Federal 595 RS-R vs Yokohama AD08

Ceffy_999

Aug 3, 2008

Just wondering between Federal 595 RS-R & Yokohama AD08 which one is better? Compare to track usage & what is the thread-wear for both tires & current market price?

Does this both tires have this size of 205/50/15?

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
Rsr treadwear is 140, Ad08 is 180.
Both tires do come in 205/50/15.

Ceffy_999

Aug 3, 2008
Rsr treadwear is 140, Ad08 is 180.
Both tires do come in 205/50/15.
WOW. Means RS-R is better coz the thread wear is lower than AD08.

Any idea how much would be for now the size 205/50/15 for RS-R?

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
Yeah rsr more suitable for track.
2 years ago i bought rsr 195/50/15 was rm370.
Dunno the pricing now
For Ad08R 195/50/15 is rm370 now.

---------- Post added at 01:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:00 PM ----------

Bro, why don't you use r888 for track?
I've got a set of r888 195/55/15 to let go, tread still got abt 50%.
Are you interested?

mADmAN

i bought 205/50/15 rsr earlier this year around rm365/pc

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
im using now, sidewall n tyre surface crack not even 1 yr, fren ask me to claim, tyre shop said no problem 1, 1 fren' fren, use 18 inch, go tribunal claim, win n gets compensate rm2500. i just dun bother, it just next round no federal. this mine experience

Ceffy_999

Aug 3, 2008
im using now, sidewall n tyre surface crack not even 1 yr, fren ask me to claim, tyre shop said no problem 1, 1 fren' fren, use 18 inch, go tribunal claim, win n gets compensate rm2500. i just dun bother, it just next round no federal. this mine experience
I heard a lot on this problem but I have used 3 sets of Federal 595 RS-R & touch-wood, there is none of this happen to me yet.

---------- Post added at 03:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:55 PM ----------

i bought 205/50/15 rsr earlier this year around rm365/pc
Hi mADmAN. Where did you buy? Which shop & location?

mADmAN

I heard a lot on this problem but I have used 3 sets of Federal 595 RS-R & touch-wood, there is none of this happen to me yet.

---------- Post added at 03:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:55 PM ----------

Hi mADmAN. Where did you buy? Which shop & location?
a tire shop in sri muda shah alam.... wouldnt recommend going there though..they quoted me rm360 1 day... n the next day i went there n ask again the same guy (who remembered me by the way) quoted me rm480. i told him that he quoted me 360 the day before and he ding dong ding dong... bring down to 430... i say no.. dong dong again 380... i still say no... told him he quote me 360...i wan that price.. last he bring down 365....i said ok

perhaps check out acanta autotech in sg besi

Ceffy_999

Aug 3, 2008
a tire shop in sri muda shah alam.... wouldnt recommend going there though..they quoted me rm360 1 day... n the next day i went there n ask again the same guy (who remembered me by the way) quoted me rm480. i told him that he quoted me 360 the day before and he ding dong ding dong... bring down to 430... i say no.. dong dong again 380... i still say no... told him he quote me 360...i wan that price.. last he bring down 365....i said ok

perhaps check out acanta autotech in sg besi
I check with 1 of the shop in Sunway. They quote me RM380 for year 2013 tires. But they have old stock which is manufactured 2011. Selling at RM300. Year 2011 can use?

EVOFans

Aug 29, 2006
I check with 1 of the shop in Sunway. They quote me RM380 for year 2013 tires. But they have old stock which is manufactured 2011. Selling at RM300. Year 2011 can use?
Can
A tyre shelf life is 5 years so 2011 tyre is good until 2016
If you think you can wear out the tyre before that than by all mean go ahead

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
i thg for sure, ad08r rubber (not side wall) feel softer compare rsr, although its treadwear 180.
n 1 guy check my rsr tyre told me my tyre oledi harden, he said rsr r going to harden after 1 yr, so, if u want this type of tyre, must use within 1 yr, he is using rsr too, but he is gymkhana sifu. he even show his rsr yr 2013 to me, really, my 1 harden oledi, n mine 1 is 2 units yr 2011, 2 units yr 2012.

i thg for sure, ad08r rubber (not side wall) feel softer compare rsr, although its treadwear 180.
n 1 guy check my rsr tyre told me my tyre oledi harden, he said rsr r going to harden after 1 yr, so, if u want this type of tyre, must use within 1 yr, he is using rsr too, but he is gymkhana sifu. he even show his rsr yr 2013 to me, really, my 1 harden oledi, n mine 1 is 2 units yr 2011, 2 units yr 2012.
Due to soft rubber compound, probably they harden faster in Malaysian weather....:banghead:

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
past few month, 1 of our touge member, get it fr his fren rm345 for rsr 205/50/15, anyway, i will not buy federal anymore, somemore my car underpower, unless, i want to use on track.

Oh! I thought you track kaki also, using RS-R. For me I don't use extreme but Max or UHP performance tyre meant more for street use....:driver:

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
Oh! I thought you track kaki also, using RS-R. For me I don't use extreme but Max or UHP performance tyre meant more for street use....:driver:
not enough " BULLET ":biggrin:so, not gooing for track lol, i use to think want to play2 on sic, but, now so xpensive liao :banghead:so, joint those touge kaki lol, hav fun.

The SLC has been caught testing before, specifically hot weather testing in the Californian Death Valley and what you see here are images of the SLC Mule during winter testing.

If you’re thinking that it looks like a Dodge Viper, well, don’t be fooled, it is only a camouflage, the top of the line Mercedes AMG will...