Widest tyre to fit a rim size

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
I think you saw another guy...nowadays damn alot of crz's...almost like protons edi... I'm hardly in K.L area wan

Jose

Aug 3, 2006
Subang Jaya
one question, my stock rim is 6jj can i fit it with 205 series tires ? stock tires was 195/50/16 but as you guys know there's only little choices for 195/50/16 tires. if can then it will be great. i can fit the stock rim with normal tires for daily driven and the sport rim with UHP tires keep for track day only. :D daily drive with Toyo R1R wallet tak boleh tahan wor

It depends on what aspect ratio tyres you will be using.
If 205/45R16 then better 6.5J minimum
If 205/50R16 then 6J can be used

davidcnz

Sep 13, 2005
hie guys..a question here ... 225/40/18 ..can it be fitted into a 18x9.5 ET38 ? will it be too stretch for this setup ? how about the safety ?

or will it be better to put 235/40/18 instead of 225/40/18 ? advice needed :D thank you in advance:D

any recommended tyre that is good for stretch ?: D

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Anyone knows the smallest tyre size that can fit on a 9JJ 15in rim?

Planning to buy the bananas rims for my beetle...

Will cost me around RM1,600 for 4 rims as is where is, cash & carry...

It supposed to be brand new & imported.

ColdPlay

Jun 16, 2010
hie guys..a question here ... 225/40/18 ..can it be fitted into a 18x9.5 ET38 ? will it be too stretch for this setup ? how about the safety ?

or will it be better to put 235/40/18 instead of 225/40/18 ? advice needed :D thank you in advance:D

225/40/18 on 9.5JJ will be stretch with difference about 0.3JJ...lol. So, its may acceptable but any stretch setup is not recommended for touge though.
235/40/18 looks very standard on 9.5JJ. I used to ride on that setup before.

195/55/15 if you craved for that stretch look. With very negative camber setting too...lol

Actually max for 225/40R18 is 9J but stretched probably 9.5J still can, but better is 235/40R18 which is max 9.5J, but then diameter is bigger for 235/40R18. What is your original tyre size?

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
225/40/18 on 9.5JJ will be stretch with difference about 0.3JJ...lol. So, its may acceptable but any stretch setup is not recommended for touge though.
235/40/18 looks very standard on 9.5JJ. I used to ride on that setup before.

195/55/15 if you craved for that stretch look. With very negative camber setting too...lol
Is 195/65/15 OK?

I prefer the bulging fat tyre look....?:confused::love:

Or even 185/65/15 ? Please advise....Tq

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

Actually max for 225/40R18 is 9J but stretched probably 9.5J still can, but better is 235/40R18 which is max 9.5J, but then diameter is bigger for 235/40R18. What is your original tyre size?
9.5' wide should use 255-265 tire la, that's the proper way. Don't play stretch la, pity the tires and the rims, and your comfort also will reduce. Nothing good come out of stretching, even the look is silly IMHO but that's just my personal taste.

---------- Post added at 06:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:55 PM ----------

Is 195/65/15 OK?

I prefer the bulging fat tyre look....?:confused::love:

Or even 185/65/15 ? Please advise....Tq
9' wide rims want to use 185 tires??? My advice, read my post above!

9.5' wide should use 255-265 tire la, that's the proper way. Don't play stretch la, pity the tires and the rims, and your comfort also will reduce. Nothing good come out of stretching, even the look is silly IMHO but that's just my personal taste.
ha! ha! some people like to strechhhhhhhed it......:driver:
Yup, proper is 255, but tyres too big....:rofl:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
ha! ha! some people like to strechhhhhhhed it......:driver:
Yup, proper is 255, but tyres too big....:rofl:
Then the rims should be much smaller la. It's like a small kid wants to use NBA player shoes, doesn't make sense, does it? This stretch style is actually a very old style anyway, Indonesian youngsters already did this way back in the early 80's. :D

ha! ha! well, same as fashion, after one round will come back one.....:biggrin:

Hie...

im new in engine mod. if any forumer have advice for me regarding 4G91 engine.

I've realy have tight budget and need to replace my current engine. Stock engine has blow last saturday night and i want to do transplan in this week.

by the way... im driving Mitsubishi Lancer A172 (Lampu Kotak one), Rear Drive and and my stock engine is 4G12 (1.4cc SOHC)

i ask mechenic and mechenic told me that i can use any 4G engine < 1.6 that should ngam with my gearbox.

i notice that 4G91 has 2...