken Traction rating A only. PS3 and V701 are AA rated. Straight line grooves RE-003 less and shoulder is smaller. PS3 3 grooves much larger, V701 have 4 grooves
Yup RE003 (wet) traction rating is only A. RE003 is more geared towards dry as PS3 is more towards wet, aquaplaning specifically. In fact BS hardly has any tire with AA traction rating, maybe only the S-04!? :hmmmm:

Hopefully this new v701 is more balanced between dry & wet, like my CSC5. PS4 should also be like CSC5 and even better, just not available in smaller sizes (luckily still got my 17's).

Yup RE003 (wet) traction rating is only A. RE003 is more geared towards dry as PS3 is more towards wet, aquaplaning specifically. In fact BS hardly has any tire with AA traction rating, maybe only the S-04!? :hmmmm:

Hopefully this new v701 is more balanced between dry & wet, like my CSC5. PS4 should also be like CSC5 and even better, just not available in smaller sizes (luckily still got my 17's).
Yah! Their max performance tyres are rated A only

kUmUcHaI 11/1

Feb 28, 2010
JB - KL
Re003 wet not good. Should have more than 50% thread still.
That day I skidded nicely while cornering out raining day.

I think tyres generally degrade way before 50% as the tyre start to emit more noise and signs of firm ride
Well, cannot compare to when new. Thread pattern less, rubber compound harden, pattern uneven wear......:driver:

They might stop to catch their breath but the Nurburgring wars never really go away and Chevrolet have laid down the gauntlet once again by unleashing their 2012 Corvette ZR1, that sports some upgrades, on the ‘Ring to shave some precious seconds off its already incredible lap time.

The car used was equipped with a set of optional Michelin Pilot Sport Cup Zero Pressure tyres, that together with the...